We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A disappointing stay!”
Review of Kenzi Europa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kenzi Europa
Ranked #13 of 77 Hotels in Agadir
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A disappointing stay!”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

My partner and I stayed here in the last week of July and first week of August- I'm not usually one to leave reviews as I believe everyone has very different perceptions, however I now wish I hadn't ignored the bad reviews as they are absolutely spot on.
We booked this holiday a month before our stay and were horrified to find out we paid the same price as others that were staying in a much much nicer hotel just down the road.
The hotel is terrible value for money- the food is awful, making me Ill for the majority of the holiday and the all inclusive drink choice was very basic, with the cocktails being a mix of orange juice and grenadine and a bit of alcohol- not even a little umbrella in site!!! There was a BBQ choice of meat offered at lunch times which initially cheered us up however soon realised the meat was undercooked to the point of raw most times.
The staff at the hotel were incredibly rude, ignoring me most times I went to the bar and despite trying to be overtly polite, always saying please and thank you, I rarely got a smile. Be prepared to set your own table in the restaurant and for your food and drinks to be taken before you've even finished with them!
The entertainment at the hotel is geared completely for French tourists and guests and with the only space for the evening shows being in the hotel reception there is no where to escape and just sit comfortably and have a few questionable cocktails!!
The room was lovely, very clean and the maid was always very smiley which was the only real good point.
Otherwise similarly in the surrounding town, the restaurants were very basic, with most of the menus only being available in French. We were also pretty horrified to come across a McDonald's and Pizza Hut as the main attractions on the promenade. I felt the people were fairly rude outside the hotel also and as a women did feel uncomfortable
on the beach in a bakinni at times. So perhaps this isn't the destination for a laid back holiday destination.
Very disappointing overall and really disappointed in Thompson as I feel their review and synopsis of the hotel and destination is completely misleading for their loyal customers.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Fiholly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    461
    409
    174
    56
    55
See reviews for
440
339
70
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The service was swift and friendly. They all spoke reasonable English, although they were delighted when we spoke to them in French (our Arabic was not up to scratch!). Lovely grounds, kids loved the slides although they say they would have liked them bigger! The pool staff were excellent and very friendly. Loads to keep the kids occupied, including a pet tortoise wandering the grounds! The kids club was good and flexible, enabled my husband and I to go out for a few hours at the Haman. The food was good possibly a little generic and repetitive, having said that , i reckon we all came back a good few pounds heavier than when we arrived! Would recommend the Thomson trip to Taroundant and the camel riding. Overall, a fantastic holiday.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vick882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

As soon as we arrived at the hotel all you could smell is fish very unpleasant rooms good size . corridors a bit dingy could do with a fresh lick of paint ,food very disappointing, staff in restaurant Very rude where clearing your plates before you had finished your last mouthful, _ one small bar , animation team announced everything in French and German so if like me your not fluent in that language your stuffed , would go back to agadir but not this hotel .

Room Tip: 2635 had pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liz r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Reasonable stay great for beach not good I thought for food choices for the size of the hotel only one small bar inadequate at times far too relaxed in restaurant many occasions an hour after opening had to make requests for glasses for juice bowls for cereals both very rarely available even when very few people in good points great for families with pool slides and infant pool reasonable entertainment though mostly for the young entertainment took over the reception area in the evenings with nowhere else to use so hence at times a very overcrowded bar area staff in the main very conversant in English rooms reasonably clean though if you had a room above ground floor had very in -frequent use of the lift regularly breaking down never a scramble for sunbeds the pool guys were super as were most of animation staff for what I paid could not really complain would visit morocco again as in the main friendly people odd bits of hassle from shop sellers bury not as bad as other countries but would not use this hotel

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

To begin with, as soon as we stepped out of the taxi there was an intense smell of fish, which if you’re like me and absolutely hate fish, wasn’t very pleasant. However, you’ll get use to the smell by the next day; it was not an issue at all (It’s just a warning for those who hate fish!).

Check in went OK although it did take quite a while for them to sort us out. Our bags were taken to the rooms ahead of us. The staff at reception were pleasant enough. They gave us connecting rooms which was really convenient! We didn’t get any information regarding what times the restaurant was open, facilities, entertainment etc. and when we called reception to ask they hung up on us which was very annoying.

We arrived quite late on the first night but we were able to make dinner. There wasn’t much choice left which was to be expected. However, one of my friends found a price label in her food which was quite off putting for all of us so we ended up taking a walk and going to Mc Donald’s instead! (Not a great start!)

The rooms were standard, the beds were comfortable. Unfortunately our balcony only had a view of the road as we were at the side of the hotel. We had twin rooms, but the beds were single beds which weren’t a big problem, we were only there for a week. The rooms were very clean and a cleaner came almost every day to change towels and clean etc.

We spent most of the time during the day by the pool. The entertainment was OK but it got a bit repetitive. You have to pay a refundable deposit for the beach towels which you get back when you check out. Make sure you put your towels on the sunbeds quite early in the morning as they get taken really quickly. There are staff by the pool so if you don’t manage to grab a bed they will get one out for you (if they have any left) and place it wherever you want. I have to say the poolside staff were extremely helpful and friendly, nothing was too much for them. They also have some water slides which were fun. The adults seemed to enjoy it just as much as the kids!

The food seemed to get better as the week went on. There was a good variety which seemed to cater for everyone. They also do pancakes between lunch and dinner which was really nice. A lot of the nights we ate out at the Japanese restaurant next door to the hotel (definitely recommend going there). There’s also a Mc Donald’s and Pizza Hut (best I’ve ever had) on the promenade.

The hotel has their own section of the beach which is about a 5min walk from the hotel. However, we only ended up going there once because it was really windy and the sand was constantly blowing in our face so we couldn’t fully relax (It got everywhere). I don’t think there was any food or drink available on the beach so make sure you bring water with you.

There are excursions that you can book with a rep at the hotel but it is very overpriced and we found it quite difficult to find someone outside of the hotel that we felt comfortable enough to book with (being 4 females we didn’t want to take any chances) so we ended up booking a hammam spa/massage and a day trip to Marrakech with the hotel. The Spa day was really nice, felt so relaxed and refreshed after, definitely worth the money but don’t expect a 4/5 star facility, it is very basic. The trip to Marrakech was a long day; we left at 6am and returned at around 7/8pm. There wasn’t really much to see on this tour but it was nice to experience the culture there; it has a very different vibe to Agadir.

For those of you that will be going to clubs, I would recommend Factory which is across the road. Its nothing special but the music was good and the locals were really friendly. Also, The English pub was really good for a few drinks and karaoke! We went the week before Ramadan started but some of the clubs were already closed so there wasn’t much choice of clubs to go to.
When we were checking out there we had a slight argument with the staff at reception regarding the local tax as we were quoted one price when we arrived, another on the morning we were leaving and then a higher price when we actually came down to pay. The inconsistency was extremely annoying and disconcerting. In the end the manager dealt with the situation calmly and swiftly and we didn’t end up paying the charge. This wasn’t a nice way to end our stay with Kenzi!

Overall we had a good holiday. Kenzi is definitely not a four star hotel; there wasn’t anything that amazed or impressed me. SOME of the staff are an asset to the hotel while others let the hotel down. If you are looking for somewhere cheap, cheerful and close to all the bars and clubs and can entertain yourself so you won’t be reliant on the hotel entertainment then I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2014

For the amount I paid for a week it was well worth the stay. Rooms are nice however the sheets had marks on them and were not changed for the duration of our stay. Food was mostly good plenty of fresh salad and grilled fish/ meat. Service in the restaurant area was good most of the time however some of the bar staff were completely miserable and it sometimes took a while to get served, The pool area was nice although on a couple occasions past 9 am we were unable to find any sun beds but luckily the beach which was about a 3 min walk accommodated us as there was a private area for the hotel where sun beds and umbrellas were provided. Wifi was also available free of charge in in the lobby area. Although not an amazing if you are looking for a cheap and cheerful break this hotel will definitely meet expectations.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bianka W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We travelled here in mid July. The hotel room was clean and bedding changed daily. However public areas landing and lobby area were bit grubby and needed a good hoover. Entertainment staff tried hard but lacked a bit of enthusiasm. Bit disappointed as the entertainment was only ever in French, didn't really cater for the English. Hotel was nice and very close to the beach which had private area for hotel guests. Definitely need to have a word with bar staff who was very rude and sarcastic, slamming drinks down on the bar, insulting and belittling hotel guests, really let down the the other hotel staff who were polite and accommodating. Also Thomson really need to look into the Spa treatment excursion they recommend to guests as it's quite misleading, spa was dingy, dirty and depressing, not a very relaxing experience at all, I would recommend someone from Thomson try it out before recommending to guests.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agadir hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Agadir Beach Club
Hotel Agadir Beach Club
#22 of 77 in Agadir
842 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort
1.5 mi away
Hotel Timoulay & Spa Agadir
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Royal Mirage Agadir Hotel
1.0 mi away
Atlantic Palace Agadir
Atlantic Palace Agadir
#31 of 77 in Agadir
934 reviews
1.0 mi away
Atlas Amadil Beach Aqua Sun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenzi Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenzi Europa

Property: Kenzi Europa
Address: Boulevard du 20 aout BP 808, Agadir BP 808, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Agadir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Agadir
#10 Spa Hotel in Agadir
#10 Luxury Hotel in Agadir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kenzi Europa 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Priceline, Prestigia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kenzi Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenzi Europa Agadir
Kenzi Europa Hotel Agadir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing