We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for a night”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Astrid

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Astrid
Ranked #29 of 75 Hotels in Casablanca
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great for a night”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

We had a minor hiccup in our travels and had to quickly find lodging for one night in Casablanca. Hotel Astrid ended up being great for that. The price was reasonable, the location was good and seemed safe. The room and the bathroom were quite large with a lot of natural light. The cleanliness of the room left a bit to be desired though. The wifi worked only in the lobby, but it was quite fast.

They had just put in an AC unit in our room, but it wasn't working yet as of July 7.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. Their English was quite basic, but they did their best to accommodate our requests and questions.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ola H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    51
    41
    11
    5
See reviews for
7
42
25
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

This is a nice hotel at a reasonable price for a large city in Morocco. We stayed here two nights as we arrived in country. It's location is good for nearby restaurants and to see the sights in Casablanca. It is an easy walk from a tramway stop so I would recommend that unless you are traveling with a lot of luggage (we had backpacks).

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 37VAF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

We stayed for two nights and had an overall pleasant experience. The Wifi was a little spotty in the room but it worked great in the lobby. The hotel staff was very pleasant and stored our bags even after we checked out and ran to get some lunch. Rooms were very clean. I had originally booked a double bed but was given a twin (perhaps on account of the fact that my traveling companion and I are not married?) but we didn't mind and overall had a very pleasant experience. This hotel might be a little rougher for light sleepers, as the street outside is kind of noisy at night and the windows don't shut perfectly tight.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muenchen
Level Contributor
89 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

The hotel can arrange a pick-up service from the hotel that is very good, especially if you land at night and you want to avoid to be annoyed by the people offering taxi, hotel and so on. THe room are clean and quite large. No international TV but free WiFi in the lobby. Breakfast is quite good with fresh made pancake and many different kind of jams. The are is quite and safe but not many restaurant around.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antonio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2013

We stayed a couple of nights in December. The place is OK and the price is honest for Casablanca standards. Our room was sunny, with terrace. Some Moroccan decorations. The bathroom needed some reforms; hot water was leaking. Nevertheless breakfast was quite good (we tried many in Morocco) and included croissants! Two useful computers in the hall to check internet. Staff was kind (but not much communicative). One thing was very bad. Though our sheets looked laudered there were long standing stains. And the blankets smelled terribly of sweat (like never washed)!! Now, I really don't care about falling parts or style or missing commodities but SMELLY BLANKETS ARE UNACCEPTABLE! That seriously ruined my sleep. If they fix that you could think of choosing this place.

Room Tip: ou room on the back was sunny and has a terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cristina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2013

The staf at this little hotel are friendly and adept in several languages. We only had to ask and something was done ASAP.
There was a problem with the plumbing in our first room (106). The waste water pipes for the sink and the bidet leaked. At first we thought it was us just splashing around too much ,but we proved that it was the pipework later in the week by filling a sink full of water and letting it drain away (we usually carry a universal plug, as the are often not supplied) water everywhere from the back of the sink. When we told the management they moved us to another room (202). Same problems with the plumbiing, The wash hand basin was cracked and the toilet cubicle had a distinct smell of propane gas at night. Another day another room. 104 this time, plumbing all watertight, the stand for the wash hand basin was chipped and the sliding doors to the tiny balcony did not lock (same as 202 incidently).
Because of the plumbing problems (I think they extend to most rooms), the cleaning ladies take more time than usual in other hotels (drying all the bathroom floors) so vacuuming can still be going on at 4 in the afternoon, not good if you are trying to grab a siesta.
Breakfast is basic and filling, croissant, bread, butter, cream cheese, jam and tea or coffee.
Ayesha mentions the taxi provided. 250 dh for a trip to the airport is the going rate, so I have no problems with that. What I do think they need to address is the safety of the vehicles, both times we used one of their taxis they were like something from the wacky races, held together with string and gaffer tape.
I went to Rabat a couple of times and noticed that all the taxis there are brand new, so maybe the government is enforcing new standards.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the building are generally brighter and some have little balconies where you c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stewarth99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
132 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2012

This hotel is alright, but nothing special.

The plus points are its location and its price. Also, the rooms are spacious and the bathroom is of good quality.

The negative ones are that i found the staff unfriendly (in fact it was like they were doing me a favour for staying, not that i was a paying guest) and not really that helpful? Might have been a bad 24 hours for them, but i would expect more and got it everywhere else in Morocco?

The hotel is the noisest one i have ever stayed in with banging and comotion all night and i wore ear plugs and could still hear a constant banging?

I would stay here again as an overnight if i couldnt find anything of the same value, but only for a 1 night stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AFuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Casablanca hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#52 of 75 in Casablanca
3.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
2.2 mi away
Manzil Hotel
Manzil Hotel
#38 of 75 in Casablanca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.5 mi away
Moroccan House Hotel Casablanca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ibis Casablanca City Center
Ibis Casablanca City Center
#24 of 75 in Casablanca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel les Saisons
Hotel les Saisons
#20 of 75 in Casablanca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Amouday
Hotel Amouday
#50 of 75 in Casablanca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Astrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astrid

Property: Hotel Astrid
Address: 12, rue du 6 novembre, Casablanca, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Grand Casablanca Region > Casablanca
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 75 Hotels in Casablanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Astrid 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel Astrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astrid Hotel Casablanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing