We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try the hotel for yourself”
Review of Palais des Roses

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Palais des Roses
Ranked #18 of 77 Hotels in Agadir
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Try the hotel for yourself”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We booked a package holiday via BA holidays, without doing a great deal of homework.

After reading the reviews, we were expecting a poor hotel experience. But this was very much not the case.

We found the grounds to be utterly immaculate; every member of staff without exception was so friendly and accommodating, yes the buildings are starting to get a little tired, but Morocco is shabby chic and this is why we all go there !!

I suggest you read all the reviews and if you get a good value holiday give it a try !

Happy safe travelling.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool at level 1 or above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank philip_holmes_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRIAAgadir, Manager at Palais des Roses, responded to this review, 12 September 2015
thank you for your review

hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

943 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    314
    226
    138
    117
    148
See reviews for
284
260
62
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Queanbeyan, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

I wish I had more positive things to say about this hotel. The beach side location is wonderful, but the rooms could use a bit of love. There were some cracks in the plasterwork in my room. My understanding is that this hotel isn't very old, so it's disappointing to see that it doesn't appear to be very well looked after.

The breakfast buffet was very nice, with many options. Unfortunately, wifi in the rooms was unreliable, so you have to go sit in the lobby if you want to go online. It's not a major hassle to do that, and the pay-off is that you have a view to the promenade and beach.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicole R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRIAAgadir, Director of Sales at Palais des Roses, responded to this review, 25 May 2016
thank you for your words

hope you have the possibility to visit us again to see all the improvements in the hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

On arrival at this hotel in May/Jun 2012 (not May 2013) we were greeted by a grand view to the entrance of the hotel. Walking inside we weren't at all disappointed as it looked just as good as the pics we saw online. Walking through the hotel to other end and onto the balcony, the view was astounding, overlooking the hotel pool below to the beach and ocean opposite, it was simply amazing!
The welcome was lovely, we were offered some Moroccan tea and water before checking in and being shown to our room. As we made our way to the room, suddenly the lush carpeted rugs and surroundings disappeared and we walked along stone floors bare paint stripped walls to a room that was definitely not 5*!
The room itself had an amazing sized bed and balcony facing the pool below and sea but lacked cosiness. The floors were tiled and felt dusty as you walked on them with bare feet. The bathroom was the same and did not feel clean. It was as though the room hadn't been refurbished in a few years and was in need of a serious uplift. We were assured however, that the room was one of the best and were shown other rooms to prove it!! Nonetheless, it was fine and we adjusted pretty quickly.
We'd taken our son along on this holiday, who was just a year and half old at the time, so we quickly found ourselves in need of hot water to dip his milk bottle into to warm his milk. That's when it started... the start of what was to become the worst service we've ever received in a long time! It took over an hour with more than 5 calls of chasing reception before someone turned up with a "teapot" of luke warm water. Trying to explain that to a the non-english speaking waiter was futile... so... back to the phone calls to reception. Along with other requests from reception, they were sometimes not so bad and the rest of the time, pretty damn bad.
Being vegetarian, my wife actually called the hotel before we left and enquired about vegetarian meals. She spoke to a chef who spoke good English and assured her that we would have no problem... yeah right! We soon discovered that Moroccans do not class anything that's not red meat as meat! When we complained, the head waiter said, and I quote "It's not meat sir, it's chicken"! Seriously?! To continue with the theme of food, I like my breakfast, whether it be english, european, eastern or western. The european or english breakfast contained no beans, no mushroom....etc. When we asked, they said no problem and served us a plate of white broad beans in a funky tomato tagine style sauce! Oh well... Expect to be laughed if you're a veggie and unable to eat nothing other than the vegetables in their tagine!
Food aside, my wife headed down to the spa and massage parlour but no one was there. She inquired at reception and someone walked her back to find a few moody women sitting around having a fag and chatting. One of them was summoned to show us the facilities - she grudgingly took us round half raising her arm like it was being weighed down to each section as if to say 'here it is, take a look'. The facilities everywhere were in a shoddy state to say the least and we decided against them.
We then walked down the beach front and had a look at some other hotels and facilities (3 and 4* I might add) only to find that we'd definitely been screwed over! We found ourselves visiting the other hotels during the day and coming back to sleep as it was too late and too costly to change or move elsewhere.
We managed to make the best of it but it would've been so much better if we'd picked a more touristy hotel rather than going for the traditional local feel, which is what we tried to do (I'm a follower of the saying 'when in rome...').
Agadir is a tourist state with locals from Marrakesh and other areas of Morocco coming across for months at a time purely for work. The locals don't quite cut it it the stakes of service so if you fancy a comfortable break, stick to the heavily tourist laden areas - an english 3* hotel is ten times better than a local 5*!

Room Tip: If you're going to stay here, try and find a room on the ground floor for easy access to the poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nishchalpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRIAAgadir, Director of Sales at Palais des Roses, responded to this review, 25 May 2016
thank you for your words

hope you have the possibility to visit us again to see all the improvements in the hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Agadir hotels

Level 6 Contributor
1,826 reviews
198 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 748 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

I think this hotel was 'the' place to stay in it's day? Sadly the Sofitel and Riu have taken over I. Terms of 5 star hotels. This hotel am no longer be categorised as 5 star except for its roses!!! Reception are and lounge are lovely and be- decked in any rows which look and smell lovely!!! However hotel is now very tired outside if immediate lounge area and a refurb is overdue- in bedrooms particularly. Grounds and swimming pools are fab but not many guests evident at time of my stay. At ''quiet' end of beach - not all restaurants were open and amazingly an alcohol free zone!!- only hotel I have ever experienced in morocco that doesn't serve wine with meal?? By that alone, it cannot be five star in a modern , international resort ?! Oasis restaurant overlooking beach is a great place for lunch but service is rather slooooooooooow!!!

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulsmithcasty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRIAAgadir, Public Relations Manager at Palais des Roses, responded to this review, 25 May 2016
thank you for your words

hope you have the possibility to visit us again to see all the improvements in the hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

bad and unfriendly staff .very bad service and need to refurbish the hotel lot offff ant on the batroom aircon not working. towel are stinky. its just 2 star hotel.
in the end they will charge you tax for nothing .avoiddddddddd

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jhon w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRIAAgadir, Manager at Palais des Roses, responded to this review, 2 August 2016
thank you for the review

hope to see you again so you have a new of the advancement we did

best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

The hotel itself is very beautiful. We stayed here after getting transferred from a hotel gone wrong and were so grateful to finally see staff who understood the concept of customer service.
The pools are voluminous and you do not have to worry about crowding or being packed like sardines on pool loungers.
I agree with some people that it does not necessarily constitute as a five star (especially when you consider breakfast is just yoghurt, pancake, rolls and cereals - no fruit) however it is certainly relaxing and everything is close by.

The main concern for potential travellers is this - because it is breakfast only, you will definitely struggle with the food situation. We went to the Oasis bar daily for lunch (it has fair prices, but not a great choice or any Moroccan cuisine) yet we were often sneaking out to restaurants or sneaking back food covertly as it is frowned upon by the hotel to purchase bottles of water, coke, or salads from outside the hotel *I am unsure why*

Only hiccup we had was check out, we purposely went a few days early to settle our room tab however when we tried to check out we were held back and charged further, we couldnt be bothered to argue and were in a rush so we just settled it. Also, landings are VERY loud at night and I was often woken up at 2 am or 3 am by inconsiderate guests howling.

Anyway, the fitness centre is great, the spa looks nice *didn't use it but still seemed peaceful* the room was comfy and we had very little stress.

Room Tip: Select one on the top floor so that you don't hear footsteps in the night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SunSeeker26_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRIAAgadir, Manager at Palais des Roses, responded to this review, 12 September 2015
thank you for your review

hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omsk, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed there over one night on the way to Marakesh. The service was quite slow and relaxed. It took the 30 min. To give us the room. The hotel is awfully shabby, it badly needs renovation. The territory is big and quite well-kept. The restaurant is surely not a 5 star, no variety of dishes and moreover you have to hunt for food, because there are more people than food there, waiters are impossible to get, they're always rushing by. But it looks they don't care, it's just for a night and they don't need any reputation.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Elena A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRIAAgadir, Manager at Palais des Roses, responded to this review, 2 August 2016
thank you for the review

hope to see you again so you have check whats new
best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agadir hotels
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort
1.0 mi away
Hotel Agadir Beach Club
Hotel Agadir Beach Club
#25 of 77 in Agadir
871 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Atlantic Palace Agadir
Atlantic Palace Agadir
#31 of 77 in Agadir
942 reviews
3.3 mi away
Tikida Golf Palace
Tikida Golf Palace
#1 of 77 in Agadir
398 reviews
1.7 mi away
Royal Mirage Agadir Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palais des Roses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palais des Roses

Property: Palais des Roses
Address: Secteur Touristique et Balneaire, Cite Founty, Agadir 80000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Agadir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Agadir
#13 Spa Hotel in Agadir
#13 Luxury Hotel in Agadir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Palais des Roses 4*
Number of rooms: 404
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Agadir, this hotel has access to a private beach. It offers an outdoor pool with 3 lagoons and a wellbeing centre specialising in specific body and face treatments. Each air-conditioned room comes with balcony; all rooms have a view over the Atlantic Ocean, the garden or the pool. They are equipped with cable TV, and a private marbled bathroom. Palais Des Roses Hotel & Thalasso has 4 restaurants, which serves Mediterranean, Moroccan and international cuisine. It also offers a bar that serves snack and soft drinks. Palais Des Roses features 5 different shops including traditional clothes and Moroccan spices. Also available are a children's playground, volleyball area and tennis courts. Free parking is provided. It has close access to motorways N1, N8 and N10. It is a 30-minute drive from Al Massira Airport, and an airport shuttle is available to take guests to and from the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Southall Travel, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Palais des Roses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palais Des Roses Hotel Agadir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing