We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This had become a favorite of ours to stay regularly but after this experience we won't be returning.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ryad Mogador Al Madina
Ranked #58 of 77 Hotels in Agadir
Reviewed 29 April 2011

We stayed 2 nights in 2 different rooms. This was a romantic occasion, as opposed to us returning for business travel. They ruined our experience and I feel so cheated that the option of staying somewhere I once liked, is taken away from me. The first night the room was filthy dirty and we were woken up early in the morning by shouting and banging from the kitchen below. The balcony was filthy but the view good. The bath was filthy. It was agreed the night before (as we arrived at 9pm, unbooked) that we would move to another room the next day and that was arranged around 9am the following morning. At midday, check-out time, we moved to another room upstairs, which was spacious with two great decks. The decks and room were once again filthy. The bottom of the bath was rough wil spilt plaster and paint. We had twin beds and it was agreed they would be changed to a king before we moved into the room. That didn't happen. As I was sunbathing on the balcony most of the day, I had a do not disturb on the door. So we had to wait until we arrived home from dinner to find our bed pushed together. Got into bed for a romanic evening and found they had used 2 single sheets overlapping. Sort of like having your bed 'pancaked'. After complaining, they found sheets of another bed, which were wrinkled and replaced them. Had to endure a cold shower in the morning...no hot water. Soaps etc., had been downsized, so not adequate shower gel in each bottle for a full shower. Hole in the toilet wall, stuffed with toilet paper. No towels or soap provided in the second bathroom. Upon discussion with reception upon leaving, they blatantly lied to us over two matters and the customer was definitelywrong. We travel alot around Morocco and Mogador was one of our favourites, but we will be finding an apartment on the beach edge for cheaper from this point onwards. I also noted in reception a build up of thick dust on the coffee tables.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kimbennani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (368)
There are newer reviews for Ryad Mogador Al Madina
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 368 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2011

Initially, I was concerned by some of the negative comments made in this forum. None of them proved to be true of our experience. We checked in late on a Saturday night and were allocated a lovely, spacious room with beautiful lead lined windows and our own balcony. I will say that the road beneath us was a little noisy - but not unacceptable. The following morning we mentioned this to the receptionist who was apologetic and more than happy to move us to another excellent room. The pool attendant was even kind enough to bring loungers up so that we could relax in private. The food is also of a good standard - every night they try to vary the themes so it never really feels like you are eating in the same restaurant. The waiters are friendly: attentive but not intrusive. There is a gym (despite what some comments here say) and it contains all of the machines you would expect to find. We didn't need to use it as just a short walk takes you on to the extremely clean and well-maintained beach front. We ran almost every morning before the sun got too hot. This hotel seems to have much more character than the sprawling, impersonal ones that are much more expensive on the water front.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank addictedtotravelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2010

feels and looks Moroccan - but overall - no complaint on room or service - not like a standard hotel - lots of greenery/flowers to attract birds etc - different!

near to beach - but never knew who of the locals were being polite and friendly =OR those were the same but who were out to get money out of you
best to keep in well policed tourist area
OK for up to 4/5 days here - go for the sun - short on entertainment

ps
booked through hotelsvision - look at websites advising against bookingsfor this website-paid hb = got b & b - some have lost all their money!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jpandlp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2010

We booked to stay at the Kenzi Europa, upon our arrival there we were told by the manager they had over booked and we were eventually moved to this hotel. Initially we were disappointed as this hotel did not appear to be to the same standard as the Kenzi, which is 5-star (As per Moroccan standards) however, once we had settled into our room which certainly had a Moroccan feel, we were happy with our unexpected move. The pool area is very tranquil, surrounded by trees and flowers, with a view of the mountains, the staff were friendly and we were left alone, unlike previous comments we did not feel obliged to tip the staff, our rooms were cleaned daily and fresh towels supplied, I do agree with the comments regarding the baths looking shabby, and also the beds were a little on the firm side for our liking. We booked half board and was able to eat our evening meal at the Kenzi (Staff at the Riad openly admitted that the food at the Kenzi was better), however we ate breakfast here and wasn't disappointed as the seating area inside and outside is quite exceptional and offered a choice of continental style breakfasts and freshly cooked crepes. This hotel was also used by Moroccan's, and despite the cultural differences, such as many of the females remaining clothed around the pool, there were issues.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SandS_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2010

Overall, this is being rated as an average hotel due to the lack of a full lift system i.e. only the first two floors have lifts and the lack of attention to cleaning in the hotel rooms i.e. the sheets and towels are changed but the floor is not swept or wiped and the bath and toilet are not cleaned for the duration of the stay.

If the hotel take care of the items above I would rate it above average.

Postives
--------
Friendly and helpful staff.
Clean childrens pool and adults pool.
Good variety of food in restaurant, especially the desserts in the evening.
Near the beach, shops and restaurants.
Lots of facilities i.e. kids club, 2 pools, table tennis etc.
Value for money.

Negatives
--------------
Room cleaning is not thorough.
Lack of full lift system in hotel.
Expensive drinks.
Some staff constantly asking for tips when providing an already paid for service! However, this tends to be a feature in Morocco i.e. at the airport etc.

I would visit Morocco again but probably would not stay at this hotel again.

Things to do
-----------------
1. Go to Actors Night club for the music, sheesha and cocktails in the bar/cafe area.
2. Check out Chicken Dips and Pizza Hut for good quality fast food.
3. Grab bargains at Souk el had in Agadir and Souk talat in Inezgane. Remember to haggle!
4. Go camel riding. You have a 1 hour or two hour option.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chipstar007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2010

I stayed at this hotel in early June and was pleasantly surprised when i walked into the lobby - it looks grand and is very spacious and airy - how different the remainder of the stay was! Reception staff checked us in quickly and we were shown to our room and told how to work the safe.
We arrived around 9pm and managed to make evening meal as we were booked in for half board - it is buffet style and it does get boring with fish and turkey being served 5 out of 7 days, on the other two days it was chicken and oxtail. Desserts however were varied daily. Breakfast was incredibly boring and of a low standard sloppy scrambled eggs, tomatoes, bread, salad and Moroccan pancakes - very carb heavy way to start the day. Orange juice and tea and coffee are included in the morning but in the evening yo have to buy drinks which are very heavily priced compared with shops and restaurants on the beach and outside the hotel. We noticed that certain people were getting different food for breakfast and found out it was because they were giving the waiters additional money when we enquired about this we were told they not available. It was extremely evident that the whole staff in the hotel respond to money left in their hands or on the pillow; we booked a double room but told that double meant two beds after leaving ten dirhams on the bed we came back to clean sheets and the beds made as one - this was necessary for clean sheets and improved towels. At the pool they have mattresses for the loungers but again ten dirhams must be given to receive them and in the restaurant to get a nice table overlooking the sea again a tip would be required first.
We were also hassled in the hotel by waiters who wanted to take you to the sites and you pay for fuel - not what you expect inside the hotel and unnecessary.
Bathroom was shabby and not as expected with bath being particularly disgusting.
On our fifth out of seventh night we discovered cockroaches in our room - we immediately contacted reception who were happy to shrug us off, we became quite demanding and said the hotel was quiet you must have additional rooms we were told if they are in our room the other rooms are not as nice so would have them - we went to look at this room and it had hundreds of ants, spiders and cockroaches in it. We went back to reception and were told to sleep in reception - this is not what i expected from a supposed 4* hotel!!! We decided to leave and move to another hotel as we were bemused at the lack of service and help the staff wanted to give us. We moved to the Amadil beach hotel which was a 4* hotel, (see separate review).
Overall i would rate this hotel as 2/3* star at best, you have to pay for service and share the rooms with uninvited guests! It is in a good location close to the beach and the main area but i would not recommend or return. See pictures for what it is actually like!!!
Fitness centre is chargeable at around £6 a day

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Love2travelalways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2010

We stayed here for four nights in June, the first three were booked through an agency (£135 for 3 nights HB) and the last we extended directly through the hotel, for £60 B&B. Our intention was to have a few days of rest before doing a tour of Morocco, and this hotel was perfect for that. We were quite fortunate that the hotel was quite quiet for most of our stay. Really nice looking hotel, white buildings, low level (I think 3 or 4 floors at most) lots of flowers and trees. Pool area was well maintained with a small and large pool, towels provided and the pool attendant/ lifeguard was friendly, chatting with those who wished but giving you space if you didnt. Waiters and porters were lovely, speaking at least Arabic/ French/ English and German between them. They were kind enough to try and teach us a few words of Arabic when we asked. Food was buffet style and perfectly adequate, although it might get dull if you were to stay for a week. You could sit indoors or outdoors. Evening desserts and morning pastries were lovely. The location was great for us as we didnt have a burning desire to go to the beach (about 5-10mins walk) and it was nice and quiet. One couple had a young baby and as per all Moroccans the waiters adored children, entertaining him so the parents could eat. We would be really happy to stay in this hotel again in the future. Don't get too carried away by the 4/5star rating as it is not comparable to European standards. Perfect hotel for a quiet stay with good facilities and friendly staff. Good value if you book via an external webpage.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clemnise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agadir hotels
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Odyssee Park Hotel
0.6 mi away
Tildi Hotel & SPA
Tildi Hotel & SPA
#12 of 77 in Agadir
593 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Club Al Moggar
Hotel Club Al Moggar
#45 of 77 in Agadir
964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Agadir Beach Club
Hotel Agadir Beach Club
#27 of 77 in Agadir
881 reviews
1.5 mi away
Palais des Roses
Palais des Roses
#18 of 77 in Agadir
979 reviews
0.3 mi away
Argana Hotel
Argana Hotel
#22 of 77 in Agadir
1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ryad Mogador Al Madina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryad Mogador Al Madina

Address: Blvd du 20 Aout, secteur Balneaire, Agadir 80000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Agadir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Agadir
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Agadir
Price Range: £31 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ryad Mogador Al Madina 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set just 150 metres from the sandy beaches in Agadir, this hotel offers an outdoor swimming pool and a spa with sauna and hammam. It offers air-conditioned rooms with a balcony. Satellite TV and a fridge are standard facilities in each guest room. Guest rooms feature a traditional Moroccan decor. The private bathrooms include a hairdryer and amenities. Traditional Moroccan cuisine is served in the buffet restaurant at Ryad Mogador Al Madina. Breakfast is provided every morning and guests can enjoy afternoon tea in the tea room. Leisure facilities include table tennis and guests have access to the fitness centre at hotel Mogador Al Madina. Free Wi-Fi is available in public areas and there is a gift shop on site. The centre of Agadir is 1 km away. Agadir International Airport is 24 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ryad Mogador Al Madina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lti Al Madina Palace Agadir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing