We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and efficent service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Timoulay & Spa Agadir
Ranked #4 of 77 Hotels in Agadir
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Friendly and efficent service”
Reviewed 20 October 2009

We spent 2 nights in Hotel Timoulay and the suite we stayed in was well appointed, clean and spacious. We even had 2 bathrooms!!! The breakfast buffet was fantastic and kept regularly topped up. We would recommend the omelette freshly cooked and drizzled with olive oil. Delicious!! Evening meal was also included, but we had plans with friends both evenings, so did not get a chance to avail of this. We did however have a look at what was on offer, and it looked very tempting. A huge range of salads and vegetarian food, and a choice of tagines of chicken, fish, vegetable and lamb. Followed by delicious moroccan deserts.All the staff were very efficient and helpful, and genuinely appeared to enjoy their jobs (Which is more than can be said for their counterparts in the nearby Sofitel). The pool area was beautiful, and although the nightly music entertainment was unimaginative, the gentleman who was providing the music was very pleasant and friendly. The decor was a strange mix of styles, but the carved and painted moroccan celing in the main reception area was stunning. The spa was also available with very reasonable prices, but we did not have time to sample this. All in all it was a great place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank londonirish9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    761
    377
    68
    16
    13
See reviews for
234
699
44
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
SE England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2009

We flew from Gatwick to Marakesh and took a taxi from there to Agadir. The cost of the taxi from Marakesh to Agadir was 1100 Dirhams (Dh).
Best to fly direct to Agadir if possible, especially if my taxi experience is anything to go by. The journey from Marakesh to Agadir is a long one and would normally take approx 4 hours by car (a little longer by bus) however the taxi-driver we had, drove exceedingly fast and so it took only 3 hours! This Psychotic taxi-driver was over-taking on bends, he was giving the universal finger gesture to anyone who so much as honked their horn at him and he had a general disregard of the highway code suffice to say he was stopped by the police and given a warning!!
(Although I had initially agreed 1000Dh this taxi driver of ours insisted that I pay an extra 100Dh saying it was 'pour manger')..!! Arriving at the Hotel Timoulay in one piece was a great relief! On arrival, the hotel staff were so lovely and incredibly welcoming that I instantly felt at ease after such a horrid journey.
Timoulay is a relatively small, very friendly and clean hotel. All staff - from the receptionists to the pool attendant - are extremely friendly, efficient and helpful. Currency can also be exchanged at the hotel reception.
Breakfast and Dinner (on half-board basis) is buffet style and offers a good, wide selection. Dinner is a good opportunity to sample local cuisine (incl. couscous, lamb, fish, etc). The rooms are spacious, clean and of a very good standard. There is a small pool, a gym, spa & sauna and a bar (serving drinks & snacks throughout the day). The beach is only a few minutes walk away (less than 10 mins) down a small gradient.
There are several good excursions - the Camel Ride is a particularly fun one; it is quite unlike any other camel ride I've ever experienced; I would highly recommend it as an excursion.
The slight downside of this hotel was its location to the town - which is a good 25 minutes walk (in the heat) but you can hire a taxi for around 15Dh! Also the evening entertainment is a little poor - mainly music orientated (think Lionel Richie's 'Hello' sung in an Arabic accent ;-) but as the patio doors are double-glazed it was easy to completely drown out the sound!
Other than the evening entertainment, there is no other form of entertainment on site (unless you count the one computer with free internet access).
This hotel is probably best suited to both couples and those who are looking for a quiet break away.
Note - Morocco is largely an Islamic country and we arrived during Ramadan. And during Ramadan, dinner at this hotel is served some 45 minutes later than normal (19:45 local time) - as you can imagine the hotel guests were famished by then!!
Despite these small discrepancies the overall hotel experience was very, very good and if I were to visit Agadir again, I would definitely stay at this hotel once more.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chunkybabymonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatteris, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2009

The Hotel was absolutely spotlessand the staff were very friendly and helpful. Even though this hotel is featured in the Thomsons adult escape brochure there were a few families staying there though I wouldnt recommend it as there are no facillities for children at all. The cab into town costs about £1.50. If you want a drink and watch the world go by sit outside the Sky Bar it is opposite the Ramada Hotel. The chap there is very friendly and drinks are cheaper here . But if its football you are after The English bar is the place to go.Be aware that the bank at Agadir airport will not change your sterling traveller cheques but wiil change cash. The nearest hotel to exchange is at the Palace de roses hotel just across the road from the Timoulay but they will charge per cheque! The Timoulay will change cash for you if you want. The rooms are spacious but bring your kettle as there are none provided .There is a small fridge in the room which is handy for drinks etc

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chardonnaylil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2009

After a really difficult transfer from Marrakech to Agadir, the Hotel Timoulay was a real treat and pleasant surprise. The staff were welcoming, attentive and unbelievably helpful and friendly. After a terrible hotel experience in Marrakech, this hotel's ameniities, staff and atmosphere were so much appreciated. The hotel is so clean, has a pristine pool, great guestrooms and is beautifully laid out with an upscale modern boutique feel - yet the traditional Morrocan art and atmosphere are kept tastefully in tact.

We highly recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to unwind and relax poolside or at the beach. The beach is a short walk and not right on the beach, but still not a big deal. They have direct access to the nicest part of Agadir's beach and you can rent a beach umbrella for under 20 dirham daily and buy snacks and drinks there as well. The beach was a favourite as the waves were really fun for the kids. The beach is very clean too.

Thank you Hotel Timoulay staff!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dtad83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East of England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2009

Initially we were given a disabled room, it was midnight by the time we got through customs etc so too tired to argue, this consisted of a wet-room style bathroom which didnt drain quick enough so seemed very dangerous but this was rectified without any arguement first thing am and we moved room. I cant fault the staff who were friendly attentative and spoke various languages to accomodate all nationalities, the hotel during our stay was mainly full of Moroccan young families, i took this as a good sign though i must say i found the children unruly, running around the bar and restaurant constantly. Unfortunately the food on offer was poor, buffet luke-warm and sometimes looked re-hashed from previous day, plain grilled fish or chicken fresh to order.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeeTilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2009

My husband and I had an enjoyable week here at the beginning of August. The Timoulay is a small, friendly, smart and clean hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The bedrooms are large, well decorated and very clean, with the maids cleaning the rooms and changing towels everyday. There was a nice mixture of nationalities in the hotel, with guests from Britain, France and Morocco.
The pool area is really nice and well maintained. Nobody reserves beds first thing in the morning, which makes a change!
Drinks prices in the bar are on a par with the UK. Wine is a bit cheaper than in the UK; Moroccan Rose is very pleasant!
We stayed half board and if we'd been staying 2 weeks, we definitely would have been eating out. Breakfast suited us fine - cereals, fruit, breads, pastries, cold meat, cheese, eggs, pancakes, orange juice, tea, coffee. However dinner was a let down. There was one soup, a selection of salads and a few desserts every night which were all very nice. Hot food was poor - two/three meat/fish dishes plus veg (which didn't get refilled often). The chef also cooked a piece of meat and fish every night to order, which would take 15 mins or so.
The hotel is situated at the end of Agadir, 5-10 mins from the beach and 30 minutes from the first of the restaurants on the promenade. The marina is around a 1 hour stroll from the hotel along the promenade, a walk which we enjoyed. We didn't use a taxi at any point but there was certainly plenty around and they seemed to be cheap.
We enjoyed our stay at The Timoulay but would go to a different hotel if we return to Agadir, simply because the food wasn't up to scratch and doesn't compare to 4 * hotels we've stayed in, in other countries.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebRichM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
169 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2009

We had 4 nights of R&R at the Timoulay after touring round Morocco. A good hotel in many ways. It is spotlessly clean and the food is fine, with very professional service. It is not a quiet hotel, with lots of families staying. The room was nice, with interesting decor. The big snag was the distance from downtown and from places to eat. The beach is about 8 mins walk away. On arrival, we asked for a map but they didn't have one. Seems odd for a hotel that is about 30 mins walk from the centre of town. We got a free map the next day in a shop in town! Overall, a nice hotel with friendly staff and a clean, attractive appearance. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agadir hotels
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort
0.9 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir
0.6 mi away
Atlantic Palace Agadir
Atlantic Palace Agadir
#29 of 77 in Agadir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa
3.3 mi away
Tikida Golf Palace
Tikida Golf Palace
#1 of 77 in Agadir
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
0.6 mi away
Robinson Club Agadir
Robinson Club Agadir
#2 of 77 in Agadir
4.5 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Timoulay & Spa Agadir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Timoulay & Spa Agadir

Property: Hotel Timoulay & Spa Agadir
Address: Cite Founty F6 Baie des Palmiers, Agadir 80000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Agadir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Agadir
#3 Spa Hotel in Agadir
#3 Luxury Hotel in Agadir
#3 Romantic Hotel in Agadir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Timoulay & Spa Agadir 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Timoulay Hotel is located in the popular spa resort of Agadir, Morocco. This design hotel offers free Wi-Fi, a Spa and Wellness centre and a large sea water swimming pool.Guest rooms at the Timoulay are spacious and have a terrace with a view of the hotel’s gardens, pool and the sea. All rooms are air-conditioned and have satellite TV.A full breakfast buffet is served daily at Restaurant Ayour, which also offers traditional and regional dishes.At the hotel’s Spa, guests have access to a Hammam, sauna and fitness room. There is also a range of leisure activities close to the Timoulay, such as scuba diving and horse riding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Timoulay & Spa Agadir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Timoulay Hotel Agadir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing