We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We loved it, would recommend it and would stay again!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir
Ranked #3 of 77 Hotels in Agadir
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“We loved it, would recommend it and would stay again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

In short:

Definitely recommended, great weather, excellent service and a good selection of food.

If you want the details......

We Have just returned from a week at the Rui palace., there are some Good deals to be had on the Internet after a few minutes of searching. 
We had  Hassle free flights and a short 25 minute transfer to the hotel. Set back from the beach and promenade the hotel has a grand entrance hall with reception set in one side and various other rooms leading from it. The bar being  set in the far corner of the room. Some reviews said it was featureless and too large, however we thought it was well laid out considering how many guests may frequent it during peak season, it was fit for purpose. Comfy sofas at the bar and quick service from the waiters, offering a good choice of local beers and wines plus premium uk spirits. The cocktails are made from the standard syrup with spirits added so pretty average but nice none the less.

The staff could not have been more pleasant from start to finish. I had read a few reviews saying that the top floor (4th) was good to aim for as it has nobody above so may be a little quieter and has good views of the pool or sea. I emailed asking for a high floor before travelling and were lucky, getting room 4143 with a view out over the sea. The room itself had a huge bed, two doubles pushed together to make one, but suited us fine. A small lounge area with sofas leading to a simple balcony. The bathroom was large and had a good sized bath and wonderful shower.  The rooms are well decorated and were cleaned everyday to a high standard. A selection of beers and soft drinks are topped up in the mini fridge too.  A few of the fixtures and fittings could have done with a little maintenance or screw tightening but nothing major. Some complained that the wifi was not available in the rooms but it mentions in the info booklet to contact reception if wi fi is needed in the room. Although it is freely available by the pool and in the lobby. 

The pool complex has an unheated, refreshing cold pool, a heated warm pool and a little jacuzzi, all clean and inviting. Surrounded by a selection of four poster beds and comfy loungers. It says no reservations but you would be advised to maybe put a towel down on your way to breakfast or you may be out of luck if you go to the pool anytime after 9am. The pool bars offer drinks throughout the day and once lunch has finished the snacks are left out until dinner time. Recent reviews mentioned tipping but I saw nobody tipping at the pool bars. We gave tips to the waiters at dinner if they had gone out of their way while serving us, although the standard of service is very high anyway. We changed some notes for smaller denominations when we were checking in so that we had some tip money spare. 

We attended the welcome brief from the rep but decided against any of the activities. We did want a massage so took advantage of the offer on the spa brochure in the room. A scrub, full body massage and steam room for Dh480/£36 which was cheaper than the prices on the list when we went to book at the spa!  However, it was an excellent experience and highly recommended. Do expect not to wear anything for the massage though as it caught us by surprise! 

We decided to visit the city Souk/ market during the morning on the Tuesday and set about walking there to experience the local area. Top tips: Get cash before you leave the hotel or from a machine close by so as not to draw attention to your self en route, photo copy your passports and take the copy with you and ask for a local map from reception. It is about a 20 minute walk, if you stick to the main roads then it is quite direct and feels safe. We took the back routes and although had no trouble, did feel a little uneasy when locals wanted to lead us to the souk via their route, but nothing too unsettling. A polite no thanks in French seemed to work. The souk it's self was great, no hassle and a huge variety of good and vegetables. We went in at entrance number 1 which is the fruits area, it is also easy to get a taxi to and from the hotel to this entrance, get the little orange taxis for about Dh30.

The food at the hotel was great on most nights although starts to become a little repetitive by the last night although the standard was usually great. The hotel offer two alternative restaurants which are more intimate and hold around 30 people. A Moroccan restaurant and an Italian/ fusion restaurant. We ate at the fusion restaurant on one evening, the food was strange to say the least, maybe we had a bad experience but we wouldn't bother eating there again given how nice the standard food was in the main restaurant. We had what looked and tasted like raw chicken on a salad leaf for starters although I think it was some kind of fish.  

We would definitely stay again and wish we had booked 10 nights instead of 7!

Room Tip: Drop reception an email asking for a high floor. This should give you a quiet room with sea or pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LondonOnleave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,539 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,365
    834
    265
    48
    27
See reviews for
844
1,948
38
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (920)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

Just returned home from this hotel and after reading lots of reviews before going and impressed with what I read plus also a verbal recommendation from a friend expectations were high, how disappointing it was in reality.Let me start by saying the staff were brilliant, when we checked in were told room wasn't ready for hour and half, not a problem but when we got the room a electrical socket was hanging off wall, not good with a toddler, wardrobe door kept dropping off,1 sink plug wouldn't open when that was mended it would leak and flood bathroom floor.rest of hotel and pool area was very clean.The food was very disappointing, breakfast was sometimes a struggle to even get a egg, never no omelette, could never find him to make one, so have a fried egg, no there ain't any, lunch and dinner were same, always running low, not enough food for amount of people am afraid.Also kept seeing certain horrible, ignorant people just stood picking food up with their fingers and eating it then getting more before sorting down to eat.Have visited other riu palaces in Caribbean and Mexico and they are far better than this.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank jay h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

We have just arrived back from a week at this hotel. It was our first holiday travelling with our 7 month old baby and I researched extensively before travelling and read a lot of reviews on trip advisor to help me choose.

Overall we had a lovey time - there were just a few things that we felt needed to be improved as they did cast a bit of a downer on the first day! The issue was with check in. So, we arrived at the hotel with 3 cases, a pram and juggling holding a small baby. Noone at the hotel helped us carry our luggage up the flight of marble stairs even though the porters could see we were struggling. We then had to wait 15 mins at reception in the queue to check in (no drinks offered). We had emailed 2 weeks prior to request a 4th floor room so it would be quieter for the baby to sleep. When we finally spoke to a receptionist, we saw we were in a 2nd floor room. When we asked about the email which they had acknowledged, they said they had no record of it. When we showed them the email exchange they sheepishly then found us a room - but not until the following day as they said none were available. We felt that was okay but then they told us our room on the 2nd floor for the first night was not available and we would have to wait 45mins to check in. It was nearly 3.30pm and check in is at 3 so we felt this was not on, especially as our daughter was tired and needed to nap. When we finally got to our room, there was no cot and the room was really dark. Thankfully we moved the next day to a 4thfloor room which was really nice. the whole experience just left us feeling disappointed as this was not the service we expected.

Some other tips for those travelling with babies - the staff LOVE babies and our daughter was admired and played with all the time which was lovely. The bar staff near the pool were fantastic heating her bottles by providing hot water. The main restaurant and the one for lunch both had highchairs which were clean and hygienic. None of the toilets had baby changing facilities though which I thought was surprising given there were other babies there. At night, we settled her to sleep in her pram and then took her to the resturants with us so we could have a meal. This seems to work really well. We also had breakfast delivered some mornings to our room which was great as we sat on the balcony together and did not have to worry about the mess we might make!

One other thing- although it says room service is 24hrs- this is not so as Room service for food is breakfast only. We thought we might be able to have dinner on our balcony one night when our daughter was asleep but this is not possible.

Overall, we agree with all the other reviews but just wished our check in experience was more positive!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KDtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

We stayed at the Riu Tikida Palace for three weeks in February 2014. On our last visit to Agadir in 2008 we had watched the site of the Riu Palace start to be developed and we arrived with high hopes.

The entrance and reception are impressive and the hotel created a good impression from the moment we walked through the doors. Reception staff were pleasant and helpful. We had upgraded to a pool view room and had been allocated a room facing north. We knew from other reviews that the hotel is horseshoe shaped with the two legs housing the rooms which are at right angles to the beach. Also from previous visits to Agadir that it was best to face south to get all-day sun into the room. We asked to move to a high floor, south facing pool room and changing sides wasn't a problem although we had to wait one night till a suitable room became available. It was lunchtime when we arrived and our room wasn't ready till 2pm so we wandered to the dining room for lunch before we unpacked.

Our room was superb and spacious in four areas; a bedroom area, two steps down to a sitting area with couch, two chairs and a table, through full-width glass doors onto a private balcony, and off the bed area the ensuite comprising wardrobes, doors to a 'his and hers' sink unit, bath with shower and a separate toilet and bidet. Facilities included a good-sized safe, a fridge stocked with soft drinks and water, a kettle and supply of tea/coffee/milk and sugar. The milk was long-life but it was perfectly acceptable to take a jug of fresh milk from breakfast and put it in the room fridge.

We were impressed by the high standard of cleanliness. The rooms were spotless and around the hotel both inside and outside people were constantly cleaning and tidying.

For a buffet format the food was excellent, always well presented with plenty of choice. We asked for a tour of the kitchen and the Head Chef gave us a private visit. The facilities were state of the art, spotless and well organised. We were told that all the food (meat, veg, fish etc) was sourced from Morocco and all pastries, breads, cakes etc were made on the premises.

We only had one disappointment with the hotel and that concerned the seating in the dining rooms (one for breakfast and dinner near reception, another for lunch near the promenade). There were areas for outside eating which we chose for breakfast and lunch and these were fine, but for dinner we ate inside. Other than a few tables around the edge of the dining room the rest of the tables were in rows, usually grouped in threes for six people. The result is that often people found themselves shoulder to shoulder with strangers and unable to conduct a private conversation. We knew it was buffet-service but for a five-star hotel we did not expected the table lay-out to be more like a cafeteria.

There were two speciality restaurants with waiter service, one traditional Moroccan food, the other fusion food. The menus were quite restricted and didn't change. We enjoyed the Moroccan restaurant, but not the fusion one which didn't suit us and was very rushed (servings at 7pm and 9pm)

One of the outstanding memories was the attitude and friendliness of staff who were all happy, friendly and helpful.

There were lots of sunbeds and sitting areas to enjoy the sun. Disappointingly many people still choose to put towels on beds long before breakfast. From the grounds there is direct access onto a recently completed promenade allowing a lovely walk around the bay. There were some sellers of trinkets and clothing but a smile and firm 'no thanks' kept them away.

Moroccan people are very good with languages. After Arabic and Berber the next most popular language spoken by staff was French, then English, German and Spanish. This mix reflected the hotel visitors, the majority being French. Contrary to some reviews critical of the lack of English we thought it a positive being able to practice our French.

The weather was fabulous during our stay. In three weeks the only rain we saw was a little drizzle late one evening. The temperature was in the 20's and we had sun every day.

We had a lovely holiday and if you can live with the seating arrangements for meal-times then we would certainly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: South facing rooms for the sun, north for the shade
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RomanbyRamblers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
82 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

We have just returned from our week at Rui Palace Tikida.

Absloutely wonderful break!

The reviews are spot on, rooms very clean and spacious, food and drinks are plentiful with excellent choice.

The service is outstanding. Comments on tipping are correct, you genuinely feel the staff care, that they love there job and they take pride in looking after you.

How ever we did tip, you cannot fault the service and attention to detail. I only wish the hotel had a big tip box at reception that perhaps got shared out to all of the staff.

You will feel torn on how many staff go that extra mile.
A pleasure to experience and we shall go again.

The pool area is spacious and relaxing.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 4043 fourth floor with sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lippylol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
527 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

I'm no stranger to visiting hotels and simply this is one of the best ones I've had the pleasure in staying in. Check in went swiftly and given a nice cocktail on arrival. It became very clear that all the staff are so friendly and helpful. Our room 4118 had a view overlooking the pool area. This room was very roomy with a couch, seats and a very big en suite. The room was kept immaculately clean throughout our stay. Top brand names are included on the drinks menu and table service is provided if required. Snacks such as olives and bowls of almond nuts provided. At breakfast, all the waiting staff couldn't be more helpful by providing fresh orange juice, smoothies to your table. At meal times all your drinks are replenished. Bottles of wine are supplied at meal times. The pool areas have plenty of loungers to go around and the hotel oozes class. We didn't participate in the evening entertainment so cannot comment. The hotel is situated on the beautiful beach front half way along and is in a great position for you to visit the Marina which about 30 mins walk away and well worth a visit, quite upmarket. The food quality is excellent and has also two themed restaurants, which you can book in advance. Would love to revisit this hotel as it's been a real gem to find.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Bordersgeezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

We have visited Agadir many times but this was our first visit at the RIU Tikida Palace. We are a family of four with two boys aged 12 and 14 and travel worldwide and have good experience of hotel product. We found this hotel of high quality and the service was excellent, the staff are exceptionally friendly and we got to know a few during our stay. Special mention to Mohammed Adgaz (means butter in English) who was our waiter in the restaurant, he is a credit to the hotel and clearly reflects the culture the management has embedded across their people.
Rooms are very good standard, kept very clean by the maids, lounge and pool areas are expansive and pool boys always on hand to help.
The restaurant is large and naturally will be noisy when full, guess this is a little downside as it can get lively but the choice and quality of food was very good, my boys enjoyed the various foods available including the tagine.
Having been to Agadir around 8 times I would recommend this hotel for couples, families looking for a quality, contemporary hotel which beachfront and central to Agadir, it's a perfect stay and whilst 7 nights is nice, our 10 night stay was just the right duration.
Niggles, the mini bar door doesn't open as the lip of the wardrobe sliding door stops it (room 2008 and 2006) management should just address it, such a small item but expect it to be sorted if a hotel wants to have five star status...if that's my only niggle whilst on holiday then I should get a life shouldn't I?!
Thanks everyone at RIU Tikida Beach, keep delivering a great product.

Agadir - not everyone's cup of tea, it's very safe, we walked around with. I worries at all, enjoy some haggling and bag yourself a bargain, the traders are friendly. The weather has a better winter temperature than the Canaries, it's just 3.5 hours from UK, 30 minute transfer from Airport to hotel and we enjoyed 15th Feb 10 days of warm sunny weather in early 20's, their is a red brick promenade that you can walk along to from one end of resort to the other and plenty of restaurants, a marina, good old Mcdonalds, Pizza Hut if you can't do without it and an English Pub for all the football you want, again if you can't live without it.
Highly recommend Agadir, it's growing fast and try it, your be surprised at how good it is!

Room Tip: Rooms on the right side facing the sea allow for sun all day High floor to avoid noise of moving fu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tracey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agadir hotels
1.1 mi away
Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort
1.2 mi away
Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa
4.2 mi away
Tikida Golf Palace
Tikida Golf Palace
#1 of 77 in Agadir
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Robinson Club Agadir
Robinson Club Agadir
#2 of 77 in Agadir
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Timoulay & Spa Agadir
0.4 mi away
Atlantic Palace Agadir
Atlantic Palace Agadir
#29 of 77 in Agadir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir
Address: Chemin des Dunes, Agadir, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Agadir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 77 Hotels in Agadir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir 5*
Number of rooms: 444
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Expedia, Hotelopia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing