We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing at the Sofitel brand”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort
Ranked #8 of 79 Hotels in Agadir
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a week and the experience was pretty much mixed. First of all the hotel was quite nice when we first arrived, the lobby was big and clean and they welcomed us with the local Moroccan tea and some local biscuits.

Then we went to the deluxe sea view room we have requested for. The view was lovely as you look out to the pool and the beach but the room was very old. Lots of bits need to be worked on like the shower, air conditioning, windows, bathroom and etc.

During our stay we had some issues with our air conditioning and we had to remind them every single day for 4 days before we can get someone to come up to have a look. That was extremely disappointing especially from a five star hotel. The service was definitely the weakest point of the hotel as you often have to wait for AGES before you can get a service even though you can see the staff members are just standing there and chatting rather than looking around to see if anyone needs service. Not surprised with some of the previous comments were saying how bad the service was.

One thing that really bugs me was the hotel manager would front up and go to TripAdvisor to respond to those “awful reviews”. I would have much more respects for him if he does, doesn’t matter if the reviews were good or bad.

This resort was nice but it was let down by the level of service we have received during our stay. I would definitely not be returning to this resort and very disappointing at the Sofitel brand.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Walkman88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,329)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

630 - 636 of 2,329 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2012 via mobile

Originally, we had booked there but due to overbooking and a cariologists seminar, we were moved to the excellent Sofitel Thalassa and Spa. (see separate review).
However, the hotels being juxtaposed, we were offered to use the services of the Royal Bay Resort. By curiosity, I also askef to see 4 different categories of rooms. This review is based thetefore on the above parameters.
Rooms: the beds are best quality. Could be six stars. However, the rest of the rooms and floors public space would deserve a 4 star only. Nothing to do with the new Sofitel. When we visited the rooms, we realised how lucky we had been to be transfered!
Still, if you get a good deal and don't care too much about the view from the room, design and the age of the furniture, the beds looked uppest category.
The pools are nice. Slightly less I think from the new Sofitel, but nice really.
The arranged and private beach (with beds and towels) is outstanding. See separate review about Agadir beaches.
The pool restaurant, while being around 20-25% over- priced as in the other new Sofitel and luxury hotels, was great. Both in quantity and quality. For instance, a lunch for two with one shared salad and 2 large personal pizzas, non-alcoholic drinks and coffe, would totalise approximately 50€. It was quiet, pleasant, excellent service and tasty. I guess you get what you pay for...
Also, we had a dinner at La Nasse. This ground-floor reception had just a change in the menu, so both the info we got from our hotel reception and the one found in the guides, was innacurate. It has been a lovely ASIAN dinner (Chinese), tasty and served admirably.
The club (So Fun) was great with good quality shows, music, cool people, good service. That's a great plus.
In general, the public spaces (except floors), look beautiful. Definitely a 5-star property, although rooms need to be refurbished
The information I got is that there had been a change of ownership for that hotel. I have not checked the financial info of Sofitel but I believe, from my imtuition only, that Sofitel will keep the Thalassa and Spa, while the Royal Bay will leave the Sofitel family. Wait and see.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Professor_Camel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Got back 10th June 12

This hotel is fantastic, its so clean, attention to detail is great, three pools one heated, Lovely restaurants and the beds are so comfortable, I've never slept on anything like it !!! It was quiet and classy and the outside furniture was classy, clean and posh. Our electric blind broke in our room on the ground floor and we told reception about it and we were moved the next morning to a sea view on the second floor.

Breakfast was buffet style and lovely, clean, fresh, fab service. We had to pay for dinner and we were told it would equate to £25 each and that didn't include drinks. We wondered along the sea front up to the other restaurants and found Le Fleur restaurant where two of us ate a fantastic meal for £20 between us including drinks. Le Fleur is brilliant so please go if you have the chance. Coke at the hotel was £3 per can but we found a small supermarket down the road and bought water and other things into the hotel.

The outside restaurant where we had breakfast daily was lovely, there was loads of birds and a few resident hotel cats on site which the staff looked after. The staff were really friendly and professional. The chambermaid cleaned the room really well and they all work so hard.

The restaurants at the other end of the resort takes about 45 minutes to walk to. Its a few minutes in the taxi which you can pick up right outside the hotel door. We paid 20 diram approx (£1.50). The shops are good too, the fake branded t shirts are good quality but its like

We paid £300 for 4 nights B&B with one free evening meal and flights through Fleetway Travel and they were very efficent. We flew with BA and they were great too. The weather was l lovely and hot, seemed to be warm but over cast in the mornings but at midday the sun came out until about 7pm. The beach was lovely, plenty of room and really clean, nice furniture and the sea breeze was lovely and warm.

The Sofitel is the best hotel along the front and I would go back in a flash !!!

Room Tip: Hotel food is expensive but other end of the resort along the sea front is lots of restaurants where...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BeanDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

We stayed here for four days. It is absolutely stunning. The pool is huge and designed so that you feel like you are at a private pool because there are little separate alcoves. The sloping lawn to the beach is filled with seating pits, large sofas, cabanas etc. so you can enjoy the sea in a civilized manner. there are also beach chairs on the private beach. The lobby is stunning with music at night and drinks and nibbles. It has everything you can want for a luxury vacation:Spa, pools, beach, nightclub, restaurants.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trailing-Spouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Recently spent a week a the Royal Bay on a B&B basis. Service can be slow, but it reflects the pace in a country that generally basks in temperatures of over 20 degrees all year round - that said, it wasn't painful to wait an extra few minutes, as we were on holiday after all. That said, the staff were courteous and attentive, and always happy to help if needed.
Breakfast was varied and plentiful, served - 7am - 11am. Coffee was warm and very strong, whilst tea was a bit insipid. Fresh OJ served at the table, everything else DIY at the buffet. Highlight was the pancake/ eggs hotplate outside - cooked to order and delicious! If you're feeling brave, the sweet mint tea is delightful and refreshing - and very strong.
As other people have mentioned, the poolside and private beach are lovely but pretty cold in 2 of the pools. All in all, a great hotel, if a little worn around the edges.

Room Tip: Definitely worth asking for an upgrade, as the hotel was only half full when we visited.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L00klively
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Went here for a long weekend, and had a great time. The hotel itself is clean and staff are very friendly and accommodating. The food was to a good standard, the first night we were there they had a Moroccan night and the food was excellant. The staff cannot do enough for you and are very efficient. The courtyard is beautiful and in the evening after dinner we would just sit and listen to the entertainment or talk in the cool night air.

A few negatives, they only have 1 heated pool and the rest are extremely cold - to the point where everyone crowds into the heated pool and the others are empty, we went mid May and although the sun was shining, we still could not swim in the other pools. If this is the case all year round they should make all the pools heated.

My second negative, but only a small one is that check in is a bit tedious, they kept doing 1 thing and then sending someone else to do the next stage and then sending someone else to check passports etc and although staff are pleasant enough through the whole process, we were there for a long weekend so we just wanted to get to our room and start the holiday.

All in all though a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisar007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

If you want relax and enjoy absolutly perfect, romantic and quiet atmospere, travel to Sofitel Royal Bay in Agadir. The hotel has excellent management in head with lovely director Dalila:), everything is clean and shining, great kitchen. Absolutly great garden with a lot of sun beds, hammocks and different kind of things where you can lie and relax. As the hotel is not all inclusive, it is not like a factory, it is very peacefull. Great kitchen. For sure try the a la carte restaurant close to the night club and for sure try to go there, it is very fine. And try one of wines they have in their offer - Chateau Roslane - great red wine:). The beach in front of the hotel is I think the best from all Agadir. Rooms are very comfortable, some of them don´ t have balconies, but it is much nicer relax in the garden. In rooms are very, very comfortable beds, very good for sleeping, for sure you will relax.

Room Tip: Ask for room with the balcony, higher floor, there is much nicer view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lenka73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agadir hotels
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa
3.2 mi away
Tikida Golf Palace
Tikida Golf Palace
#1 of 79 in Agadir
421 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Atlantic Palace Agadir
Atlantic Palace Agadir
#30 of 79 in Agadir
966 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Timoulay & Spa Agadir
1.6 mi away
Royal Atlas & Spa
Royal Atlas & Spa
#21 of 79 in Agadir
994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort

Address: | BP 226 Cite Founty P4Baie des Palmiers, Agadir 80007, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Agadir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Agadir
#7 Spa Hotel in Agadir
#7 Luxury Hotel in Agadir
#8 Family Hotel in Agadir
#9 Romantic Hotel in Agadir
Price Range: £64 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right along the ocean's sandy beach, in the lush Palm Bay, Sofitel Agadir is a genuine treasure, an oasis of peace and luxury just 10 minutes from downtown and 25 km from the international airport. This spectacular 5-star hotel combines refined, contemporary elements with exotic Kasbah-style architecture. The wrought iron accents compliment the colorful fabrics and elegant fountains throughout. Year-round sun and impeccable service add to the pleasures of water sports, golf and tennis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Prestigia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Hotel Agadir
Agadir Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing