We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel let down a little by building work”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Tikida Dunas
Ranked #5 of 78 Hotels in Agadir
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We travelled to the Riu Tikida Dunas in late June for two weeks. After arriving at the hotel we were met with happy smiling hotel staff who checked us in quickly and efficiently. After welcome drinks our luggage was delivered and we were told that one of the restaurant was open for our evening meal. The time at this stage was around 10.30am. The speciality Moroccan restaurant was open for buffet and drinks. The food was excellent and bottled wine could be poured at will, a promising start.

The following evening we were invited to the Managers cocktail party with champagne, cocktails and hot canapes! The food during the fortnight was excellent and some of on the spot cooking station were superb, fresh poached or smoked salmon and freshly carved parma ham to name a few. We had no complaints with the drinks service either cocktails, bottled wines, branded spirits all available until midnight. The staff couldn't have been more helpful.

Our room was cleanly thoroughly daily, the bed was very comfortable and the pillows were excellent. Pool area was large and it was not difficult to get a sunbed. Entertainment was very good, lots of local dancers and entertainers and the Riu entertainment team were superb, so friendly even if like us you don't join in daily. If you like the beach Agadir is beautiful soft sand, very clean with a few hawkers are happy to take your first no thank you.

Our only criticism was the hotel in some areas looked a little tired and in fact the poolside snack bar was closed for maintenance during our whole stay, a little annoying. Other than that we had a superb holiday and would highly recommend this hotel to others!

Room Tip: The second floor rooms have some great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank April M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,613)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,877 - 1,883 of 3,613 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2012

My husband and I booked Tikida Dunas a little aprehensive as we had never thought of going to Morocco before but were in desperate need of some sun.

I can honestly say this was probably the 2nd best holiday we have ever had (coming 2nd to the Maldives where there is no comparrison).

The hotel is lovely, very moroccan and very clean and spacious.

We were served a lovely cold cocktail on arrival and then checked in very quickly. We had a sea view room with a nice sized balcony and the rooms themselves are plenty big enough for a couple. The room was also spotlessly clean and again very keeping with the Moroccan theme (some people have commented on the hotel needing TLC however we had no issues with it at all).
Our bags were bought to our room instantly and I felt slightly embarassed that we hadnt yet had chance to change our money into Dirhams and had to tell the porter this but his reply was ' we take english moneys...god save the queen' which made us chuckle a lot and gave him a fiver!

The grounds of the hotel are gorgeous the pools are very well kept and the gardens etc were lovely.
The bars are open till very late at night and we hardly needed to spend any extra money as we were all inclusive and pretty much everything was included.

The food was plentiful and there was always fresh food being cooked in front of you by specialist chefs. It was my husbands birthday whilst we were there and on our table at dinner there was champagne waiting for us and candles and the waiters sang happy birthday to him which was AMAZING, all the staff were very polite and couldnt do enough to make our stay pleasurable including the shoe cleaner based in reception.

Overall we had an amazing holiday here and if you are after a excellent AI week away I would highly reccomend it.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank THNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

I traveled with my friend on 28th june to july 12th , on arrival check in was very organised and quick they had layed food on to which was a nice touch as it was 10.30pm .Our room was in block 5 large and clean, bathroom and separate toilet handy ,beds very firm but i like that .
Welcome meeting good a bit long winded as they introduce heads of departments but the reps were helpful . We did change some money at airport but its easy to change it in the hotel i didnt change to much only as and when i wanted it , you can only change it back to english at the airport when you leave keep your receipts as proof .The grounds and pools were stunning and were always being attended to ,towels not always ready in the morning, plenty of sunbeds even tho people saved some not a problem most people just seemed to like the same beds , beach lovely and large with a promenade which is nice to walk along .Animation team try very hard to get people to do things which can be abit annoying at times , i didnt go to the evening shows as we met a great group of people and tended to sit in reception bar area . The bar staff were good but Ahmed Hicham and Brahim stood out for us all staff were most helpful , there was some building work going on but it didnt seem a problem they are trying to make the place better .
The restaurant was busy but i found the food nice but sometimes some things were not hot enough i think its just down to the large number of people and only the english queue , we did go to a lovely restaurant called little norway turn left out of front of hotel its 10 mins on the righthand side opp Rui palace . We did a couple of trips the 2 hr agadir trip ,the 4x4 atlas mountains lovely views and marrakech thats a long trip 7am to midnight but intresting .
The weather was a bit disappointing as the sun didnt show for 6 of the days but you can be burnt becareful agadir is between two mountains so sea and cloud mist often settle and take untill lunch time to clear when the sun came out it was hot did get a nice tan sept to june is meant to be a good time to go , the weather charts dont say anything about cloud cover it was chilly some mornings and evenings . They advertise late book out its not worth asking because you wont get it ,only people with children or old may be lucky .
They were always washing the floors they did have signs around but not on the landing to our room so i went bum over chest and did hurt my leg i did report it but the signs didnt appear just becareful , people that have been to other rui hotels said it wasnt as good as normal ,ive never been to a rui to compare but i have traveled around the world and normaly stay in 4 or 5 star and find them all different no two are the same standard ,over all i enjoyed my time here im sure the more improvements they do the better it will get

Room Tip: sea view or pool and sea view are lovely block 5 is sea veiw all the grounds are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank anita a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

i went with a friend on june 28th to july 12th, we are in our 40's, had a room in block 5 quite large clean and seperate toilet which was nice. we overlooked the sea. pool area was very large cleaned and jet washed regularly and so were the sunbeds. 5pools to choose from all lovely.towels not always ready early for the next day by the pool.did aqua gym a few times in the pool very good and fun.had a massage 2 days into my holiday and would highly recommend fatima to do this.food was very plentiful a large variety but sometimes not always hot i put this down to large numbers of people to cater for and planning of chef at the omelette station needed to have help as things ran out.didn't watch any entertainment as we met lots of people and tended to sit and chat. a few shops outside the hotel turn left and walk a few mins, very safe at night and a very nice steak restaurant 10 mins walk form hotel called little norway,the manager is very accomadating for your needs and made a change one evening.out the back of the hotel is a promenade makes a nice walk about an hour to the marina very safe at night whatever time, moroccans very friendly people. would recommend agadir trip takes 2 hrs you see a little of the area where you stay, marrakech a full day 7am-midnight a very long day quite abit of walking was ok. 4x4 trip in the atlas mountains nice views up there a full day out. no one told us agadir is between the atlas mountains and the sea mist doesnt always clear so we had 6 days of no sun, sometimes a little chilly and dissapointing the best time to go is september so we were told but still came home with a tan. we had never been to a riu hotel so had nothing to compare it to but we had a lovely time need a bit of updating, would rate it as a 3* helpful staff, hicham and brahim at the bars and a. ahmed, very helpful.you cannot get a late checkout at this hotel so it is not worth asking, familys and the elderly maybe lucky, they advertise it but such a high turnover of people is there excuse i even spoke to the manager that was dissapointing. over all agood holiday would like to try another riu hotel in another country to have something to compare it too.

Room Tip: e-mail 1-2 weeks before and ask for block 5 which over lokks the sea or block 3 which is if you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pinklady42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

The location of this hotel is superb, pool area, large and immaculate with easy access to beautiful beach. The rooms were large and very clean, air con and fridge. The restaurant food was good and plentiful, the bread and pastries were particularly delicious, and outside seating are beautiful. The staff were very attentive and professional, several of the bar staff were outstanding.

Room Tip: It would be worth paying for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cricket27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Arrived at this hotel and everything looked great but on entering our room things changed ,curtains hanging off,patio door cracked , broken toilet seat,cracked and sharp floor tiles and a bed with a hole in the middle.weve stayed in many riu hotels and always had a good time so we thought as long as the sun shines we will try and have a good time and stay out of our room as much as we can.Food was ok and there was always something you could eat however we ate in a few restaurants in agadir but these were awful . pool areas were ok but these were spoilt by hundreds of screaming loud french kids, abandoned by there parents who just wanted to drink wine all day and tut at any english holiday makers { funny theyed be german if it werent for us ,short memories }.drinks were ok but we watched the waiters collect all the unfinished drinks and pour them into a lage container and make cocktails out of them.For the money you pay not a good riu hotel .

Room Tip: ask for a tent by the pool it cant be any worse
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pepperSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

This was my first ever holiday abroad, and i can quite honestly say, that i had the time of my life!
the hotel and grounds were absolutely beautiful, clean and constantly maintained to a very high standard indeed.
Our room was very spacious, and the facilities were quite impressive. And the staff made up the room daily, even without request. In fact! usually, within a couple of hours of exiting it.
The food was top notch! With so much variety, and cultural cuisine to choose from, i felt truly spoilt.
There was daily and nightly shows or disco's, for both adults and children alike, which was completely different from day to day! And i found the whole week of shows, very funny entertaining.
The pool area was enormous, and very spacious! There was music, and members of the entertainment team, were constantly moving amongst the holiday makers, and getting them involved, without being pushy.
The gym and spa area, was clean and very spacious, and had all the necessary facilities to suit all or our needs.
All of the hotel staff were very friendly, courteous, and helpful! And never without a smile on their faces.
We never had a problem with seating in the restaurants, or, finding available sunbeds by the pools.
Overall, i have to say that the entire holiday exceeded my expectations! And i would recommend this hotel to anyone. whether you are an experienced traveller, or a first timer.
We were a bit apprehensive after booking this hotel, due to reading a couple of negative reviews on this site.
However, pay no attention to these negative remarks! Because after, my own personal experience at this hotel, i would say these people were completely wrong, and their negative comments false!
I absolutely loved every second of my stay there.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jason L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agadir hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Tikida Golf Palace
Tikida Golf Palace
#1 of 78 in Agadir
410 reviews
0.8 mi away
Robinson Club Agadir
Robinson Club Agadir
#2 of 78 in Agadir
788 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Timoulay & Spa Agadir
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Tikida Dunas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Tikida Dunas

Address: Chemin des Dunes B.P. 901, Agadir 80000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Agadir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Agadir
#2 Family Hotel in Agadir
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Agadir
#4 Spa Hotel in Agadir
#4 Luxury Hotel in Agadir
#6 Romantic Hotel in Agadir
Price Range: £98 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Tikida Dunas 4*
Number of rooms: 406
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located in Agadir * Separated from beach only by the beach front promenade * Complimentary sun loungers and parasols on the hotel's private beach * Main building and 2-story annexes * 50,000 m2 gardens * 1 km from downtown Agadir * 500 m to a supermarket and shops * 25 km from the airport * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, RIU Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Tikida Dunas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clubhotel Riu Tikida Dunas Agadir
Tikida Dunas Agadir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing