We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, OK room”
Review of Hotel Le Tivoli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Le Tivoli
Ranked #69 of 78 Hotels in Agadir
Reviewed 14 October 2010

We stayed 4 nights in Le Tivoli at the end of our Morocco tour. The hotel is located in the tourist area just short of 10 minutes walk from the beach. It also has its own pool in case that's more appealing. You can tell that the hotel used to be more high end but due to lack of refurbishing it's now quite average. The beds were OK and the bathroom was clean though, and the balcony had a brilliant sea view of the Agadir beach. We didn't get any shampoo or shower gel, so come prepared for this. Also, the safe costs 25 dirham (~£2) to use (we did). Staff generally spoke English but when some were outright rude with a "not my problem" attitude, others were very friendly and helpful, so it's hit-and-miss when you contact the reception. Overall a good hotel in the average range in a good location.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Max186470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (924)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

330 - 336 of 924 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2010

I went to Agadir at the end of Sept. The weather was a comfortable 28c, so it was nice to sit by the pool at Le Tivoli without too many kids running around. The hotel is in a good location about 5 mins from the beach. There are lots of stairs in the hotel so not very good for people with walking disablities. The rooms are in good condition, but the bathroom was dated and needed an update. However, the rooms were cleaned everyday,but the towels were clean but not very new. The staff were helpful, except in reception where they are grumpy. The food was ok with a large selection of salads, moroccan cuisine and desserts. Not that much in terms of western food, so probably not good for kids or fussy eaters. Breakfast was ok with the usual continental stuff like eggs, croissants and cereal. Nothing hot.
All-in-all, a reasonable hotel. I paid £42 per night HB for 2 people in late Sept. I thought I got good value for money. I don't think you would get good value if you pay more than £60 per night. It is described as 4 star, but its really a 3 star at UK standards.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MHM47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2010

We booked this hotel based on the travel operator's 4 star rating. Unfortunately, this is not a 4 star hotel. The reception area may well have been recently refurbished but the rooms had not been (probably since the hotel was first opened). Our room had a small ant infestation and much of the bedding and furntiure was old. Our shower had a leak which soaked the floor each time it was used. Some of the bathroom accessories were broken and there was mold on the wall/shower curtain due to lack of ventilation.
We had to ask for toilet rolls on two occassions and also had to ask the chambermaids directly in order for our bed to be made and rooms to be cleaned.

Having said all of that, the service was pretty good. The junior staff being much more friendly that the managerial staff.

I did like Agadir and the local restuarants were very good. I am glad that we did not eat in the hotel as we had been told by other guests, staying on half board, that the food there was not good.

I no longer trust in the travel industry star rating guide so not sure what to do for future holidays.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunseekah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2010

We stayed at le tivoli for a week in july and had a lovely relaxing time. We had a large family
room and it was lovely decorated and very clean, the cleaners were in every day without fail. We were half board and enjoyed the food but it was very morrocan so the children weren't that keen. The hotel has a lovely pool area with seperate kids pool and plenty of sun loungers. The hotel bar is a bit pricey for drinks so we went to the supermarket opposite the hotel and bought tins of coke, water etc for through the day. The only down side to this hotel is lack of evening entertainment, after you have your evening meal there was nothing to do, there was on odd nights a magic show or snake charmer by the pool but there is no seperate entertainment room and as there is nothing to do when you go out into agadir except walk along the beach front .I only give the sleep quality 4 as we were next to the lift and a bell rang every time it opened and closed! A bit annoying at 5 in the morning! Overall we did enjoy this holiday as it was relaxing but i think if we were to go again we would choose an all inclusive hotel with entertainment, so its there if you wanted it

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teemey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2010

We stayed at Le Tivoli, Agadir in the first week of September 2010 with Thomas Cook.
You are required to fill out identity card with information from your passport and holiday at the Moroccan airport and when you arrive at the hotel, so be prepared with pens and things to lean on!
It is good to convert your currency at the airport as you will get the best deal, although the hotel will convert it for you at 13 Dirham's to the Pound.
We were directed to our room by the hotel staff and checked in very swiftly. There is a working lift in the hotel so carrying our own luggage was made easier. The rooms are bright and big with a great power shower. Our room did not have a hair dryer or fridge but rooms do vary. There is a small safe which is free to use. The beds are 2 twin's pushed together and are quite hard but you do get used to them. The balcony had a lovely sea view and the rooms were cleaned daily. There is a TV in the rooms but only has BBC Worldwide and Euro sport for English speaking viewers. This is when you realise that the hotel is more UK 3 star than 4 star. I guess that moving rooms is quite easily organised, but we didn't need to as we were so relived to be on holiday!
We booked half board with breakfast and dinner included. Breakfast is continental with free drinks (Orange Juice, Tea, Coffee, Mint Tea), lots of pastries, cheese and jam. Dinner is buffet style and themed each day, although each day was sort of just Moroccan. The selection of vegetarian food for us was great, there was salad, rice, lentils, cous cous, chickpeas, bread and plenty of dessert and melon for us to eat daily. (There was also many meat and fish dishes) It was the best food we ate in the whole 7 days we were in Morocco. It is great not to eat Chips or Pizza all the time. The waiters and head chef are amazing, very quick and entertaining people. They come from amazing backgrounds and are brilliantly trilingual. Please tip them as the work they do is brilliant, 5 or 10 dirham's is all they need. Drinks are not included at dinner time so you have to order them from the waiters.
You are not allowed to bring food into the hotel but we did, you can get a bottle of water for 6 Dirham's in the local shops, but it is 15 Dirham's in the hotel. Good to note this if you are on a budget.
The pool area was lovely and clean with lots of sun loungers and umbrellas. The pool was clean and big. We proffered the beach as it is more private and only a 5 minute walk away.
The restaurants near the hotel and along the beach are perfect for lunch, we ate a lot of pizza margherita! Stay away from the pasta dishes though, they should leave that to the Italians! We saw a lot of Europeans making their sandwiches for lunch and breakfast time which was not questioned by the staff if you would prefer a free lunch.
We stayed during Ramadan but were not affected by this at all. Moroccans mainly speak French or Moroccan Arabic but they had no problem understanding English. I would advise covering your shoulders and knees in public and in the souks to avoid being glared at, although they are too kind or polite to say anything to you.
We went on a day trip to a Marrakech via a private tour operator near the hotel, it was amazing but the guides were not great, might be best to book it through Thomas Cook for a good guide, but the prices are double. The souks in Marrakech are much better than the one in Agadir, but do check the weather before you go, we were there in 43 degrees heat!
There are lots of cats in Morocco, some are stray and some are pets, they are very cute to look at and are harmless. There are no mosquito's so luckily we could leave the balcony door open at night to be cooled by the sea breeze. There is not much mentionable entertainment at the hotel, but restaurants near the hotel show Sky Sports and other 5 star hotels have Night Clubs. Remember to tip your maid before you leave! You are not allowed to take many Dirham's back to England with you so might be good to offload your change before hand although the shopping at the airport is surprisingly good! You have to fill out the identity card on the way back in the airport too so remember your pens again.

Overall a lovely first trip to North Africa. I would recommend it for couples rather than families (Not much entertainment or things to do for kids) or groups of ladies or gentlemen (I didn't see any Larger Louts singing Aga DO Do Do)

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MLBTSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2010

Well where to start firstly we arrived at le tivoli with our luggage and had to wait 30 minutes until we were supposedly going to be shown out room but after 30 minutes we got a little restless and decided to try look for our room on our own proving the service is quite poor. The rooms are quite spacious with a balcony, television, small siting area, hair dryer, shower and bathroom. It also included a locker in the room but you have to pay money for it i cant remember the rates but i dont think it was too expensive. The pool area is quite nice and quiet with a resonably sized swimming pool with a snack bar (with a wide range of food and OK prices), small salon which is quite dear and i would not reccomend their services and a gym but none of the aparatus work at all. The main restaraunts food is not well catered for the english i think. In the morning there are a couple of pastries and eggs but the rest was for the french and german. At tea time there is quite a range of variety will delicious soups and deserts however on some days i did realise the food there was used the day before, not good. after a couple of days i found lots of ants in my room and after telling reception they said they would get the cleaner to get rid of them and they didnt so after seeing them again we moved rooms. I found the reception very rude to be honest maybe this was because they were not getting tips but still their service was very bad. The bar however in the hotel contained friendly staff who would do anything for you, the staff in the restaraunt were also very nice. The entertainment or shall i rephrase and say what entertainment! a young girl and man on the key board came in every night singing the exact same songs got very boring after a while so dont expect to be entertained when going to this hotel. The pool area often played games and aqau aerobics though and music was constantly played. HOWEVER DONT BE CONNED FROM THE BROCHURE THERE IS NO FREE TENNIS AS YOU HAVE TO PAY FOR IT WHICH WORKED OUT AT SOMETHING LIKE £7 PER HOUR WHICH IS UTTERLY RIDICULOUS AND IT ALSO SAYS HORSE RIDING WHICH IS AGAIN A LIE AS THE ONLY HORSE RIDING IS WHEN YOU BOOK A TRIP!!! a refrigerator was also not included and when inquiring there told us there were none. The hotel dont allow to bring food or drink in the hotel but we still did just make sure you hide them in a bag when taking them through the lobby. a shop is alo contained in the lobby but it is also quite dear and they do not sell drinks. Also when i was taking clothes out of the wardrobe on the last day i noticed small insects in the wardrobe however it was the last day of the holiday so i didnt complain but when packing i surely gave all my clothes a shake. Truthfully in my opinion based on my experience i wouldnt reccomend this holiday unless your a older couple not for families at all. There are bars and restaraunts and the beach very near but the resort is up and comming so there arnt many people really. I also went on holiday in ramadam which i dont reccomend as when eating in the evening the serivce was terible as they would stop to eat. Only a nice holiday for the trips i went on, particularly marakesh which i reccomend.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lujane95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2010

Just returned from a two week cruise to the Western Med on the Fred Olsen ship the Balmoral. Food fantastic, eat all day long if you want to. All the crew without exception, are kind courteous and cannot do enough for you.
Entertainment in all the lounges and the evening cabarets are top class, as good as any west end show.
One downside the photographer, very expensive, but that did not spoil and absolutely fantastic two weeks

Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Carrotblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agadir hotels
0.7 mi away
Anezi Tower Hotel
Anezi Tower Hotel
#38 of 78 in Agadir
561 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Agadir Beach Club
Hotel Agadir Beach Club
#29 of 78 in Agadir
896 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Club Al Moggar
Hotel Club Al Moggar
#45 of 78 in Agadir
981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Royal Mirage Agadir Hotel
0.7 mi away
Ryad Mogador Al Madina
Ryad Mogador Al Madina
#57 of 78 in Agadir
377 reviews
0.9 mi away
Palais des Roses
Palais des Roses
#19 of 78 in Agadir
990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Tivoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Tivoli

Address: Avenue 20 Aout | Secteur Touristique, Agadir 40055, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Agadir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#32 Spa Hotel in Agadir
#33 On the Beach Hotel in Agadir
Price Range: £33 - £393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Le Tivoli 3.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-storey Blue Sea Hotel Le Tivoli Agadir enjoys spectacular views of the surrounding area in Morocco, thanks to its position on a hilltop. Despite this luxurious seclusion, it is a mere 10-minute walk to the centre of Agadir, and 5 minutes to the spectacular beach, where visitors can immerse themselves in Moroccan culture and sunshine. The hotel even enjoys a private beach area where guests can relax in absolute comfort. The 280 guest rooms at Hotel Le Tivoli include 24 stunning suites and are all immaculately decorated in traditional Moroccan style. Every room is equipped with a king-sized bed and an en-suite bathroom, as well as complimentary toiletries to help residents relax in a little luxury. Furnished private balconies offer views of the hotel gardens, pool or ocean and fill the rooms with light. A sun terrace equipped with beds is available to guests wishing to lounge under a parasol in the warm days and there is a glistening swimming pool for cooling off or enjoying a relaxing swim. There is also a children's pool for plenty of aquatic fun. Activities at the hotel range from the ultimate in relaxation to those for fitness fanatics, with a full-service health spa offering a sauna, Hammam and a range of treatments. Hotel le Tivoli boasts a gym, as well as tennis, basketball and volleyball facilities. Please note: Tourist tax is not included; 1.80€ per person per night to be paid directly at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Le Tivoli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Tivoli Agadir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing