We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away”
Review of Hotel Volubilis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Volubilis
Ranked #71 of 76 Hotels in Casablanca
Montreal
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Stay away”
Reviewed 17 April 2013

I was uncomfortable the entire time I was there. Unclean rooms, I have no clue if those sheets were even washed. I didn't use the towels the Hotel provided. The room had shampoo, the bottle was half empty so someone topped it off with water, very ghetto. The hotel is connected to a man's bar, so strange men are constantly coming in and out. Smelly, musty, stay away.
The staff was nice though, they kept our bags after checkout while we set up our departure. But that's about it. Even for free, I would NEVER stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room was terrible, and connected to another room by a flimsy door, so you could hear everything...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Katie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    6
    11
    11
    26
See reviews for
6
16
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

This hotel charged 45 euros for one night in a double room, we were initially told this would be 40 euros and they even tried to charge us 50. Exceptionally damp bedding, could not see through the window or open it as it was boarded up on the outside. Shower curtain didn't reach the top of the bath so consequently the entire bathroom floor - bare concrete - was soaked, towel rail fell off the wall. Very loud night club downstairs that went on throughout the night. Lift only worked when it felt like it. The breakfast hall - which is actually shared with the more up-market Transatlantique - looked like a horror film, dirty, untidy and un-cared for. Breakfast was horrible - fluorescent slices of meat, blobs of old butter floating in water and stale pastries. The architecture would have been beautiful in its hay day but to see it in such a mess was depressing. Upon check-out the receptionist was sarcastic and smarmy. Not a mid-range hotel at all and not worth the money. Also the marble stair cases are covered in loose carpet which is incredibly slippy which is not secure and nearly sent one of us flying down two flights of stairs.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Casablanca hotels

New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2011

If you love architecture, Hotel Volubilis and its sister Hotel Transatlantique next door are for you. Hotel Volubilis is cheaper and a step down in quality. Breakfast is served in the dining room of Hotel Transatlantique. The bathroom sink leaked, but otherwise, my room was clean. The furniture is old. I always cringe when I read that a hotel has been 'renovated'. It usually means the charm has been erased and replaced with generic blandness. I am a frequent traveller who prefers old. I especially liked watching the sunrise over Casablanca from my 1919 balcony. If you need quiet, use earplugs. This hotel is downtown, not in a sleepy suburb. Plenty of sidewalk coffee cafes inhabit the neighborhood surrounding this classic Casablanca hotel.

Room Tip: I like the top floor front rooms with balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jamiejet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2010

Rude receptionist, tiny room, mouldy ceiling, damp bed linen.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brewerboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2010

The hotel was really bad. The staff was helpful at first but was rude later on. The room was extremely dirty. We had to change the room as soon as we went inside our room.The new room was also very dirty. The bathrooms was dirty. There was a horrible smell in the bathroom.We both couldn't even take a shower the next day because it was so dirty. The room was not even cleaned the next day. When asked they told me we that they will clean it the next day.The hot water would not work. Had to keep the tap on for around 20 mins to get some hot water. Our friend who was in another room actually slipped on the bathroom at cut his arm.The staff was really unfriendly.The hotel does not even have a first aid kit.When we asked for help, instead of helping we were told to go to the pharmacy near by to seek medical help.The hotel had a night club with very strange men coming in the night.Especially the hotel next door Transatlantic their was another night club with very loud music every night.There was men and ladies coming in and out of the hotel rooms every now and then. They were drunk and very loud.It was really loud and it seemed very unsafe to stay in the hotel common area at night.We were using the internet one night and the staff from the hotel next door turned the lights off on us. The food was bad as well. It was the worst hotel room I have ever stayed in. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. The hotel boasts a 2 star but I think it should be reviewed. The common area decor was nice and sort of grand but altogether it was very run down .This is got to be the worst hotel ever.No one should have to live in a hotel like this.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ashkarelessar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2010

I stayed here for two nights and felt that it was good value for money in an excellent location and that my room was safe and secure. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful throughout. The rooms are relatively small and basic but they are light and very clean, with nice balconies to sit out on. Breakfast is in the linked Transatlantic Hotel, giving you a chance to enjoy its "bygone era" granduer. A very good budget option all in all.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank desertnomad68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SAN JOSE, CALIFORNIA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2009

Stayed for 2 nites. Fighting outside lobby/bar nightly. Rooms small, broken art and furniture,door barely locked and easily picked by novice. Airconditioning constantly leaking in middle of room, no warm water on 2nd day. No wi-fi as advertised. Restaraunt with nice decor but poor menu and ultra-minimal biscuit,coffee, jelly and a couple slices of lunch meat. Staff helpful at first, but very pushy and even rude for tips later....even after tipping quite well! Much more.... but generally all negative.
Good news is it was cheapest and nice local architecture/art on 1st floor only. Not worth the savings.....especially when personal safety involved. Please dont take the kids!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CITALLDOITALL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Casablanca hotels
2.0 mi away
Manzil Hotel
Manzil Hotel
#35 of 76 in Casablanca
160 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#45 of 76 in Casablanca
410 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Amouday
Hotel Amouday
#47 of 76 in Casablanca
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ibis Casablanca City Center
Ibis Casablanca City Center
#24 of 76 in Casablanca
959 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Toubkal
Best Western Hotel Toubkal
#26 of 76 in Casablanca
279 reviews
0.4 mi away
Moroccan House Hotel Casablanca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Volubilis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Volubilis

Property: Hotel Volubilis
Address: 22 Rue Abdel Krim Diouri, Casablanca 20000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Grand Casablanca Region > Casablanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 76 Hotels in Casablanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Volubilis 2*
Number of rooms: 270
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Volubilis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Volubilis Hotel Casablanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing