We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Way below par”
Review of Majestic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Majestic Hotel
Ranked #73 of 78 Hotels in Casablanca
Reviewed 31 July 2013 via mobile

The room was very overpriced and was probably the worst room we stayed in all trip. The staff are quite unfriendly and did not make us feel welcome. There was a dead cockroach in the corridor outside our room. The room was quite old fashioned and the air conditioning had no remote to turn the temperature down so it was quite hot. The noise from the road is also a bit of a problem. The restaurant is also poor with nobody taking our order so we left to find a local restaurant. The area is quite hostile and we were greeted by numerous policemen in the lobby as we went to check out which was quite unnerving. We were also woken up at midnight by a phone call to demand payment for the next night which could have clearly waited until the next morning. I see no reason for anybody to stay here

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bigdog100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (99)
There are newer reviews for Majestic Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2013 via mobile

When we arrived we were told the room was 480 dirhams. We had to bargain hard down to 400. Still a rip off. At 20 to midnight we were asked to come down to reception and pay for the rest of our stay. The room was okay but they didn't keep the aircon remote in the room so you couldn't turn it down. We went to the restaurant and no one came and served us for 5 minutes so we left. The day we left there were 4 policemen in the lobby which was very suspicious. All in all a bad hotel, bad service. Do not stay here! There was a big cockroach in the corridor aswell

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

stayed in this hotel for 4 nights (May 16-20). Even on the 5th floor (and using ear plugs!) it was still unbelievably noisy, until about 3am, with constant traffic noise and horn honking, which then started all over again at around 5am. It was probably a nice hotel to stay in back in the 1950s!!
The room was 'old & tired', with a very dirty and unhygienic looking bathroom. The air-con did not work, and I was bitten whilst in bed. Smoking was clearly allowed in the rooms, and with gaps under the doors, the smoke seemed to easily be wafted from room to room. I would not recommend this hotel even to a deaf and blind person.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeredent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

The taxi driver from the train station took me here, because as i didnt pay him 200 dirham when we agreed on 50 he started acting very aggressively. The hotel did at least mediate eventually and i rate them 2 stars for making the taxi driver agree on 80, afterwhich the taxi man whilst inside the hotel spat right in my face.
I dont know if the taxi man knows the hotel well, but i didnt feel it was a safe hotel to be.
When i returned at 2am there was no concierge to give my passport back, afterwhich i found the consierge doing a drug deal for hash to someone who was taking a prostitute to their room.
The "conceirge" who looked about 20 was very unhelpful when i said i needed someone to speak to get my passport back, as it was of no concern to have to deal with hotel guests.
I remember the old man who also works in the lobby just being so excited seeing the prositute that genuine guests were of no concern to anybody.

380 dirham for the room which i would say was not cheap, most expensive one in my month stay in morocco and by far the worst room and hotel. noisy, bathroom water didnt work well, but the main concern for other people going to this hotel is it didnt feel safe and the people who work there have no concept of service.

Room Tip: dont stay there for one, i made mistake of being guided here by the taxi driver. dont ever trust the...
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexred88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
c l, Manager at Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2013

Thank you for your comments, we appreciate your stay with us, but kindly do not assume that our Hotel deal drugs or has prostitutes, we do not tolerate or accept such activities.
We have a 24/7 open reception, and if the person you spoke with could not help you, maybe he is not from the hotel personnel, as we are always and eager to serve our clients with the best service, and hospitality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

the hotel is old and has a historical Moroccan design style , but the rooms are well maintained, it is situated in the heart of the heart of the city, Nice staff, recommend it if you are spending 1 or 2 nights,

Room Tip: ask for a room with a balcony
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank driss f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

the welcome was terrible. The receptionist didn't even acknowledged us.
We were in a group of 12 and all 6 doubles were dirty and shabby.
The hotel is decadent but what's really annoying is its dirt.
Considering the encounters in the common areas I have the feeling that is also used by prostitutes.
I would give zero star if I could!

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
3  Thank gistro73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
c l, Guest Relations Manager at Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2013

Thank you for your comment, and for your stay at Majestic Hotel, if you did not like the room you were in, we could of offered you another room if you only asked the reception, we would of been more than happy to move you to another room, as per your feeling about prostitutes, we do not tolerate such actions in Our hotel, maybe there are many bars around the neighborhood since we are in the city center, that you feel that way, but you are wrong sir, we hope that enjoyed your stay in Casablanca, we Hope to see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Not advisable for single women - can be scary at night when local males try to hit on you - this Hotel made a point of handing me my key face down so no-one could see my room number! A very old, tired Hotel with chipped tiles in the Bathroom and no wall bar for the shower but fairly clean & tidy and VERY Central. Breakfast consists of a Croissant/Bread/jam/butter, Coffee and Orange juice - they also offer set meals in the evening but I never tried them
Go to Rick's restaurant down by the harbour - beautiful food, ambiance and service - the highlighth of my trip!

I have come back to the UK with 570 MAD if anyone wants to buy them before you go to Morroco - the currency is only available when you land over there - this amount would be enough for Airport Taxi, tip & drink
contact me on loops748@tiscali.co.uk if interested?

Room Tip: ask for a room at the rear of the hotel or you will never sleep!
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
c l, Manager at Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2013

Thank you for your Comment, please keep the 570 MAD, we would love to see you again in Casablanca! Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Casablanca hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Astrid
Hotel Astrid
#41 of 78 in Casablanca
119 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#45 of 78 in Casablanca
417 reviews
2.0 mi away
Manzil Hotel
Manzil Hotel
#36 of 78 in Casablanca
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Moroccan House Hotel Casablanca
0.3 mi away
The Seven Hotel and Spa
The Seven Hotel and Spa
#63 of 78 in Casablanca
44 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel Toubkal
Best Western Hotel Toubkal
#28 of 78 in Casablanca
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majestic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Hotel

Address: 57 Avenue Lalla Yacout | Quartier Liberté, Casablanca 20080, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Grand Casablanca Region > Casablanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 78 Hotels in Casablanca
Price Range: £27 - £37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Majestic Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Evoline ltd, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Majestic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing