We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal Beach Holiday Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort
Ranked #9 of 77 Hotels in Agadir
Certificate of Excellence
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Ideal Beach Holiday Hotel”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Stayed here and reviewed previously in October 2011. This remains a very good hotel. The beach is excellent. The sleep quality is excellent. The swimming pool has been changed and improved. Breakfast is excellent. However don't go half board - the buffet dinner has a different theme each night of the week but there's not too much difference so you can be left with little choice. Service excellent

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richardperkins1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,141
    606
    255
    122
    79
See reviews for
580
925
104
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pembrey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Great welcome from staff. Room was ready. Very comfortable. Bathroom, very odd arrangement! No connecting door just a pull across with gaping holes?????!!! Apart from that Pool was great, plenty of seating - we went in October. Food great. Garden area very nice and walk down to see so easy. Beautiful bay as can be seen in pictures. Very windy by 4pm. Nice comfy loungers and drinks bought to you from bar - pricey but nice for a few days!
The rooms were very clean and the room staff were lovely.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sausagedrop1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Probably the most helpful and friendly hotel we've ever been to. Had the best sleep ever in great beds. Room very nice but the bathroom, no bath mats, they just don't seem to have them in Morocco! Guess no-one falls over there! Bathroom had no door just a pull across which was a kind of divider. Neither of us liked this. The room staff were fantastic, everything really clean and they were lovely. Pool was cold, well it was October, but there were plenty of places to sit. The food was absolutely delicious, so many different dishes and the fish was fantastic. Good waiters and great service. Couldn't be better. All in all, yes we would go to a Sofitel Hotel again but not to Morocco. This was a one off for us. Good holiday - yes. Great one? Not really. But we always enjoy ourselves on our breaks.

Room Tip: Don't listen when they say you can upgrade when you get there to a BALCONY ROOM. They have very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Beautiful entrance hall, where it is nice to sit and enjoy an aperitif.
The corridors to the room didn't gave a fresh impression. Also the room was quite old. We had also the disadvantage that we had a room without terrace.
Rooms clean, but quite out of date.
Friendly staff.
The food was not tasty and looked not so attractive.
I had expected more from a 5 star sofitel!

Room Tip: It would be good to take a room with a terrace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elsvdw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambriedge
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

Very good staff to welcome and ready to provide all the info and or what you may need. The best breakfast that you may forget your lunch if you would have late breakfast. Good rooms. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndrewCarling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Now you might be wondering why 1 star and title VERY ELEGANT. Let me explain,

This is a very nice hotel, Sofitel lives up to its name, but you will need a very deep pocket to stay here.

At first was when I arrived in the hotel was greeted by the door staff, thumbs up, but as soon as I entered the lobby I was greeted by lots of people setting the lobby area where the entertain is live every night who was smoking, not a good sight, I had to rush to the reception area, which is on the other side, there was some mistake with my booking, this was recovered and I was told were the lift was, not even taken to my room, which I had to work this out for myself, not what you expect from a 5 start hotel.

On arrival to the room, this was very nice and clean, the TV was not working, I called reception and no one turned up. Left this to the morning.

Dinner for 2 will set you back £50-£60 pounds, not worth what you pay for, this is available a few mins walk from the hotel for half the price.

Got to say the kids club is great, your child will love this, and the staffs are great. Room cleaning staff are the best, very happy and polite.

From a resort you will expect some compliments, but in this one you will have to pay for everything, I mean everything, just take an extra £1000 for an 8 night stay.

Pool was OK but the main pool was very cold, like ice was frown in to the pool, even the sea water was warm.

The pool area, all the beds get occupied early morning, but after 10AM no one is on the beds only towels, you will need to request a bed and wait for half hour before you are allocated a bed by the pool.

Breakfast is dull for what you pay for.

Entertainment is OK, but 1 night every week they go out the way to entertain you, every Monday night.

Some may like this, but for me it is a NO

Room Tip: Book in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Khuram A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We were impressed and left feeling very refreshed. The Sofitel Royal Bay Resort manages to offer relaxed luxury to a varied clientele. There were business delegations, couples and families - and the hotel provided admirably for all of them. Things were undoubtedly lively near the smaller outdoor heated pool and Children's Club (it was the UK and the French half-term), but the hammocks, four posters and double bed loungers extended far into the immaculate gardens. The decade-younger sister Sofitel Thalassa Agadir is next door, for those in search of a sleeker and more muted place to swim or sunbathe.

Check in was entirely free from stress or delay - the concierge brought chilled face towels, mint tea and Moroccan pastries while the reception staff greeted us in the open air Riad. It has a retractable roof, and the evening fire lighting ceremony, traditional music and decoration provides a great ambience.

Breakfasts and dinners were probably the best we have encountered on a sunshine holiday. Jerome, the food and beverage manager, welcomed us personally, and the chefs - working in open kitchens - were outstanding.

Fatima, our housekeeper, was charming and our rooms were impeccably clean, with rose petals scattered everywhere, mineral water was delivered each day and there was an abundance of fluffy robes and towels, with Oud Rose toiletries by Lanvin. Bedroom refurbishment may be due soon, but the Moroccan design concept and the cleanliness couldn't be faulted. BBC World is a rather repetitive TV option for English speakers, but there were Arabic channels showing English-language content.

Hamza and Mohammed run a Surf School in the grounds, and our boys adored body boarding and surfing in the Atlantic. Rates were reasonable for wetsuit and kit hire. The private beach, like the pool areas, also has a battalion of smiling Pool Butlers in orange polos, white bermudas and floppy sunhats, who rush to your assistance the moment they spot you trying to lift a finger. We also liked the sunken tables in the Pool and Gardens open-air restaurant. They have floppy cushions for lounging, golden stone walls to keep out the strongest Atlantic breezes, and infinite views of the sea.

The staff at the hotel are nearly all Moroccan and their warmth and eagerness to assist was striking and memorable.


  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank EngliShisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agadir hotels
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa
0.8 mi away
Atlantic Palace Agadir
Atlantic Palace Agadir
#31 of 77 in Agadir
942 reviews
3.2 mi away
Tikida Golf Palace
Tikida Golf Palace
#1 of 77 in Agadir
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir
1.2 mi away
Hotel Agadir Beach Club
Hotel Agadir Beach Club
#25 of 77 in Agadir
871 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Timoulay & Spa Agadir
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort

Property: Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort
Address: | BP 226 Cite Founty P4Baie des Palmiers, Agadir 80007, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Agadir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Agadir
#7 Luxury Hotel in Agadir
#7 Spa Hotel in Agadir
#8 Family Hotel in Agadir
#9 Romantic Hotel in Agadir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right along the ocean's sandy beach, in the lush Palm Bay, Sofitel Agadir is a genuine treasure, an oasis of peace and luxury just 10 minutes from downtown and 25 km from the international airport. This spectacular 5-star hotel combines refined, contemporary elements with exotic Kasbah-style architecture. The wrought iron accents compliment the colorful fabrics and elegant fountains throughout. Year-round sun and impeccable service add to the pleasures of water sports, golf and tennis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Prestigia, ACCOR, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Hotel Agadir
Agadir Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing