We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely place for a winter holiday” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir
Ranked #3 of 78 Hotels in Agadir
Certificate of Excellence
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“A lovely place for a winter holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

We stayed at the Riu Tikida Palace for three weeks in February 2014. On our last visit to Agadir in 2008 we had watched the site of the Riu Palace start to be developed and we arrived with high hopes.

The entrance and reception are impressive and the hotel created a good impression from the moment we walked through the doors. Reception staff were pleasant and helpful. We had upgraded to a pool view room and had been allocated a room facing north. We knew from other reviews that the hotel is horseshoe shaped with the two legs housing the rooms which are at right angles to the beach. Also from previous visits to Agadir that it was best to face south to get all-day sun into the room. We asked to move to a high floor, south facing pool room and changing sides wasn't a problem although we had to wait one night till a suitable room became available. It was lunchtime when we arrived and our room wasn't ready till 2pm so we wandered to the dining room for lunch before we unpacked.

Our room was superb and spacious in four areas; a bedroom area, two steps down to a sitting area with couch, two chairs and a table, through full-width glass doors onto a private balcony, and off the bed area the ensuite comprising wardrobes, doors to a 'his and hers' sink unit, bath with shower and a separate toilet and bidet. Facilities included a good-sized safe, a fridge stocked with soft drinks and water, a kettle and supply of tea/coffee/milk and sugar. The milk was long-life but it was perfectly acceptable to take a jug of fresh milk from breakfast and put it in the room fridge.

We were impressed by the high standard of cleanliness. The rooms were spotless and around the hotel both inside and outside people were constantly cleaning and tidying.

For a buffet format the food was excellent, always well presented with plenty of choice. We asked for a tour of the kitchen and the Head Chef gave us a private visit. The facilities were state of the art, spotless and well organised. We were told that all the food (meat, veg, fish etc) was sourced from Morocco and all pastries, breads, cakes etc were made on the premises.

We only had one disappointment with the hotel and that concerned the seating in the dining rooms (one for breakfast and dinner near reception, another for lunch near the promenade). There were areas for outside eating which we chose for breakfast and lunch and these were fine, but for dinner we ate inside. Other than a few tables around the edge of the dining room the rest of the tables were in rows, usually grouped in threes for six people. The result is that often people found themselves shoulder to shoulder with strangers and unable to conduct a private conversation. We knew it was buffet-service but for a five-star hotel we did not expected the table lay-out to be more like a cafeteria.

There were two speciality restaurants with waiter service, one traditional Moroccan food, the other fusion food. The menus were quite restricted and didn't change. We enjoyed the Moroccan restaurant, but not the fusion one which didn't suit us and was very rushed (servings at 7pm and 9pm)

One of the outstanding memories was the attitude and friendliness of staff who were all happy, friendly and helpful.

There were lots of sunbeds and sitting areas to enjoy the sun. Disappointingly many people still choose to put towels on beds long before breakfast. From the grounds there is direct access onto a recently completed promenade allowing a lovely walk around the bay. There were some sellers of trinkets and clothing but a smile and firm 'no thanks' kept them away.

Moroccan people are very good with languages. After Arabic and Berber the next most popular language spoken by staff was French, then English, German and Spanish. This mix reflected the hotel visitors, the majority being French. Contrary to some reviews critical of the lack of English we thought it a positive being able to practice our French.

The weather was fabulous during our stay. In three weeks the only rain we saw was a little drizzle late one evening. The temperature was in the 20's and we had sun every day.

We had a lovely holiday and if you can live with the seating arrangements for meal-times then we would certainly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: South facing rooms for the sun, north for the shade
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RomanbyRamblers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,322
    822
    265
    48
    27
See reviews for
822
1,928
37
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (907)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton
Level Contributor
81 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

We have just returned from our week at Rui Palace Tikida.

Absloutely wonderful break!

The reviews are spot on, rooms very clean and spacious, food and drinks are plentiful with excellent choice.

The service is outstanding. Comments on tipping are correct, you genuinely feel the staff care, that they love there job and they take pride in looking after you.

How ever we did tip, you cannot fault the service and attention to detail. I only wish the hotel had a big tip box at reception that perhaps got shared out to all of the staff.

You will feel torn on how many staff go that extra mile.
A pleasure to experience and we shall go again.

The pool area is spacious and relaxing.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 4043 fourth floor with sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lippylol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
514 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

I'm no stranger to visiting hotels and simply this is one of the best ones I've had the pleasure in staying in. Check in went swiftly and given a nice cocktail on arrival. It became very clear that all the staff are so friendly and helpful. Our room 4118 had a view overlooking the pool area. This room was very roomy with a couch, seats and a very big en suite. The room was kept immaculately clean throughout our stay. Top brand names are included on the drinks menu and table service is provided if required. Snacks such as olives and bowls of almond nuts provided. At breakfast, all the waiting staff couldn't be more helpful by providing fresh orange juice, smoothies to your table. At meal times all your drinks are replenished. Bottles of wine are supplied at meal times. The pool areas have plenty of loungers to go around and the hotel oozes class. We didn't participate in the evening entertainment so cannot comment. The hotel is situated on the beautiful beach front half way along and is in a great position for you to visit the Marina which about 30 mins walk away and well worth a visit, quite upmarket. The food quality is excellent and has also two themed restaurants, which you can book in advance. Would love to revisit this hotel as it's been a real gem to find.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Bordersgeezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

We have visited Agadir many times but this was our first visit at the RIU Tikida Palace. We are a family of four with two boys aged 12 and 14 and travel worldwide and have good experience of hotel product. We found this hotel of high quality and the service was excellent, the staff are exceptionally friendly and we got to know a few during our stay. Special mention to Mohammed Adgaz (means butter in English) who was our waiter in the restaurant, he is a credit to the hotel and clearly reflects the culture the management has embedded across their people.
Rooms are very good standard, kept very clean by the maids, lounge and pool areas are expansive and pool boys always on hand to help.
The restaurant is large and naturally will be noisy when full, guess this is a little downside as it can get lively but the choice and quality of food was very good, my boys enjoyed the various foods available including the tagine.
Having been to Agadir around 8 times I would recommend this hotel for couples, families looking for a quality, contemporary hotel which beachfront and central to Agadir, it's a perfect stay and whilst 7 nights is nice, our 10 night stay was just the right duration.
Niggles, the mini bar door doesn't open as the lip of the wardrobe sliding door stops it (room 2008 and 2006) management should just address it, such a small item but expect it to be sorted if a hotel wants to have five star status...if that's my only niggle whilst on holiday then I should get a life shouldn't I?!
Thanks everyone at RIU Tikida Beach, keep delivering a great product.

Agadir - not everyone's cup of tea, it's very safe, we walked around with. I worries at all, enjoy some haggling and bag yourself a bargain, the traders are friendly. The weather has a better winter temperature than the Canaries, it's just 3.5 hours from UK, 30 minute transfer from Airport to hotel and we enjoyed 15th Feb 10 days of warm sunny weather in early 20's, their is a red brick promenade that you can walk along to from one end of resort to the other and plenty of restaurants, a marina, good old Mcdonalds, Pizza Hut if you can't do without it and an English Pub for all the football you want, again if you can't live without it.
Highly recommend Agadir, it's growing fast and try it, your be surprised at how good it is!

Room Tip: Rooms on the right side facing the sea allow for sun all day High floor to avoid noise of moving fu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tracey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

We originally stayed at this hotel November 2012 and loved it. We weren't disappointed when we returned for 10 nights at the end of January. The hotel is spotless, the food is excellent and plentiful and the staff are a delight, they can't do enough for you! The only negative comment I could make was the speciality restaurants didn't seem to be of the same standard as they were on our first visit, but the main restaurant is so varied it didn't matter to eat there every night. I would highly recommend this hotel to anybody who wants to just relax in the winter sun with relatively short flight time enjoying great food and drink!

Room Tip: Request a top floor room near to the front for sea view with no extra cost!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jacblenners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

Had a fantastic time at the Tikida Palace and would definitely recommend it, excellent service, food and drink :) The hotel managers were always visible and were there to talk to if you needed anything.
My only critique of our holiday was one of the trips which was the day trip to Marrakech, an18 hour round trip. There was a LOT of walking following a guide, probably around 6 hours worth and only an hour to our selves to visit the market by which time we were all rather exhausted. The food on the trip was good, however a lack of loo's made it every uncomfortable if you have a weak bladder. We did advise our Thomson rep, Nita, who was great, about our disappointment of the trip.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debs C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

Just returned from a week's holiday at the Riu Palace. This is a fabulous hotel, perfectly located, 15 mins walk along the promenade from the lovely marina. Rooms large and spacious and spotlessly clean. The restaurant food was beautiful, amazing choices, fresh and plentiful. The restaurant staff were very attentive and found you a table the moment you walked in, and got your drinks immediately. My only moan was about the wine in the restaurant - it was a bit cheap and cheerful! However there certainly was no shortage of it. Bar service was excellent too, the beer was good and the other drinks all good quality and nicely served. We had good entertainment some nights, suitable for an older audience who liked to dance. However, some other nights were not so good. The hotel's animation team also provided some good entertainment, but similar stuff every night.

The pool area was amazing, beautiful heated pool, jacuzzi, towels provided etc. Also nice poolside bar with good service.

All-in-all even though the wine and entertainment could be improved on, we had a fabulous week and I would definitely return.

Room Tip: Worth paying extra for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarieroseLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agadir hotels
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort
1.0 mi away
Robinson Club Agadir
Robinson Club Agadir
#2 of 78 in Agadir
4.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Tikida Golf Palace
Tikida Golf Palace
#1 of 78 in Agadir
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Timoulay & Spa Agadir
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Palace Agadir
Atlantic Palace Agadir
#27 of 78 in Agadir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir
Address: Chemin des Dunes, Agadir, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Agadir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 78 Hotels in Agadir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir 5*
Number of rooms: 444
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Hotelopia so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing