We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel, not the best”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Palais des Roses

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Palais des Roses
Ranked #27 of 77 Hotels in Agadir
Oslo
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good hotel, not the best”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

The hotel sells itself solely upon location to beach, and the spa facility. Hotel had massive spa with hamam and several massage rooms. And a big swimming pool/hot tub mix with bubbles with sea water (very salty indeed). The beach was on 2 minutes walk from hotel reception.

Hotel is buld in U shape with swimming pool faciliy in between the sides, we spent a day around swimming pool in the sun, it was great. How ever at night, we had rooms facing swimming pool area where they had a pond with some ducks. At night you could hear frogs sing all night and the first night we could not sleep. The balcony door (balcony facing pool side) did not have a very sound proof door. The cooling in the room was not sufficient so we had to open the door or feel sufficated due to closed air.

Hotel room standard was average, The room appeared clean but there were small ants crawling around the room, so for a tip, if you order food as room service, have it removed asap otherwise it will attract more ants during night. When booked we thought Wifi faciliy would be in the rooms but it was limited to reception area. No wifi in rooms. The TV channels had a variety of channels but no paid TV. The TV picture quality was not good, but on the other hand we did not go to Agadir to sit in the room to watch TV.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ajalil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palace_manager2014, Manager at Palais des Roses, responded to this review, 24 April 2015
we are slowly working to be the best again

hopefully the best of the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    208
    126
    108
    129
See reviews for
229
227
58
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tallinn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

After a couple days away from the hotel several pieces of clothing and also stuff from the bathroom had gone missing. Everybody- cleaners, administrators said that when they entered the room, it was already empty- pretty pointless to discuss. My mistake, that I didnt left more stuff in the room- someone probably thought that I'd checked out. Fortunately my passport was still in the safe. Rooms and hallways need renovation, no alcohol in the hotel and pretty tastless cousine. Folks are friendly though and overall service ok!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alakahil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRIAAgadir, Manager at Palais des Roses, responded to this review, 25 May 2016
thank you for your words

sorry for the accident you might have had, we are sure there is a misunderstanding we have a very good security system to make sure such things does not happen


hope you have the possibility to visit us again to see all the improvements in the hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Agadir hotels

Chatham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

I was quite anxious about my stay given some of the negative reviews but my experience at the hotel was very comfortable. The staff were all very friendly and were able to assist us with most things despite that we did not speak any french.
The room was cleaned daily to a good standard. Some of the decor is dated and could use some updating.
The frogs/toads in the water feature were rather audible in the night but then again so were the crickets.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bessie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRIAAgadir, Manager at Palais des Roses, responded to this review, 12 September 2015
thank you for your review

hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

this was probably the worst hotel i have stayed in my life the hotel looks like its about to collapse , the staff in reception are really rude and unfriendly. we booked 2 rooms with a sea view and on arrival we were given the worst rooms but after "tipping" the reception staff we were given a decent room..

during day and night the hotel is really boring, there is nothing going on compared with the neighbouring hotels that we visited out of interest who were having parties , performance etc. while this hotel was dead we were not offered any information about local attractions or activities which made the stay really boring even the hotels4u representative was never seen near the hotel! (do not book with hotels4u they are a disaster )

the breakfast at the hotel is exactly the same food from the day before rotten cheese hard bread etc , there was no variety at all and we were getting sick of the food by the 4th day!

we borrowed an electricity plug then the next day they came knocking on the room asking for it back as another customer needed it!!!!!

for most of my 7 day stay with my family we stayed in the room with a broken tv that they refused to fix as the electrician wasn't available till the february !!!

WARINGIN: at the end of our stay were told to pay 200 pound in local tax!! we were not told about this on arrival or by hotels4u therefore we had a big argument with the reception staff who were very rude and they threatened to call the police if we didn't pay!!!

overall i think this hotel made this trip worse for me , agadir is generally not a very exciting place to visit there isn't many attraction everything there is really expensive many of the locals were really rude and they just wanted to suck money out of you in any way possible.

i strongly recommend that you never stay at this hotel because even if it is cheap you will have the worst holiday in your life!!

Room Tip: simple never step inside this crap hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank zuluc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRIAAgadir, Manager at Palais des Roses, responded to this review, 25 May 2016
thank you for your words

hope you have the possibility to visit us again to see all the improvements in the hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

We booked a package holiday via BA holidays, without doing a great deal of homework.

After reading the reviews, we were expecting a poor hotel experience. But this was very much not the case.

We found the grounds to be utterly immaculate; every member of staff without exception was so friendly and accommodating, yes the buildings are starting to get a little tired, but Morocco is shabby chic and this is why we all go there !!

I suggest you read all the reviews and if you get a good value holiday give it a try !

Happy safe travelling.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool at level 1 or above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank philip_holmes_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRIAAgadir, Manager at Palais des Roses, responded to this review, 12 September 2015
thank you for your review

hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queanbeyan, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

I wish I had more positive things to say about this hotel. The beach side location is wonderful, but the rooms could use a bit of love. There were some cracks in the plasterwork in my room. My understanding is that this hotel isn't very old, so it's disappointing to see that it doesn't appear to be very well looked after.

The breakfast buffet was very nice, with many options. Unfortunately, wifi in the rooms was unreliable, so you have to go sit in the lobby if you want to go online. It's not a major hassle to do that, and the pay-off is that you have a view to the promenade and beach.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicole R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRIAAgadir, Director of Sales at Palais des Roses, responded to this review, 25 May 2016
thank you for your words

hope you have the possibility to visit us again to see all the improvements in the hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

On arrival at this hotel in May/Jun 2012 (not May 2013) we were greeted by a grand view to the entrance of the hotel. Walking inside we weren't at all disappointed as it looked just as good as the pics we saw online. Walking through the hotel to other end and onto the balcony, the view was astounding, overlooking the hotel pool below to the beach and ocean opposite, it was simply amazing!
The welcome was lovely, we were offered some Moroccan tea and water before checking in and being shown to our room. As we made our way to the room, suddenly the lush carpeted rugs and surroundings disappeared and we walked along stone floors bare paint stripped walls to a room that was definitely not 5*!
The room itself had an amazing sized bed and balcony facing the pool below and sea but lacked cosiness. The floors were tiled and felt dusty as you walked on them with bare feet. The bathroom was the same and did not feel clean. It was as though the room hadn't been refurbished in a few years and was in need of a serious uplift. We were assured however, that the room was one of the best and were shown other rooms to prove it!! Nonetheless, it was fine and we adjusted pretty quickly.
We'd taken our son along on this holiday, who was just a year and half old at the time, so we quickly found ourselves in need of hot water to dip his milk bottle into to warm his milk. That's when it started... the start of what was to become the worst service we've ever received in a long time! It took over an hour with more than 5 calls of chasing reception before someone turned up with a "teapot" of luke warm water. Trying to explain that to a the non-english speaking waiter was futile... so... back to the phone calls to reception. Along with other requests from reception, they were sometimes not so bad and the rest of the time, pretty damn bad.
Being vegetarian, my wife actually called the hotel before we left and enquired about vegetarian meals. She spoke to a chef who spoke good English and assured her that we would have no problem... yeah right! We soon discovered that Moroccans do not class anything that's not red meat as meat! When we complained, the head waiter said, and I quote "It's not meat sir, it's chicken"! Seriously?! To continue with the theme of food, I like my breakfast, whether it be english, european, eastern or western. The european or english breakfast contained no beans, no mushroom....etc. When we asked, they said no problem and served us a plate of white broad beans in a funky tomato tagine style sauce! Oh well... Expect to be laughed if you're a veggie and unable to eat nothing other than the vegetables in their tagine!
Food aside, my wife headed down to the spa and massage parlour but no one was there. She inquired at reception and someone walked her back to find a few moody women sitting around having a fag and chatting. One of them was summoned to show us the facilities - she grudgingly took us round half raising her arm like it was being weighed down to each section as if to say 'here it is, take a look'. The facilities everywhere were in a shoddy state to say the least and we decided against them.
We then walked down the beach front and had a look at some other hotels and facilities (3 and 4* I might add) only to find that we'd definitely been screwed over! We found ourselves visiting the other hotels during the day and coming back to sleep as it was too late and too costly to change or move elsewhere.
We managed to make the best of it but it would've been so much better if we'd picked a more touristy hotel rather than going for the traditional local feel, which is what we tried to do (I'm a follower of the saying 'when in rome...').
Agadir is a tourist state with locals from Marrakesh and other areas of Morocco coming across for months at a time purely for work. The locals don't quite cut it it the stakes of service so if you fancy a comfortable break, stick to the heavily tourist laden areas - an english 3* hotel is ten times better than a local 5*!

Room Tip: If you're going to stay here, try and find a room on the ground floor for easy access to the poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nishchalpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRIAAgadir, Director of Sales at Palais des Roses, responded to this review, 25 May 2016
thank you for your words

hope you have the possibility to visit us again to see all the improvements in the hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agadir hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Agadir Beach Club
Hotel Agadir Beach Club
#26 of 77 in Agadir
3.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort
1.7 mi away
Royal Mirage Agadir Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Atlantic Palace Agadir
Atlantic Palace Agadir
#29 of 77 in Agadir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Timoulay & Spa Agadir
0.6 mi away
Atlas Amadil Beach Aqua Sun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palais des Roses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palais des Roses

Property: Palais des Roses
Address: Secteur Touristique et Balneaire, Cite Founty, Agadir 80000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Agadir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Agadir
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Agadir
#18 Luxury Hotel in Agadir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Palais des Roses 4*
Number of rooms: 404
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Agadir, this hotel has access to a private beach. It offers an outdoor pool with 3 lagoons and a wellbeing centre specialising in specific body and face treatments. Each air-conditioned room comes with balcony; all rooms have a view over the Atlantic Ocean, the garden or the pool. They are equipped with cable TV, and a private marbled bathroom. Palais Des Roses Hotel & Thalasso has 4 restaurants, which serves Mediterranean, Moroccan and international cuisine. It also offers a bar that serves snack and soft drinks. Palais Des Roses features 5 different shops including traditional clothes and Moroccan spices. Also available are a children's playground, volleyball area and tennis courts. Free parking is provided. It has close access to motorways N1, N8 and N10. It is a 30-minute drive from Al Massira Airport, and an airport shuttle is available to take guests to and from the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotelopia, Expedia, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palais des Roses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palais Des Roses Hotel Agadir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing