We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant Hotel - why refurb ?” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of ClubHotel Riu Tikida Dunas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
ClubHotel Riu Tikida Dunas
Ranked #4 of 78 Hotels in Agadir
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester,UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Brilliant Hotel - why refurb ?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

The hotel exceeded the good comments written on Trip Advisor and if the weather had been better we would definitely return, but this is not the hotels fault.
The rooms were of a good size and were kept well maintained and clean with a fridge replenished daily with water bottles. TV had sky news as well as BBC world service. The safety deposit box was also free of charge, but i would advise you take your own shower gel etc.
Food as of good quality with the safe options of chips and pizza complimented with fresh salads, meats, fish and Moroccan dishes - after 10 nights stay we still felt as though there was plenty of choice. The restaurant staff were courteous and worked hard - if you worked with them - ie got your own drinks when they were under pressure they would give 100% service when they had time to serve you. - all of our main waiters got a tip from us as they deserved it.
Pool area's were split into 3 we only used the small pool as it felt quieter and gave us many a day relaxing, reading and listening to music via earphones. The pools were kept clean and the grounds kept immaculate by the gardeners with many types of plants from exotic to the english rose. Bar area's were good and whilst you waited a few minutes to be served the bar tenders gave full effort and managed mostly to serve you in turn.
Trips - the day trip to marracech was enjoyable whilst a little costly it was worth the extra than doing it on your own as it took away the stress and allowed you to be taken to places you may not have visited. - the Atlas mountain trek was also fantastic and whilst a little strenuous at times it was a relaxing walk so don’t be put off as it was great to get up close to nature.
Weather - slightly disappointed in the mist and the sun on some days not fully appearing until 11am but only one day of the 11 was poor and we never burnt and had a good tan.
Guests at the hotel were mostly very friendly and of a decent behaviour and we met lovely people couple from Southampton and a Turkish couple from London and three girls from Bristol who all had a little chat with us when we bumped into them in and around the hotel.
The view we had was immense (block 5) and the locals were constantly exercising on the promenade and beach - a lesson to be learnt I think.
Points to note:
I would prefer a beach directly attached to the hotel but we knew this and liked walking up the promenade.
We love the sun and the weather is not as good as Tunisia.
Taxi drivers will try and con you with meters running so be warned - I was but still got slightly stung.
Like the RIU policy on cats but I think they need to do a bit more neutering.
I often have a holiday tummy but not once on this trip :-)
A trip to the port in the morning at 9am was good but expect to pay a tip to the Moroccan captain birds eye if he gives you a tour.
Marina was OK but does not have the glamour of big boats seen in other resorts.

Room Tip: We liked block 5 but most blocks gave something good and have positives on location a differing view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richy64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,719
    1,038
    312
    82
    47
See reviews for
999
1,554
45
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (745)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Feel a bit sorry for KelseeeyC. we didn't have problems with hygiene, didn't find the (extremely well groomed) cats at all intrusive and they seldom entered the restaurant area, whilst along the promenade we found nothing initimidating and on our third visit to Agadir thought it absolutely safe on the beach and not at all threatened.

We previously stayed at the Iberostar next door so direct comparison is possible. The Dunas has bigger and more beautiful gardens and better swimming pools.Rooms are slightly bigger but it was quite a trek to get to ours and we did not like two flights of stairs - but that's the price of a sea view , which was excellent. By contrast the Iberostar had lifts and slightly better access to rooms.

Food- my wife was less happy with the overall offering at Dunas although breakfast and lunch were very good and desserts in particular were better than Iberostar. The ambience of the dining area and the variety of Moroccan cuisine compared unfavourably with the Iberostar; however the option of the selective Moroccan dining room made up for this and we ate there three times.

Staff were excellent all round - waiting, reception, animation and service. Nothing to choose between the hotels, there.The Dunas is slightly bigger and therefore offers a bit more - the other side of the coin is that there are more people trying to take advantage of it. Matter of personal taste!

Would go to either again, but three visits to Agadir in three years is enough. A good resort, nevertheless, that I would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Most rooms resaonably spacious but for sea view need to be top floor (2nd floor) and no lifts .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank WelshBobcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

This is a fab 5 star all inclusive hotel.one of the best hotel experiences ever.
The beach front location is unbelievable.The many pools, excellent buffet and specialised restaurants, good entertainment and inhouse bars all contributed to a very good vacation.
This is truly an international hotel and made the stay more enjoyable .We met some lovely people from all over europe.The international appeal says it all.Go see the goats in the trees on one of the day trips.you'll love it.

Room Tip: Any seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank abs561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Got back yesterday on the 19th of June, the reviews made us really excited to go- along with the pictures, but we quickly discovered we were not told the truth.
The hygiene is unbelievably poor, cats were allowed freely into restaurants, the staff were rude and would not wash hands after dealing with different foods, the foods were very poor quality and mainly chips and pizza and meats that were not cooked well which made us very unwell for 5 days (went for a week). The staff also made us move half way through breakfast to another table that was not set as we we're a party of two sat at a table of four, when there were plenty of four tables left and there was no option to question them. The head waitress tutted at us if we got a small smear on the table, would look us up and down and talk about guests in another language.
On the Sunday night the restaurants decided no one would enter with shorts, which a majority of males were wearing, leaving guests unable to eat and left us unwelcomed with a rule which they had never imposed previously.
The toilet leaked constantly attracting insects and the cleaners did not touch.
HOWEVER- the thomson tour guides were lovely and we went on a brilliant excursion to the buggy rides, would highly recommend. The night time entertainment was superb! The reps always put on a great show of dancing or including the audience which was fun and a highlight of the days, they also had sports every day like water polo which was great.
As for the area, we were very frightened and anxious to leave the resort and walk down the beach, the locals are grabby and intimidating wanting money from you and follow you to buy things which left us feeling incredibly unsafe.

This is long review, and I have never written a review before for any hotel, we are both 21 and don't expect too much from a hotel, but I don't want other travellers and holiday makers spending their money on a holiday in which they will get ill, be poorly treated, unsafe and unhappy with! The Tikidi Palace looked amazing and we were disappointed we did not go there, a couple told us how amazing it was! (jealous)

Room Tip: Sea view would probably be nice, but no difference in room type for standard, just the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank KelseeeeyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Arrived home today (20.06.14) after two weeks at Tikida Dunas with my girlfriend. We decided to go to a Riu after being very impressed with one in Cancun last year. This wasn't upto same standard as Riu Caribe with regards to the food which I found very repetitive but still always found something nice enough to eat. Cleanliness of hotel, rooms and grounds etc was great. Nice green lawns that are well kept. Staff were great throughout and very helpful.

This is ideal for a quiet break away and if you like a nice breeze on holiday this would be perfect. Also a lot of kids at hotel and they seemed to be having a great time. Seemed popular with French tourists. They seemed to be the majority of residents as were older couples.

We went into the local Souk a couple of times. Firstly with a lad I got speaking to who worked in the hotel who kindly took time out to show us around and helped us haggle with the sellers! Second time we just went on our own much the wiser. It's an experience going in and definitely HALF what they ask for. They will look at you as though your crazy but you will get it even if you have to walk away. They always shout you back in lol.

Felt safe when out and about at markets, promenade, restraunts etc. We were advised to use the little orange taxis that are always driving around. Pay no more than 20 Dirham for travelling around Agadir and tell the driver before you get in that's all your paying him.

Went to Marrakesh by bus on an excursion through Thomson. Picked up at 6:45 at hotel. Three hours each way and arrived back at hotel around 11pm. Don't recommend it at all. Nothing great to see and a lot of hassle from markets. Tour guides were friendly and informative. Lunch and dinner was included but not drinks. I'm not a fussy eater but never enjoyed any of the two meals. Everyone just seemed a bit bored or worn out by midday including myself. Was absolutely scorching compared to Agadir.

Overall a pleasant, relaxing holiday and good weather. Hope this helps anyone thinking of going.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Markyboy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

I have just returned from a lovely holiday at this hotel to celebrate a special birthday for my mum. From the minute we arrived we were greeted to a very warm welcome and the friendliness of the hotel staff continued throughout our stay. We had sea view rooms which I would definitely recommend the sound of the waves is very soothing for a good sleep. The rooms were a little dated but very large and spotlessly clean. The beach is right in front of the hotel across a promenade and the hotel has a private roped off section.

The weather does start a little misty in the morning the sun isn't out fully until about 12 but it was nice and hot once the sun was out. The food was good quality and there was plenty of choice. The cocktails were also nice and tasted better than I would have expected. The only downside was the swimming pools were freezing they looked the most beautiful of any I've seen but we hardly went in them as they were so cold although I heard they are going to be made heated when the hotel gets renovated in the winter. There isn't much to do after 10pm at the hotel as most guests seem to disappear after the show though there is a disco until 12 but not many people stayed for it. There are some nightclubs outside the hotel we never went as were on a family holiday but I heard from other guests that they didn't have any problems going.

The animation (entertainment) team are the gems of the hotel they are all extremely friendly and go out of their way to make sure everyone is having a good holiday without being pestering. Jay and Zeynab really went out of their way with us and were brilliant.

Agadir itself doesn't have loads to do but a visit to the souk is definitely recommended, be prepared to haggle. There are plenty of excursions to choose from to visit the surrounding areas although a bit expensive through Thomson.

I was surprised with how much I loved this hotel and my stay as I usually go places where there is lots of exploring as I can't keep still for too long but we chose somewhere we knew my mum would love and I have to say I would definitely go back and would love to see how it looks after the refurb I hope it retains the same amount of charm it has now.

Room Tip: Choose a sea view room block 5000s
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

This was my first time in morocco and I am glad I chose this hotel. From the moment we got there ALL the staff couldn't do enough for u. Hotel was beautiful and the location amazing. Everyone was friendly always greeting us, the entertainment team worked hard to keep you entertained and even carried this on even though it was time for them to finish. I don't know how anyone could complain about anything, yeah the food isn't amazing but they have so many different nationalities to cater for they do their best they can't please everyone. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay here and will be going back.....brilliant

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank England1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agadir hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Robinson Club Agadir
Robinson Club Agadir
#2 of 78 in Agadir
4.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Timoulay & Spa Agadir
3.6 mi away
Tikida Golf Palace
Tikida Golf Palace
#1 of 78 in Agadir
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Tikida Dunas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Tikida Dunas

Property: ClubHotel Riu Tikida Dunas
Address: Chemin des Dunes, Agadir 80000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Agadir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Agadir
#2 Family Hotel in Agadir
#3 Spa Hotel in Agadir
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Agadir
#3 Luxury Hotel in Agadir
#6 Romantic Hotel in Agadir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Tikida Dunas 4*
Number of rooms: 406
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located in Agadir * Separated from beach only by the beach front promenade * Complimentary sun loungers and parasols on the hotel's private beach * Main building and 2-story annexes * 50,000 m2 gardens * 1 km from downtown Agadir * 500 m to a supermarket and shops * 25 km from the airport * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Tikida Dunas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clubhotel Riu Tikida Dunas Agadir
Tikida Dunas Agadir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing