We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fabulous Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort
Ranked #9 of 77 Hotels in Agadir
Certificate of Excellence
Essex
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Fabulous Hotel”
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We have just returned from our first (but certainly not our last) trip to Morocco where the Sofitel Royal Bay proved to be the very best we could have wished for. There were 6 of us in total and we had 3 superior quality double rooms which all overlooked the pool. The hotel is spotlessly clean and has many staff whose only desire is for you to be fully catered for and pampered. By day 3 the pool attendants knew exactly where we wanted to sit, what time I had my morning coffee, when we might have a lazy wander down to the beach and wouldn't even let me get out of the pool without rushing up with a towel to keep me warm whilst I ambled back to the sunbed!

We were staying on a bed and breakfast basis and the buffet-style breakfast was superb. Every cuisine was accommodated and again many staff on hand to bring teas, coffees etc. We ate 1 lunch and 1 dinner in the hotel. The first in the sunken table area between the pool and beach. It was a lovely experience but for a snack lunch was a little pricey - the dinner too, although very delicious buffet. However this is a 5* hotel so I suppose we weren't surprised.

The decor in the hotel is light, airy and modern but with a Moroccan feel. No-one could fail to be impressed with the large lounge area, where Wifi is easily connected, with its open roof and again lots of staff on hand to serve.

The private beach - a short walk through the pool area and gardens was wonderful and provided some refreshing breeze in the heat of the day. Towels are all provided for you and the seats and sunbeds were so comfortable.

The only thing I think English visitors to this hotel may miss is the lack of tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms. So take your travel kettle folks.

We played tennis one morning and rackets were provided, there's a full itinerary of excursions available from the concierge although we booked ours independently for a cheaper rate. I can recommend the buggy trip into the mountains where Moroccan life can really be seen. Watch out for the camel touters up the mountain near the kasbah - we were on one (a camel that is) before we had got out of the taxi and haggling for the price for a 5 minute ride around the car park. However, glad we rode one then as we were considering the half day trip and not sure whether that would have been a good idea!

Overall this was a holiday experience not to be missed. Thank you to all at the Sofitel Royal Bay. We will certainly be seeing you all again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EssexJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,141
    606
    255
    120
    79
See reviews for
579
924
104
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We’ve just returned from our stay at the Sofitel Royal Bay Resort (18th - 25th May 2013)
1 week of absolute paradise. The first holiday my partner and I have taken together and one that we will certainly go on to remember for the rest of our lives. From the atmosphere to the staff to the food everything is spot on. I would recommend staying in this hotel. Yes location is slightly away, but if you are travelling with a good UK agent (Lastmin, first choice etc) the excursions will keep your days busy. We did the bugging/quad bikes one day, the day trip into the Atlas mountains and the day trip to Marrakesh with an English speaking tour guide. We spent our days off relaxing around the pool (the lounge beds are to die for), swimming in the heated pool and basking in the 30degree plus sunshine. The best advise i can give you – find the shop, a short walk down the front side of the hotels look out for the flags and cross-over. Stock up on snacks and drinks here. The hotel prices will of course be slightly outside of what most like to pay. Keep your extra pennies to treat yourself to a sheisha pipe in the evening; try the icecream the hotel has to offer and most importantly tip the staff and locals whenever possible. The staff are outstanding; On arrival Fatima gave us the best tour explaining our half board terms, where we could eat and what we could do. Fayssal appeared to work round the clock, we’d see him at breakfast and then again at dinner always wearing that warming smile and friendly approach. And our dear friend Aimee, one of the pool boys. Outstanding service and advise. He truly made our stay a fantastic experience. Thank you Team at Sofitel. With our best Sunita and Raj.

Room Tip: We had a room with a balcony sea and pool view. - this is amazing !!! Loved every aspect. Large roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SunRaj_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2013

One of the best hotels we've stayed in. The staff were very friendly and nothing too much trouble. The food is excellent especially the desserts. The beds to lay on around the pool were very comfortable.We didn't want to get off them. Mostly french staying here and staff used french until they knew we spoke English. Drinks are very expensive as in most 5* hotels, otherwise we couldn't fault anything. Not near any shops but didn't effect us as we spent all day sunbathing, swimming and evenings in the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin45620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We have just spent a fortnight at this outstanding hotel. .The service is first class and the comfort in all the splendid public areas and poolside helped us have a memorable holiday. La Caravan provides a splendid "Chefs" quality buffet every evening. The Best !

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daveandjanb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Just got back from a week at the Sofitel in Agadir and wanted to write a quick review while its still fresh in my mind. It was a lovely hotel, the staff were friendly and attentive. A very relaxing holiday.

Pool
Nicely decorated and attentive staff (especially Aimee who spoke English). The smaller pool was heated as the other one was a bit cold. The guys by the pool and in the kids club really looked after us. The kids club was being decorated i think and so the kids club was on the grass under the shade by the pool (some balls, colouring etc). As it wasn't school holidays there were only a couple of over 4's being looked after. As i understand it its free to all. If they are under 4 you have to be present. They supervised my toddler who is two while i relaxed close by (Adil was great and also spoke good English).
Beach
Beach ok but sea cold at the end of May. It was very windy when we arrived and couldn't use the beach as the sand was blowing.
Breakfast - Pretty standard for a five star hotel. Omelettes and crepes cooked fresh but no poached or scrambled eggs.
Rooms - ok but only a few rooms have balconies. I didn't like the beds, as they tried to make them soft and fluffy by putting a duvet in between the matress and the sheet underneath. Nice soft furnishings though and two sinks in the bathroom.

The Riad in the middle of the hotel was beautiful and a nice place to have a mint tea. One thing they don't say on their website is their is FREE wifi in the whole hotel, which is great.

There isn't that much to do in Agadir itself but i knew that before i arrived. In the evening you can stroll along the Promenade/Marina and during the day go to the souk but i think that's it really.

The hotel was very nice and we both left very relaxed. There are a lot of French guests at this hotel but there was also English, Dutch and other Arab nationalities. A lot of staff only speak French but quite a few also speak very good English. We found the other guests, all nationalities, very friendly. We did visit the new hotel next door but it was very quiet and mainly for couples.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sal007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Make no mistake , this a classy hotel.

The service is attentive, the food is excellent, and the rooms and facilities are first class. We ate in La Caravanne, the food is good quality and varied, the desserts are just divine.
The private beach is well tended , as is the area around the large swimming pool.Plenty of sun loungers here.
Location : It is around a 40 minute walk along the wide beach-side pathway before you encounter any bars,cafes,shops etc, Another 30 minutes gets you to the Marina. We did enjoy this walk. For those that choose not to walk Taxis are cheap and plentiful in Agadir

In Summary this is a full service 5 star hotel.

A note of caution.. We paid in cash for our drinks with dinner each night . On checking out we were presented with a bill for drinks in La Caravanne. We explained that we has paid previously. There was no argument, and the desk clerk just asked me to sign the bill with a statement that we had paid already, I put this comment in because I would advise any guest leaving for the airport to allow sufficient time for this activity,

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Stayed here in May 2013 and can not rate this hotel highly enough. Great ambiance, excellent facilities and customer service. The room was clean, modern and had everything. The service and attention to detail is outstanding. I would certainty like to mention some staff names who were outstanding. Ibtissam, Fatiha, Aziz and yousaf.
I would totally recommend this hotel without thinking twice.
Look no further. Book here right now!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KHMZAF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agadir hotels
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa
0.8 mi away
Atlantic Palace Agadir
Atlantic Palace Agadir
#31 of 77 in Agadir
941 reviews
3.2 mi away
Tikida Golf Palace
Tikida Golf Palace
#1 of 77 in Agadir
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir
1.2 mi away
Hotel Agadir Beach Club
Hotel Agadir Beach Club
#23 of 77 in Agadir
870 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Timoulay & Spa Agadir
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort

Property: Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort
Address: | BP 226 Cite Founty P4Baie des Palmiers, Agadir 80007, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Agadir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Agadir
#7 Spa Hotel in Agadir
#7 Luxury Hotel in Agadir
#8 Family Hotel in Agadir
#9 Romantic Hotel in Agadir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right along the ocean's sandy beach, in the lush Palm Bay, Sofitel Agadir is a genuine treasure, an oasis of peace and luxury just 10 minutes from downtown and 25 km from the international airport. This spectacular 5-star hotel combines refined, contemporary elements with exotic Kasbah-style architecture. The wrought iron accents compliment the colorful fabrics and elegant fountains throughout. Year-round sun and impeccable service add to the pleasures of water sports, golf and tennis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Prestigia, Southall Travel, Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Hotel Agadir
Agadir Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing