We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Downgraded room..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort
Ranked #8 of 77 Hotels in Agadir
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

2,122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,101
    583
    253
    110
    75
See reviews for
549
894
99
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marrakech, Morocco
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

In the past seven years I have been in almost every Hotel in Agadir. Most of them are bad or o.k.
Today I checked in at the New Sofitel in Agadir. A warm welcome, a personell tour, beautifull room with a Queen Size bed and excellent food by the beach. If you ask me, that's the place you wanna be in Agadir.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerhard1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corona del Mar, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Our final stop in our fifteen days traveling throughout Morocco. The service was extremely poor except for the bellboys and some of the restaurant staff ! The front office was not helpful in resolving air conditioning and room issues? The first room we had was filthy as was the hallway. The air conditioning never worked properly in either of our two rooms. God help us if it was unseasonable hot ! The breakfast was good but eating on site was extremely expensive for the quality of the food. The front office staff was not helpful, inefficient, non engaging and cold. When comparing this hotel experience with other riad/hotel experience throughout the country, it was a huge dissapointment. None of the warmth we experienced elsewhere. The common areas, pool and grounds were nice. Overpriced for the product you receive. A 3 star hotel at 5 star prices. Would never stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lolly616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

I dont like writing negative reviews so was not going to bother but then I read the reviews by PalDub & TonyCi who were obviously staying in this hotel over Christmas when we were there. It's a shame we never bumped into each other as it would have been nice to have some English company.
No offence intended to the French guests (95% of total guests) but their children were all very very badly behaved. The teenage gang element spent their time running up and down corridors and partying in their rooms, The younger children were just allowed to run around unsupervised - even in the restaurant...grabbing and touching any food they could get their hands on.
My tipping point was when 5-6 youngsters took to the stage area when one of the local musicans was playing and were running around in front of him - poking their tongues out and misbehaving - it was so embarrassing and nothing was done about it.
To be honest I just wanted to come home!
I have to also agree about the cleanleness of the toilets in the rooms. There was excrement on our toilet wall when we arrived and 7 days later it was still there : (( if the cleaning staff spent more time doing the basics instead of arranging my nightware into patterns on my bed I would have been alot happier.
Our door keys stopped working every single day circa 11am.......everyday I had the same conversation with the reception staff who told me it was becuase I was keeping the card by my mobile phone......everyday I had the same response - but I havent got my mobile phone with me on this trip ??!!??............tiresome!
The hotel is located at the end of a half built housing estate (no really it is!) and as mentioned is way out of the Marina area.........I always book hotels that are slightly out of the main resort as we like a quiet spot but there was nothing attractive about this area.
The hotel is situated on a part of the beach where there is the biggest waste pipe I have ever seen - not pleasant : (
OK positives!.............
The marina area is nice and the old Fish Market is still there so make the effort to see a little of the original Agidir.
We were brave and hired a car! I know! I am so glad we did as we could get out of the chaos of the hotel and explore. The driving is not for the faint hearted I agree but we survived the week with out any scapes or accidents.
Drove to the National Park and saw the wonderful Flamingos - amazing
Drove to Mirelift Bach - a long drive down to the south but great diversity of scenery on the way
Drove to Taroudant - the real Morocco - not many tourists go here for sure!
The Moroccan people were just wonderful and so too was their lovely food & coffee - yum!
I really enjoyed the Country and would definitley go back to this area again - just not this hotel.
If you want any tips on Car Hire then give me a shout - more than happy to help.

Room Tip: Very few of the rooms have balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Neatn0gs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

The hotel was very traditional, the staff were lovely, all very polite and nothing was too much trouble.
Breakfasts were excellent and catered for all nationalities and tastes.
The rooms were adequate, bed large and extremely comfortable. The towels were changed at each visit and the bed was adorned each night with lovely rose petals and a decoration either made from towels or the bed cover-a lovely touch!
There were plenty of available sun beds, the heated pool was good.
Overall although the hotel was not modern We enjoyed the traditional touches and would recommend the Sofitel Royal Bay to others

Room Tip: If you want a pool or sea view you would pay extra but we spent the time in our room changing or asl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trish H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emmen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
103 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

I stayed at Sofitel Marrakech and travelled back and forth to Agadir on a few occasions, always spending a night at Sofitel Agadir. The rooms here are spacious enough, bathrooms perfectly fine and in good condition. Downside is (normal) rooms have no balcony.
Restaurant is fine, although there I have to say I preferred the breakfast selection in Sofitel Marrakech. Lunch at the asian restaurant was quite good.
This hotel is a great spot for vacationing, the pool looked so inviting, I just never could enjoy it. Checkin and checkout was very friendly and swift, I never encountered any issues on my quite many arrivals and departures.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philipp_J1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

A week stay in this hotel with following notes:
- Housekeeper Kabira - extra excellent service and attitude
- Spa-services and staff - excellent
- Concierce - excellent
- Restaurant - breakfast shared together with birds eating the same bread, awful.
- Generally the food was good, but the room service food was delivered cold several times.

The hotel had booked all the outside yard, with view to the beach -restaurant premises for a one privat business group, when for 2 days "we others" could not use the yard restaurant but use only the room service by the pool side or choose restaurants inside.

This was only informed when trying to eat in the restaurant... This is not the level you expect to get when paying extrafee for 4 people and 2x2 rooms for garden side staying...

Still, for the few extra nice people and the general atmosphere, the view and location general rate for 4.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingFinn8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agadir hotels
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa
1.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir
0.8 mi away
Atlantic Palace Agadir
Atlantic Palace Agadir
#31 of 77 in Agadir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Tikida Golf Palace
Tikida Golf Palace
#1 of 77 in Agadir
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Timoulay & Spa Agadir
0.4 mi away
Robinson Club Agadir
Robinson Club Agadir
#2 of 77 in Agadir
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort

Property: Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort
Address: | BP 226 Cite Founty P4Baie des Palmiers, Agadir 80007, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Agadir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Agadir
#7 Spa Hotel in Agadir
#7 Luxury Hotel in Agadir
#8 Family Hotel in Agadir
#9 Romantic Hotel in Agadir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right along the ocean's sandy beach, in the lush Palm Bay, Sofitel Agadir is a genuine treasure, an oasis of peace and luxury just 10 minutes from downtown and 25 km from the international airport. This spectacular 5-star hotel combines refined, contemporary elements with exotic Kasbah-style architecture. The wrought iron accents compliment the colorful fabrics and elegant fountains throughout. Year-round sun and impeccable service add to the pleasures of water sports, golf and tennis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Hotel Agadir
Agadir Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing