We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir
Nearby Hotels
US$253
US$230
Sofitel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ibis Budget Agadir(Agadir)(Great Value!)
US$29
US$27
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$82
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Kenzi Europa(Agadir)
US$365
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$119
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$96
US$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Royal Mirage Agadir Hotel(Agadir)(Great Value!)
US$77
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$228
US$221
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$263
US$255
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$92
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (4,255)
Filter reviews
4,255 results
Traveller rating
2,819
998
322
72
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,819
998
322
72
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskrystal restaurantpool areajack danielsbranded drinksassistant managermain restauranta la carte restaurantsswim up barmini barbar stafffantastic hotellunch restaurantanimation teamevening entertainmentgreat holidayplenty of sunbedslarge balcony
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,417 - 2,422 of 4,255 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2013

My wife and I have just spent 10 nights in this hotel and really enjoyed it. The hotel is very impressive when you walk in. Sophisticated "moody" lighting, mixed with marble floors, amazing lighting and tastefully chosen decor all adds up to a very welcoming and relaxing envioroment.
On arrival we were greeted with a welcome glass of Cava and check in was completed within 5 minutes maximum. i had previously e-mailed the hotel asking for a top floor room with the 2 twin beds pushed together as we had booked a twin pool view room with Thomson. Both my requests were met, even to the point of the Ilham from reception immediatly recognising my name and pointing out he had personally made sure i got what i wanted. Room 4016 has an excellent pool and sea view, and the lift from this room brings you out directly next to the pool bar area and swim up bar :-).
Unlike other reviews i had read before our holiday we found the reception staff to be extremely helpfull and efficiant whenever we needed them. Both the men and Women on reception helped us decide which Markets to go to, what opening times were and also when we left our room cards in the room they laughed with us and gave us a replacement one in seconds.
i must also mention the assistant manager Raphael. We also found him extremely helpfull and genuinely intrested in what you had to say. He advised us exactly where we could buy 100% real Argen oil for my wife and also supplied us with a map and draw out 2 different routes we could take by foot.
Whilst i am "kinda" on the subject of walking, i must say if you think Agadir will be like Sharm, Hurghada, Marsa, Tunisia or Marrakesh......... then forget it. Agadir folk are the coolest, most chilled people we have met in any of our other "African/Arabic" ventures. YOU WILL NOT BE HASSLED !!!!!!! We went to both markets/souks in Agadir and were not hassled in the slightest. One souk is the traditional barter for every purchase as nothing has prices on, but bartering can actually be enjoyable if you create a rapport and enjoy yourself. Even in this traditional market we were able to look at all stalls without being hassled to buy anything unless we asked. The secong souk is a set price called the berber souk, here is where you will buy originals of everything so be prepared to pay proper prices (although still much cheaper than the UK).
What we also really liked was the fact the hotel is situated directly adjacent to the promonade which seperates the hotels from the beach (approx 10m wide). everyday and night we could walk along either the prom or the beach in total safety and mix with the locals which was excellent as you reaaly then felt you could absorb the culture and variaty Morocco has. As the prom and beach our lit up at night you would not believe how many people would still be milling around at midnight and beyond (families as well) with lots of bars and eateries along the way. This included many local cafes and bars (nice fish bar at the marina) also Maccies, Pizza hut and KFC if you cant last 2 weeks without them haha.

ok back to the hotel.

Room - Very large for a standard room, with seperate seating area, huge bed, seperate his and hers sinks and the best hotel shower we have experianced. The mini-bar is topped up every day with 2 beers (cans of Flag beer which is also the only beer at all bars on site) 2 Cokes, 2 Sprites and 2 Fantas (all original) however i did find that if you were in the room around 5.30-6.30 thats when they seemed to re-stock the mini bar and if you were there they would give you what you wanted. I also had the offer of a bottle of JD or Smirnoff. The room aircon only works if the balcony is shut, and even when it is shut it aint the greatest, however...... we found if you ran the aircon and the ceiling fan at the same time then the room would cool down PDQ. The room cleaner did an excellent job with all the usual art but she also left some roses which my wife found very nice :-)

Food and Drink - We both enjoyed the food in the main restaurant for breakfast and evening meal and also the beach side dinner resaurant (which doubles up as the Italian). We both also really enjoyed the meals in the Moroccan and "fusion" ? resteraunts albeit the menu selction was not huge, but still very very nice. The only one we couldn't really get our head around was the Italian that opened during our stay. This was basically the same resteraunt used for Lunch for 4-500 people. In the evening though under its new name, they only set maybe 20 tables, the food is self service and not that much different from what is available at lunch time, also due to the huge setting there is no ambiance at all so might they might have to re-think this one. Also 1 more little gripe was that lunch times did mean lots of queuing as there are only 2 hot food stations which sometimes means a wait of 10-15mins at one station whilst the food on your plate gets gradually cooler. i would advise sending one person from your party ahead to reccy the place before commiting to lunch as we found that sometimes it could be fine.
The drinks cannot be faulted in any way !!!! Jack Daniels, Smirnoff, Martell, Bacardi, Johnny Walker, Gordons, Amerreto....... honestly, you name they had it. Also dont think that you can only order the cocktails on the menu.......... ohhhh no, they will make you anything you want. My personal favourite being the Tequila Sunrises made for me by the Bar Manger.... Top man.
Tipping is part of the custom in these countries but i can honestly say that at no point of this holiday did i feel pressured to do so. In fact some bar staff and pool boys would actually refuse tips and say they are just doing their job !!!!!!

Entertainment - ! guy singing with either a band or piano. Pretty much same repetiore of songs each night, pleasent enough and not a bad singer but does get a bit boring. As neither me and my wife are really into hotel entertainment anyway it did not really effect us but if you go there expecting to be blown away with shows and theatre every night...... forget it.

weather - personally we loved it. Warm and misty in the morning, perfect for a run or walk along the promonade. Hotting up ny 10am most days to high 30's/low 40's and cooling down a bit in the evening to make it very comfortable. Some days the cloud didn't clear completely but it was still very warm and still ideal for a swim and a few drinks in the swim up bar.

overall i can say that this holiday is PERFECT if you want a relaxing, chilled and very comfortable holiday. The hotel is beautiful and very well equiped, the staff our very freindly and the food and drinks are great with a huge bedroom as well. I must also add the spa is great, £30 for a body scrub and hour long relaxation massage you can't go wrong. Padded sunbeds (we put our towels out at 8am each morning and got exactly where we wanted every day), no hassle with your every request adhered to.

i hope you have found this review helpful in either confirming you have made the right choice or in helping you choose this hotel.

Room Tip: top floor facing the pool/sea. room 4016 is highly recommended :)
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
22  Thank LiverpoolShabba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Could you realistically expect much more from a hotel? Probably not.

I'm writing this while enjoying our final day of sunshine on a four poster sun lounger by the pool. My girlfriend and I have been at the Riu Palace for 11 nights and experienced what I would regard as genuine 5 star quality; standard rooms are tastefully furnished and spacious, while staff are efficient and friendly. What I have also appreciated is the sincerity of the staff - smiles are genuine and not painted on as in some hotels. In fact, everyone, from the waiters to pool attendants, are willing to go the extra mile without the uncomfortable expectation of a tip for their troubles. When we have tipped, staff always accepted gratefully.

However, the jewel in the Riu Palace crown for me is the food. Food in the standard all-inclusive restaurant is varied and frequently replenished. What sets this apart from other hotels though, in my opinion, is the additional restaurant, Krystal. Here dishes are served to order in a luxurious, contemporary setting and the quality of food is extremely high - the sea bass was the finest I've tasted and the triple chocolate pudding had me smiling reminiscently all evening. Best of all, the four courses were part of the all inclusive package.

As for entertainment, Hamada - the excellent in house fitness instructor - provides a variety of Les Mills inspired fitness classes including daily aqua gym, which often inspires up to 50 people to get involved in the pool. In the evenings, the entertainment has been ok - a bit repetitive at times - but the large communal area around the reception bar has offered a great place to socialise with other guests.

Of course, the are always a couple of minor gripes. Although I'm happy with a policy that prevents people from dining in their swimming gear, being forced to wear long trousers in the sweaty evening temperatures (46 deg at 8.30pm on one occasion) seems a little unnecessary.

One final tip. Unless your an avid fan of irritating Moroccan spice merchants cracking the same old jokes about viagra and constipation remedies, avoid the Thompson excursions offered by the hotel. Our day trip to Marrakech was centred around sales pitches and unnecessarily prolonged restaurant visits.

Still, overall, as we've found, the stats on Trip Advisor don't lie - a top hotel. (As our rep would say, 'myself thoroughly enjoyed it.' If you've read some older reviews, you'll understand what I mean.)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Jamie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

After spending almost three thousand pounds between two of us to stay at this hotel, I expected a lot better. After arriving on our first day we were given no information and a 5 hour wait until our room was ready, this was frustrating. The room itself was very nice, we couldn't fault that. The mini fridge was restocked every 2 days.

The second day we were given a welcome presentation which was ok however, this was the only time we actually saw our rep. After this she was no where to be seen. Towards the end of the holiday we found another rep who we asked in the morning if we could book the desert buggies for the following day before we go home, he said yes sure come and see me at 12. We went at 12 to find he had just sold his last two spaces which was really nice of him. I didn't particularly expect the other two people to offer us there spaces seen as they were here for the next 2 weeks, but it would have been nice to have offered it.

The food was pretty average and very repetitive, I expected a lot better, the desserts were the worst.
Out of the 14 days we stayed here we had 6 cloudy and cold days which caused a lot of frustration as there really isn't an awful lot to do outside the hotel. The night entertainment (if you can call it that) is very dull. The majority of people sat playing on iPads or playing cards and board games.

I would never return to Agadir, there really isn't a great deal to do, it was a very disappointing holiday.
The best things we did was the trip to Marrakech and the trip to the adventure park. The adventure park was a number of assault courses based in trees and zip lines etc, it was really good. The Marrakech trip was well arranged and really informative and fun however, we were not warned about the 3/4 hours bus ride to and from Marrakech.

The staff including the animation team were really nice and accommodating although the pool staff were rather irritating. People tipped the staff so that in a morning they would reserve the beds on behalf of these people so they didn't have to get up, there were so many arguments regarding the beds which was annoying. In addition to this when going for lunch we often came back to find that someone had taken our umbrella.

Over all no I wouldn't return to this hotel, I don't believe it is 5* and as a holiday destination there isn't enough exciting things to do, and the weather certainty cannot be relied on.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank thomson1549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We went beginning of August on a family holiday. The food was amazing and the suites were huge! The weather was hot, 47 one day, the whole family loved it! Would definitely go again as it was a brilliant holiday due to the food, weather, rooms and lovely staff

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank KLouiseF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We have just spent the second week of our multi centre holiday (See separate review for Riu Tikida Palmeraie) at the above hotel and can honestly say I will never return.

The hotel and the facilities provided cannot be faulted, however the hotel is run by management like a comedy show! They show no respect and have absolutely no people skills to any of the British guests. In addition the female reception staff are quite possibly the rudest people I have ever come across. In contrast though all the bar staff and waiters are great and cannot possibly do more for you.

When we arrived at the hotel after a 3.5 hour bus journey from Marrakech, check in was chaotic, some of the rooms were not ready and we had no welcome drink.

Our first experience in the lunch restaurant was one I will never forget and was what can only be likened to a school canteen. No other nation understands the concept of queuing, too many tables in a small space, not enough staff, too many children running wild and food all over the floor. Not really what you expect from a supposed 5 star hotel.

Breakfast is also particularly chaotic with small, misbehaved children running wild, pushing you out of the way, dropping plates of food as well as the lack of queuing from all but British guests.

The rooms are adequately sized and equipped and the pool area is a decent size but as always there is the usual drama of trying to obtain sunbeds! Having to get up at silly o clock to get a bed, unless you tipped the pool attendants who would then put your towels out for you.

Food was amazing at all the restaurants but I have to say that the a la carte restaurants, namely the Moroccan and Krystal are outstanding and it was actually really nice to have your dinner served to you. The buffet restaurant has two themed nights a week, Spanish and Asian/Japanese. The Japanese night was by far the best of the themed nights. Other nights the food was always of the highest quality and with plenty to choose from. The Italian restaurant again was a little disappointing as the food it served was not particularly Italian and it was self service. It seems that Morocco is not very good at Italian cuisine!

There are a large proportion of other nationalities at the hotel, namely French, Moroccans and Spanish. All of which can only be described as rude!

We arrived at this hotel just as Eid was finishing and I can honestly say I have never felt more uncomfortable as you get disapproving looks for our Western dressing from local guests staying at the hotel. If you are uncomfortable with this then I would recommend not visiting the hotel/going outside the hotel during this period. I always respect the culture/religion in the country I am visiting and feel that this should be reciprocated. There is just a total lack of respect for British people, especially women at the hotel from in particular the local hotel guests.

Double standards were exhibited at the hotel constantly. We were told that because it is a 5 star hotel we were not allowed bottled water from the bar unless we had it served in a glass, then we find out that the moroccan guests saying at the hotel were obtaining the actual bottles of water! We were also told that sunbeds could not be reserved and if you had put your towel out and not returned within 2 hours, your towels would be removed, which I totally agree with. However, there appears to be different rules if you're French, as we had our towels and sunbed taken after 1 hour! Not really acceptable behaviour.

I have visited many countries and been on many holidays and I have never wanted to leave a hotel as much as I've wanted to leave his one. This is our first time at using the Riu hotel chain. I would use the Riu clubhotels again but I would reconsider if I would use a Riu 5 star hotel again.

Beware if you are allocated room 4049 as the lock was faulty and we had a daily visit to reception to have our cards reset,the lock re-programmed on more than one occasion, the battery changed and a supposed visit from a technician. Each time we were faced with the same frosty reception staff who blamed us for having our cards next to an iPhone/iPad as these supposedly wipe the magnetism. However this was not the case. We were finally moved to another room the day before our departure. I guess at least they did eventually try to rectify the situation, although in my opinion maybe a little too late. We felt that we had been patient through the whole situation and it was only when we got to day 6 that we felt that enough was enough and asked to speak to the hotel manager to find that he was no where to be found even though he stated in our welcome meeting that he was always available.

To conclude this very positive review, the Thomson rep was extremely unhelpful and dismissive and compared to the rep we had in Marrakech was hardly ever available. There was another rep however he did not communicate well in English.

Overall, do not let this review of this particular hotel put you off visiting Morocco as we had a fabulous time in Marrakech.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meekster78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews