We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy and uncomfortable”
Review of Hotel Anfa Port

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Anfa Port
Ranked #72 of 75 Hotels in Casablanca
Oakley, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Noisy and uncomfortable”
Reviewed 24 November 2011

This hotel just made me sad. To travel so far... It is no where near a 4 star hotel. It barely gets a 2 from me. I traveled with a group called Adventures for Singles who misrepresented most of the hotels we stayed in. The good: the staff were friendly and kind. They wanted to do a good job but their hotel let them down. It is just down the street (10 min walk at most) from Rick's Cafe that you'll know from the movie Casablanca. The bad: I had black mold growing in my room. It overlooked a construction site with a German Shepherd that barked all night. It is old with older windows that do not block the noise. The elevators take an exceptionally long time to move. The hotel seemed empty so I'm not sure why I needed to stay over a construction site. The phone didn't work. The wi-fi does not work in the rooms and does not function well anywhere. The A/C unit didn't work at first but my friend got it working. Her unit failed in the middle of the night. This stay was literally painful. The only reason I'm giving it a two was the staff. In comparison to the other hotels I stayed in here, these guys were friendly and kind.

Room Tip: try to stay away from construction
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hookdontravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    4
    16
    17
    39
See reviews for
4
24
8
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
166 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

Not the worst hotel I ever stayed in but this is NOT a 4 star hotel.
The room was clean, bed was comfortable and staff was very nice.
Get used to climbing the stairs as the elevators are not in the best working order. Food not horrible but not great either. Bathroom is very small but great water pressure.

Room Tip: Rooms on the street side are VERY noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2011

This hotel is not nearly as bad as other reviews make it out to be. A friend and I booked in as it was the designated hotel of the tour we were on. I was anticipating the worst considering the reviews I'd read but we were pleasantly surprised. It is clean, comfortable and conveniently located. The staff don't speak English very well but we were able to get what we needed without too much trouble. It does the job for a couple of nights at an affordable rate.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CathLan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
685 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 359 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2010

Stayed one night in this harbour close hotel in Casablanca. The hotel looks a bit out dated, but must have been a very high class hotel when it opened some years ago.
We had a room facing the harbour and just outside the hotel there is a main road, nothing strange about that. However the Moroccans have another way of driving their cars than what I'm used to. When waiting for a green traffic light it seems like the Moroccans thinks it will turn green faster if they use their car horns.
Anway, the hotel room was like expected in size. The bath room was small.
The breakfast was continental and OK, though not that much other than cheese, marmelade and yoghurt in addition to coffe and tea.

The bar on the roof top gives you a nice view of the city.

The hotel is a little outside the city center, but if you like to walk, both city center and the large moske is reachable by foot.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank VacationOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2009

oct 09 - our guide booked this as a 4 star luxury hotel and when we got there we had an argument because believe me this is a 1 star hotel.
They gave us a key to look at a room after I insisted and when my husband and I went up there was someone sleeping in the bed.....
The elevators worked only sometimes and i agree there were some dodgy characters hanging around. Try for a hotel on the beach - they looked better.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChelseaCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Casablanca hotels

Aberdeen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2009

The adress provided for this hotel was incorrect, so I ended up on the wrong side of town initially.
Staff were difficult to communicate with as English not well known (understandable in a French/Arabic speaking country, but no real effort made).
The hotel booklet describes facilities and such, ie tours - see reception, transfers - see reception. Upon seeing reception about these, I was given a simple no. Whether that was lack of understanding or just didn't care.
The restaraunt was quite nice though. Seafood was exceptional and service was over the top (trying for a generous tip). Prices were good in comparison to the UK.
Noisy place being on a main road and right opposite a busy shipping port.

Overall, not impressed.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Handsome_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronda
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2009

It sounded good: a 4 star hotel at the centre of town. I chose it as a one night stopover becuase it promised wifi and ocean views.
As it turned out it was a noisy, poorly managed hotel. The wifi didn't work in my room (though it did in reception), there was no hot water, I was kept awake until about 3am by the noise of the 14th floor disco (it was filled with some very dodgy looking characters) dinner was OK but service simply terrible (the waiter apologised saying that he wasjust an apprentice) and the enjoyment of my meal wasn't helped when a fight almost broke out between a client and the restaurant manager. One of the two tiny lifts wasn't working and the second heaved and groaned which was vaguely alarming.
The price - a whopping 1200 dirhams (about €110) - was simply scandalous for a hotel of this (very low) standard which purports to have 4 stars.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GuyHW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Casablanca hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Toubkal
Best Western Hotel Toubkal
#27 of 75 in Casablanca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kenzi Basma
Kenzi Basma
#24 of 75 in Casablanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
0.9 mi away
MELLIBER Appart Hotel
MELLIBER Appart Hotel
#25 of 75 in Casablanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#48 of 75 in Casablanca
3.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Casablanca City Center
Ibis Casablanca City Center
#20 of 75 in Casablanca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel les Saisons
Hotel les Saisons
#17 of 75 in Casablanca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Anfa Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Anfa Port

Property: Hotel Anfa Port
Address: Bd. Les Almohades, Casablanca, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Grand Casablanca Region > Casablanca
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 75 Hotels in Casablanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Anfa Port 3.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Anfa Port Casablanca is an outstanding lodging where you will be catered with a wide range of luxury amenities and facilities. Situated at the heart of the Casablanca city, this four star hotel with its friendly atmosphere and excellent facilities is an ideal place to spend your vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Anfa Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing