We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really bad!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
IBEROSTAR Founty Beach
Ranked #10 of 78 Hotels in Agadir
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

As soon we got to the hotel (there was 11 of us including 3 toddlers 1 one yr old n 1 baby ) we were amongst 20/30 others in the lounge sat for at least am hour before we got checked in! Customer service was absolutely rubbish and to top it off we had to carry half our luggage to our room that we had to figure out as clear instructions weren't given! The room has to be the poorest of qualities for a 4 star the room was no way even a 2 star standard! I asked fr a family room n got a room with twin beds and a massive pieces of wood work of wall separating the room for my toddler where there were 2 single beds that to be honest if I had pets of probs let them sleep there!
Food was ok that's coz they had chips pizza n plain pasta which my toddler happily wud eat n hubby was happy as there was a selection of spices so we cud adjust r taste wiv d food!
The cleanliness is really really poor! The High chairs, lobby sofa, bat chairs were all broken n looked really silly! Kids could've got splinters n fallen off furniture's! Bathrooms silicon and surrounding wer black n tiles wer old n yucky! I don't have a perfect house n I ain't fussy but if I pay for a hotel I expect cleanliness and safe furniture's not hard to provide!
I wouldn't even think about going there again and if you decide then please ask for the modern new rooms which to be honest look the same but at least the suffocating wood wall is not there!

We got asked to pay for the safe which I found stupid because they charge on a daily basis!

At the end before we left the hotel we almost missed our coach to the airport because the porters got asked for an hour to bring the luggages uo which they failed to and once again half the luggages hubby pulled up himself!
Unless the hotel improves on cleanliness and hygiene, trains staff and also replaces broken furniture's I wouldn't advise anyone to go ther esp with small children! I really hope they change the facilities n improve the standards

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Nureen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Founty Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Guest,

We sincerely regret reading that we were not able to provide you with an enjoyable and relaxing family holiday at our IBEROSTAR Founty Beach hotel and are grateful for the time and effort you took out of your day to review your overall stay among us. We appreciate all of your input, as it helps us identify areas that could use more attention to detail.

As duly reported on your booking confirmation, the check in time starts at 15.00, and even though we do our utmost to have our rooms ready for our early arrivals, the checkout being at 12.00 pm, when our hotel is fully booked, we unfortunately cannot guarantee the rooms to be ready as our housekeeping staff needs the appropriate time to undertake a full and thorough cleaning of the rooms.

Moreover we were surprised to read your comments on our porter’s service as our management team itself made sure you were assisted and came over to help you out showing you the way to your rooms.

The gastronomy being one of the prime pillars of our company, we regret reading that you didn’t take full advantage of the wide array of both local and international delights available at every service and freshly made from prime quality ingredients; at IBEROSTAR we believe that travelling includes trying the local cuisine that is greatly represented on every buffet and caters for all diet requirements; our talented Chefs prepare on a daily basis a selection of the best Moroccan cuisine, including couscous, tagines, tuna and eggs bricks, soups, typical vegetables, etc.. Plus a wide array of international dishes, from starters to mixed salads, hot and cold vegetables, fish, meat and seafood both cooked to order by our Show Cooking Chefs on the grill, and in sauce, cheeses, fruits and of course the typical mouthwatering Moroccan and international desserts.

Our hotel regularly undergoes unannounced audit and quality checks by external companies sent from our collaborating Tour Operators and internally to ensure our high quality standards at all times; we sincerely regret not being informed about the imperfections you describe in your review onsite as we would have been able to assist you; of course, our management team has undertaken thorough checks on our high chairs, lobby sofas, bat chairs and the rooms we accommodated you in and we want to reassure you on the fact that everything is safe and perfectly hygienic. For future occasions please do not hesitate to contact our reception desk to point out any imperfection, our team members will be pleased to assist you anytime.

Last but not least, we would like to take the opportunity to clarify that our porters were available at the time of your check out; however as you may understand the check-out requires a minimum of time to be done and we lament the inconveniences caused.

Our main commitment is to offer the best vacation to our guests, based on the service provided by professionals and the delivery of high quality products, so we do hope we will have the opportunity to change your first impression about our service and turn it into a wonderful holiday experience with IBEROSTAR in the near future.

Kindest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Founty Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,740)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

798 - 804 of 3,740 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2014

Found this hotel clean, friendly, and full of choice of cuisine throughout the day. Loved the spa experience although a little expensive. Loved the fact it was by the beach which was also clean and a pleasure to walk on without footwear.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar.com
1  Thank Shehnaz N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Very and clean environment, but if you are on half board, you are so how looked down on and treated like an outcast. Staff are customer friendly if you don't speak English. Disable access friendly....

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar.com
1  Thank Vivian Mukoma O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Founty Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear Vivian,

We appreciate you reaching out to us on Tripadvisor to notify us of your concerns related to your visit to our IBEROSTAR Founty Beach and apologize if you experienced any inconsistency in our service. Your input is extremely important to us and we will be forwarding your remarks directly to the management team so they can make the appropriate adjustments in the areas you mentioned.

We were however surprised to read your comments on our staff as they are all customer oriented and fully committed to contribute to the wellbeing of our guests regardless of their nationality; our hotel has always received an international clientele and all boards and nationalities are equally welcome among us.

On the other hand, we thank you for pointing out the cleanliness of our hotel because this is an aspect of primary importance for IBEROSTAR and we strive to give total confidence in this area, being fully aware that this is a fundamental condition for our guests to feel comfortable at our hotel.

Once more, thank you for making us your choice hotel when visiting Agadir; we hope that you had a pleasant journey back home and remain at your entire disposal through our call center to help you choose your next IBEROSTAR destination among more than 100 hotels in the most beautiful destinations worldwide.

Kindest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Founty Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We just got back from Founty beach after two weeks, on arrival which was late at night we were offered a fresh plated salad with bread rolls in the restaurant.
The hotel is lovely and noticed on going to our room the fresh smell. A good sign,!
Our room was big and clean. The pool was lovely, and clean, a tad nippy but no biggy.
The beach is only a stones throw away, massive and beautiful.
The food at this place was amazing !
They try to cater for everyone, even though I don't like certain foods, there was always plenty to eat, always fresh fruit salads etc; and set out beautifully. Even all sorts of spices you can help yourself to. Snacks most of the day, all the coffee's, ice creams are free in with all inclusive too.
The only concern is with the pool bar that the sparrows will sit in the food trays or on your plate and eat the food if you leave it for a minute.
They have a private bit of beach with free beds and parasols, but if you don't like the lookie lookie men its best to avoid the bottom area as they keep calling you to get you to buy.
If you keep your eyes shut and make out you're asleep they will eventually go away.
There are shops about 15 min's away they, you will get a bit of hassle but no more than Turkey etc;
We did find that if you go anywhere and the locals want to chat its because they want money for something. We got followed even though we kept saying we're fine, The chap then wanted a tip for information he gave us. He didn't get it !
On the whole we had a lovely holiday, came back bronzed and a full belly,
We found the founty beach a lovely place to stay, not really for teenagers but families with young kids or couples around 30 plus, We checked out at 12 but was still allowed the all inclusive until we left at 8 that evening, you don't get that at a lot of hotels. so thanks founty beach..
I think the cleaners try and get away with a bit as some days the room was hardly touched, on saying this though we left the room clean anyway.
maybe the manager should spot check occasionally !!
All in all we loved the hotel,

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Just got back a few days ago ,,,,this is a really nice hotel , with really nice staff .
This hotel is perfect if you want something on the beach but not too close to the hustle and bustle of the centre .

All the staff were great , especially all the waiters and waitresses , and room service .I hope the management convey my message to them .

We found the food to be nice , especially the salads and deserts !!

The only negative was our room the decor and furniture looked a little tired ,,,,which was not a major issue for us . It's too bee expected I assume , with high occupancy numbers .

Plus a mention the swimming pool is very deep ,,,,and only one very small shallow pool for kids . So if your kids can swim then fine ,,,,but if they are beginners then this could be a bit of a issue .

All in all really enjoyed Agadir , and if you get a chance try to explore the small towns up the coast , some really nice deserted beaches to explore !! Plus if you are into surfing you can go to Tagazhout .

Main question ,,,,would I return to this hotel,,,,YES .

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank munnauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Founty Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Firstly we would like to thank you for the lovely review you shared following your recent visit to our IBEROSTAR Founty Beach hotel and are delighted to read that we were able to match your expectations.

Moreover, we want to express our utmost gratitude for your amazing words towards our staff, as you well say their great attitude, genuine helpfulness and full commitment to ensure that our guests are enjoying their stay at our hotel is definitely one of our main assets; we will certainly not miss this opportunity to congratulate them on your behalf for their contribution to your wellbeing throughout your stay among us.

Furthermore, the passion for gastronomy being one of the prime pillars of our company, we greatly appreciate your praising comments on our restaurant where our professional Chefs strive to surprise our guests with a high standard gastronomy and the possibility to savor the best of the local cuisine as well as the finest international delights.

The security of our little guests by the pool is ensured by our lifeguards on duty all day; however we strongly encourage parents to assist kids with swimming difficulties and to make sure they wear brassards.

Thank you again for your visit and the courtesy of your time; we would be enchanted to accommodate you once more in our hotel on your next visit to Agadir and please do not hesitate to contact us beforehand to organize every detail of your stay.

Warmest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Founty Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We had a lovely May half term break, all the staff are very helpful and friendly. Food was yummy and plenty of choice, the only thing missing was tea and coffee making facilities in the room.
We want to come back soon.

Room Tip: We went for a family room with garden view and separation which worked well as kids had their own ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AaronLee2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Founty Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at our IBEROSTAR Founty Beach hotel, all of your kind words about your stay with us are great to hear.

Moreover we are glad you enjoyed every dining experience among g us and appreciated the level of service provided by our professional and friendly staff.

Thank you again for your visit; it would be a great pleasure to welcome you again at your earliest convenience.

Warmest regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Founty Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

First impressions were of a beautiful, peaceful setting. We were allocated a side sea view room, overlooking the pool, and away from the hustle & bustle of the main hotel building. We were very happy with the size of the room & balcony. It was maintained thoroughly by the cleaner on a daily basis, and she always had a smile & greeting.
The pool was very accessible from our room with a good choice of sun loungers always available, however we did not feel that there was a welcoming atmosphere as all entertainment seemed to be geared to languages other than English. There are 2 decent sized pools, one of which seemed warmer than the other.
The pool bar was a bit of an issue. Being British we are used to a first come, first served method, and good manners, however found that on each occasion that we visited this bar we were overlooked in favour of the mainly French guests behind us. We also found that the monotony of having the young staff mock the English accent & assume we were all Cockneys, born within the sound of Bow Bells, got very wearing after a couple of days. We didn't see the staff stereotyping other natonalities at the snack bar.
The pool snack bar lunches were invariably quite tired & bland offerings, often with an array of bird life attempting to help themselves before the guests had a chance.
The security guards at the gate leading to the promenade were always cheerful, and the boy on the beach worked extremely hard all day in very hot temperatures, ensuring everybody had a lounger & parasol, and keeping any beach hawkers at bay. He was forever clearing up glasses etc.
We felt that it was a bit "hit & miss" with the Reception staff. When we arrived they were extremely helpful & welcoming, but much of the time we felt we were just a number, a nuisance.
The main restaurant - Where shall we start?? The positive - Mr Abou - a fantastic waiter who always had a cheery smile, a handshake & a red wine & beer waiting on the table when we arrived. A top man - should be Employee of the Year.
The negative - Akertoch - a jobsworth, bearing a considerable likeness to Will from the Inbetweeners. On our final evening he tried banning my husband from entering the restaurant in a pair of tailored knee length chino shorts & proper shirt, stating that they were inappropriate & he should go back to change. This happening as a man walked past in lurid orange nylon swimshorts & flipflops, another in baggy shorts resembling a windsock on a draughty airfield. Fortunately we were let in by another waiter via a side door when he saw what had happened, shaking his head in disbelief. We counted numerous men in shorts that evening, but there were no issues with them, and many wearing beach wear. A young Russian lady was wearing neon pink hotpants (although my husband didn't seem to complain while having to wait for her to reach the furthest dishes at the buffet! LOL). Although there was an immense range of dishes every meal time, we did feel that it was a bit recycled, and not always very hot. Having travelled extensively, and stayed in numerous All Inclusive hotels over the years, we found ourselves making comparisons. The coffee machines in the restaurant are unappetising offerings. The bar serves better hot drinks. Pack a teaspoon, they are a scarce commodity.
Evening entertainment - the piano bar - remember Vic Reeves as the drunken pub singer in Shooting Stars?? My husband & I would play Name that Tune each evening, and sometimes hadn't even got the answer by the end. The Louis Armstrong rendition is a classic! And we are sure there were Christmas songs on our first evening, or perhaps we were jet lagged on our short haul flight.
There is a downstairs room which hosts a Mini Disco. Later there is something for the adults, but we were disappointed as we were four or five rows back and barely saw a thing. We had hoped for snake charmers, fire eaters, fakirs etc, but did see a great group of acrobats (which we had seen practising up the town centre in the morning), a drumming band & a whirling Dervish.
All the groundsmen. gardeners, cleaning & maintenance staff do a great job, probably with little remuneration, and always have time to greet you. Further up the staffing structure it seems they have less time for those that keep them in employment. It has the makings of a good hotel but there are several issues which need to be addressed.

Room Tip: Side sea / pool / beach view away from main hotel building for peace & quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Founty Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Tracey,

Firstly we would like to thank you for choosing our IBEROSTAR Founty Beach hotel for your holidays in Morocco and for the time you spent to share your feelings on your stay; at IBEROSTAR we realize that there is always room for improvement and feedback is crucial in this process so we thank you for your review.

We read your comments on service with our utmost attention and lament hearing that you didn’t feel well cared after and had the feeling that our staff was prioritizing a nationality more than others, however this remark is fortunately not the usual feedback we receive on opinion portals and internal surveys; at IBEROSTAR we have always welcomed an international clientele, obviously depending on the destination a nationality may be more represented than another, for instance, Morocco is a very popular destination for French tourists as French is the second language spoken in the country; Tenerife on the contrary is a destination more geared towards a British clientele and Majorca towards German guests, independently of the service provide by hoteliers; nevertheless we will pass on your comments to our management for information and indeed if necessary for improvement.

As reported on our website and the welcome letter handled at the time of check in a formal dress code is required for our main restaurant at dinner.

Moreover, we are sorry you didn’t enjoy of enriching dining experiences whilst staying among us; however we would like to take the opportunity to point out that our Chefs work in accordance with our two weeks menu rotation imposed by the company on a global level adding of course the local touch to the typical dishes; these menus are thought to guarantee a wide array of succulent Moroccan delights as well as a selection of international dishes to please all palates and cater for all diet requirements; these include as a matter of example, different couscous and tagines at every single meal, grilled fish, seafood and meat cooked to order, a wide array of crudités, mixed salads, starters, cheeses, soups, pastas, paellas, etc.as well as a variety of mouthwatering desserts. Of course all dishes are prepared fresh, we do not serve the remains from previous meals at any time and we want to reassure you on this point.

On the other hand, we are glad to read your satisfaction on the comfort and cleanliness of the room we accommodated you in and are grateful for your highlight on the genuine kindness of our maids and we will not fail to congratulate your waiter for his contribution to your wellbeing whilst staying among us.

Our main commitment is to offer the best vacation to our guests, based on the service provided by professionals and the delivery of high quality products, so we do hope we will have the opportunity to change your first impression about our service and turn it into a wonderful holiday experience with IBEROSTAR in the near future.

Kindest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Founty Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agadir hotels
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa
0.8 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Tikida Golf Palace
Tikida Golf Palace
#1 of 78 in Agadir
410 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palais des Roses
Palais des Roses
#18 of 78 in Agadir
989 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Timoulay & Spa Agadir
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IBEROSTAR Founty Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IBEROSTAR Founty Beach

Address: BP No 1039 | Cite Founty, Agadir 80000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Agadir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Agadir
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Agadir
#8 Spa Hotel in Agadir
#8 Luxury Hotel in Agadir
#12 Family Hotel in Agadir
#19 Romantic Hotel in Agadir
Price Range: £102 - £285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — IBEROSTAR Founty Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 470
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The IBEROSTAR Founty Beach is the hotel you’re looking for to experience all the charm of Agadir, Morocco. Located right on the sea front, the hotel guarantees modern facilities and a personalised service so you can enjoy a magnificent family holiday. The diversity of the 470 rooms and the quality of their installations make the Founty Beach hotel stand out in Agadir. The hotel features a host of services and facilities, including SPA Sensations, beauty salon, fitness room, daytime and night-time entertainment, free premium Wi-Fi, live performances, two restaurants, three bars, pools, water sports, meeting rooms, children’s playground, beach hammocks... The Founty Beach hotel is also perfect for children: it has a Miniclub, Maxiclub, and Teenieclub with activities for children aged 4 to 17. These are organised by instructors and shared with other children in an unbeatable ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your IBEROSTAR Founty Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Founty Beach Hotel Agadir
Iberostar Hotel Agadir
Iberostar Hotel Founty Beach
Founty Beach Hotel
Founty Beach Agadir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing