We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good enough for the price that I've paid” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Amouday

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Amouday
Ranked #41 of 75 Hotels in Casablanca
Coram, New York
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good enough for the price that I've paid”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

Pros:

The room was plain and basic. But it's probably good enough for its price (budget ~42 Euro per night for me in Sept. 2013). The place was quite close to the city center such as Place Mohammed V and Place Nations Unies. The receptionists all seemed very kind. When I tried to ask questions in French, they'd answer back in English.

-----------------------------------------------------------

Cons:

There were probably only like 10 or so working TV channels. Nothing of them was really in English (except one which showed movies, quite a bit of them were Hollywood movies => English with Arabic subtitles). There was no safe though.

Room Tip: Maybe, you could ask them for a room facing the street to have a better view. My room was facing th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yip_kin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    55
    39
    9
    2
See reviews for
13
41
30
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
327 reviews
215 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

Booked for 2 nights at €54 a night specifically requesting a room with strong WIFI. Was able to connect to WIFI in the lobby but there was a pop up requiring local telecom user ID that prevented it from working. Reception said they would fix in 5 minutes. Room on 4th floor (with lift) was extremely spacious if not somewhat dated. But more than OK for a few nights. Was not even able to get a WIFI signal in this room. Explained to reception who said technician was coming out today. On asking what time I was shown a room on L3 that had in room reception but same connection issue. This was after I was asked whether I wanted to cancel my booking which was a little problematical having no idea what my options were. However to their credit reception kindly then offered to find me another hotel and i ended up staying at Hotel Guynemer just around the corner which has working WIFI, a more than acceptable room and was only €37 a night. Ignoring the WIFI issue, Guynemer would win hands down every time as best value for money. Both are central to what is a fairly unimpressive medina and maybe a 30 minute walk to the mosque. If I had my choice again I would have skipped Casablanca altogether.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MJS1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

I was spending about a week in Morocco by myself and chose to spend two nights in Casablanca. I travelled there from Fes by train and left by train going on to Marrakech.

With hindsight I would have skipped Casablanca altogether, but I went and so I feel I should review Hotel Amoud. It's located very well being close to the city centre. I was extremely surprised and happy with the overall look of the hotel and the standard of my room. It cost me 88 Euros for my two-night stay, plus the deposit I'd already paid to Hostelbookers.com...

Side note - Do not use Hostelbookers.com! They effectively charge you booking fees that you can avoid by booking direct with the property and because they quote you in your local currency this can lead to confusion and paying more than you'd expected. Whilst I wasn't operating on a tight budget I don't appreciate having to pay 10-15 Euros more than I'd expected.

Given that Casablanca is the main business centre for the country and that the clientele here appeared to be mainly business types from Saharan African countries, I though the cost of about £40 per night for the room was decent value. If there are two of you it represents even better value of course. The room had air conditioning, TV, a good bathroom and the inclusive breakfast was verging on excellent. What did let the place down was the noise. The walls are made of paper and some of the guests seem to like watching TV until 5am. The window kept out hardly any street noise and the tiled floors meant that every time the room upstairs moved a chair it vibrated right through my room. The guy on reception wasn't the friendliest guy I'd ever met but he did try to help when I asked.

Getting to the hotel from Casa Voyageurs train station is now made so much easier by the new tram system. There are trams from right outside the train station that stop in Place des Nations Unies, which is less than 5 minutes walk from the hotel. It saves you the hassle of haggling with the petit taxi drivers over price!

Wondering whether or not to go to Casablanca? Don't bother. Really feel the need? OK, well there is the Hassan II mosque which is fantastic, but that's about it for me. And you could do far, far worse than stay at Hotel Amoud.

Room Tip: Top floor to avoid having anyone above you, and a room at one end of a corridor to minimise the nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
336 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013 via mobile

Reading some of the reviews of this hotel makes me smile. For some reason there are travellers who if they do a little research would know that Hotel Amoud in a three star Moroccan commercial hotel but seem to expect five star resort hotel sucking up and facilities. Casablanca is very much the commercial hub of Morocco...the majority of BUSINESS is done here. Casablanca has a charm that is well diguised by a dowdy art deco exterior. There are a few tourist attractions the Hassan ii mosque being the primary one. For most visitors Casablanca is merely a stopover and the Hotel Amoud is great value IF you keep that in mind....save your money for other places in Morocco. This most recent visit is our fourth to the Hotel Amoud and as we found on our first visit it really helps if the guests give a smile and a friendly greeting. Clean, central and very reasonably priced... Where in the world can you park your car at a hotel for free AT THE FRONT DOOR ! Heaps of cheap and cheerfull food places and cafes within 5 minutes walk. Another tip a petite taxi (red car) should be no more than 15 dirhams from the train station to the Hotel Amoud...including tip !

Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
7 Thank Billabongshade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2013

The location of the Hotel is central and you can reach the medina and the grande mosque in less than half an hour.
Food is everywhere and cafes und Bars are around any corner.
Staff is very friendly and not annoying or tryingto sell anything. Nie change öffentlich pace.
Rooms were clean with all you need except a hair dryer.
We didn't Test the breakfast but there is one.

I would Not recommend to visit casablanca but if you do, Hotel amoud is a good place to stay!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prosumer089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caribbean
Level Contributor
95 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2012

I recently spent four days (and nights) in this hotel. It was not a very happy experience.
The first challenge was at reception: a particularly surly individual at reception was really quite rude, and unhelpful (he was still there, four days later, wearing the same clothes, and just as rude and surly). Then there was the room - on the fourth floor, right opposite the lift - and of rather irregular and small proportions. But it was clean. Nightime was hell: street noise, throughout the night, and the noise of the elevator - no matter what floor it was on you heard every movement, every opening and closing of the doors, etc. Then there was the opening and closing of the bedroom doors - enough to keep you awake most of the night.
Dawn came upon us - and there was the calling of the muerzin: not a problem, as one was preparing in one's mind to go back to a full sleep after that calling was quieted down. Uh, uh, that was not going to happen: other guests started to use their bathrooms, getting ready for the day. Every tap that was turned on, every shower that was taken, etc. could be heard. Absolutely no chance for further sleep. And then people put their shoes on and moved chairs, etc. Just more noise. Then they departed their rooms and called the lift to go downstairs to check out, etc. Just more noise, and more noise and distraction.
I (foolishly) thought I might catch up on some sleep by having a short nap in the afternoon: that also was a mistake on my part. A diligent housemade was determined to move every piece of furniture in every room, above me. below me, and beside me, and then squeegee the tile floors - the intrusion, the noise, was horrendous. By the end of the four days I felt like I was a sleep-deprived zombie.
The bathroom was quite small - you may even say "compact" - you virtually had to straddle the bidet in order to stand in front of the mirror to shave........ There was one bath towel, and one sort of bath mat. No face flannel. One small soap, and one sachet of shampoo/body gel.
What concerns me about this experience (for me) is: has the owner/developer of this recently-completed hotel ever stayed in it, overnight. Has he/she endured the unhappy service and noise, etc. They should be forced to spend a week in the place, and then required to come up with a plan to make the place comfortable and customer friendly.
Then they might get some more business.
Not recommended - at any price.





I did stay in for one breakfast - nothing to write home about!: a thoroughly rude young man quizzed one as to what sort of tea/coffeee you wanted; then he wandered away and cam eback with a tray with the breakfast. Not worth Dh40. You could go to a smart cafe on the Boulevard de Paris and have a complete Petit Dejeuner for Dh18 - and the sdervice will be cheerful

Room Tip: Corner rooms - opposite the lift - are to be avoided
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank oldfairdealtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Casablanca hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights before beginning an intrepid trip and were impressed with the hotel. It was simple but very clean, air conditioned, quiet and had a great breakfast (not included) with lovely fresh croissants, bread, coffee, yoghurt, boiled eggs, cheese and jam.
It was good value for money, would stay here again. A great place for a couple of days!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AteeshaRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Casablanca hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#51 of 75 in Casablanca
3.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Astrid
Hotel Astrid
#31 of 75 in Casablanca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
2.0 mi away
Manzil Hotel
Manzil Hotel
#36 of 75 in Casablanca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Moroccan House Hotel Casablanca
0.4 mi away
Ibis Casablanca City Center
Ibis Casablanca City Center
#24 of 75 in Casablanca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel les Saisons
Hotel les Saisons
#21 of 75 in Casablanca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amouday? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amouday

Property: Hotel Amouday
Address: 51 Rue Tahar Sebti, Casablanca, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Grand Casablanca Region > Casablanca
Amenities:
Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 75 Hotels in Casablanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Amouday 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Amouday reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing