We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but still needs lot of improvments”
Review of Pestana Casablanca

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pestana Casablanca
Ranked #11 of 77 Hotels in Casablanca
Reviewed 17 January 2014

I am not sure if we can call this place a a Hotel, I see it more like a furnished apartment then a Hotel. There's many reasons why Prestana is not a Hotel based on the international standards.
First of all I was really surprised that you can not get to the entrance with your car !!! you have to park in the parking and which is around 200 meters away from the main gate... This is really wear..What if it was raining...have any one thought about this ?!!
Also there's not bell boy to help you with your luggage, again is this normal ?
Rooms are spacy and clean , although there was strange smell inside the room but I am not sure if its because of the furniture or the humidity being close to the ocean.
The washing basin was cloaked...water was draining very slowly... this is really BAD !!
Forget about food...they have no room service...the restaurant in the fourth floor is a joke by all means.. there's only few tables and even the receptionist didn't recommend it for dinner ( I appreciate his honesty ).
I would suggest to market this place as furnished apartments and it will get 5 stars for sure.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samir K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pestana_Casablanca, Manager at Pestana Casablanca, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Dear Mr Samir K,
On behalf of all of us at Pestana Casablanca, thank you for being our recent guest and thank you for posting a review of your experience here on TripAdvisor.
Our guest’s feedback is of great importance to us, in particular by such well-travelled Guest as you are. Allow me with all due respect to reply your feedback. We are an Apart hotel with 73 suites. Despite of many visitors of the Anfa Place complex, park their cars in the entrance of the complex, 50 meters of the main entrance of Pestana, the Parking is not there. We have a surveillance 73 parking spots free of charge to our guests with direct access by 2 lifts to Reception and Guests Suites. Please accept my sincere apologizes for not to be informed by our team. We have 24 hours reception available with bell service and I’m really sorry to have knowledge that was not available on your arrival. We also have room service from 07:00 till 22:30 with menus available in all Suites. Our restaurant is small but demands our Guests needs. I'm positive that our team advises you another restaurant, and there are many in surrounded area, just because they have instructions to never disappoint the Guests expectations. Exactly because we have a small and calm restaurant many of our guests prefer to have their meals with us. Anyway thank you very much for your comments we are committed to taking all the measures improving our service and the Guests feedback are paramount to achieve that.
We would be much honored to welcome you back to Pestana Casablanca in the near future .
If so please contact me directly and I will make sure you will have different experience.
Yours sincerely,
Alfredo Tavares

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

43 - 49 of 145 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2013

Stayed 5 nights here in Sep/Oct 2013. Pestana Suites is a clean, new hotel within a modern business, commercial and shopping complex which has yet to be fully finished and occupied. Location of the hotel is about as good as you'll be able to find in Casa unless you need to be downtown for business. Room was a suite comprising combined kitchen/sitting area, bedroom & toilet. A balcony overlooking the pool is provided with a table and chair if you wish to sit out.

The pool is very small and shallow and is primarily there to allow you to dip and cool off - but access to the pool is complex and neccesitated leaving the building on the opposite side to the pool and walking around 3 sides of the building!! The poolboy seemed to sleep most of the day and seemed reluctant to provide towels or sweep/clean the pool area (the shower is filthy). The pool is overlooked by the beach esplanade on one side and is bordered by a pathway on another both of which give easy viewing to the pool area by strangers and at times we felt like zoo exhibits with locals stopping to stare.

Although the building is new the quality of the finish is very poor with lots of visible patching, cracks and broken lights. Our room in particular had a replastered wall, done I assume by a 9 year old, broken bedside lamp, broken toilet seat, broken bath drain, a loose tile propped against the bath (and which toppled onto my foot one morning!) and a non-locking balcony door. Finally, the provided washing machine in the kitchen failed to work with our clothes not rinsed, water leaking onto the floor and clothes trapped within.

The staff speak good English and appeared helpful at all times.

Overall, a good hotel for Casa which, despite being new, is let down by cheap fixtures and fittings and shoddy workmanship and finish.

Room Tip: Room overlooking pool or sea, not the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dfa a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pestana_Casablanca, Manager at Pestana Casablanca, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

On behalf of all of us at Pestana Casablanca, thank you for being our recent guest and thank you for posting a review of your experience here on TripAdvisor. Guest feedback is critical to our operation as it allows us to constantly evaluate our service, product and overall operations and make necessary changes.
We regret that your experience fell short of your expectations.
We've been investing heavily into improvements since we opened in the beginning of the year and, we're far from done. In the upcoming new year, we're planning to make a direct access from the corridor of level 0 to the swimming pool and also make the swimming pool area more private.
We have a preventive maintenance and all the rooms are subject to an inspection before be occupied. In your case I'm very sorry we did not meet what we are committed to offer to our guests. Nevertheless we're confident that the improvements will be well received.
In closing, I am more than confident that your experience was the exception and not the standard and sincerely hopes on a future experience you could restore your faith in us.

Yours sincerely
Alfredo Tavares

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We stayed here at the end of our Moroccan trip and decided to finish up with a ‘normal’ hotel resort experience to relax after staying in Riad’s in previous cities. We found the resort to be very nice and new but sometimes a frustrating experience. And Casablanca as a city is not somewhere we’ll ever go back to as it was just too frustrating for us enjoy after having a fantastic time in Marrakech and Rabat.…

As the Pestana complex is fairly new no taxi drivers knew where it was and we had to show them a printout of the name each time until we eventually realised it was easier to tell them the Anfa Place shopping centre which the resort is part of. Another detriment to it being so new is that only half of the complex/rooms appear to be open in the hotel block and surprisingly the best ones with beach views were all apparently unopened/unfinished. The view from our hotel balcony was of the neighbouring resort which was all finished and brand new but deserted and totally empty awaiting their opening.

The rooms themselves were all brand new and lovely with nice furnishings, fittings and being a good size with plenty of space. We slept well in the hotel and had no problem with noise from any other rooms.

We had no problem connecting to the WiFi but it was useless as it was too slow to use on any device and we gave up in frustration.

The beach is directly behind the hotel and we got lost trying to find the way to it (as signage either doesn’t exist or is poorly signposted) and eventually stumbled upon the exit to outside and to the beach so was no problem from then on.

The pool is small but big enough to relax in for a quick dip and pull up a deck chair to relax in the sun. If you want a towel reception will direct you to get it off a guy who is meant to be sitting down there keeping an eye on the pool etc. Unfortunately when we went for a swim the guy was not there and we couldn’t find any towels so had to traipse all the way back up to reception (easily a 5min walk back to street level) to ask for a towel. Again we were directed to get one from the guy that was meant to be there (later found out he’d gone for a swim to the beach) and 5mins later we’re down at the pool looking for him. Eventually we got peed off an found a security guard who had enough basic English to work out what we wanted and got on the radio so someone from the service staff could get us 2 towels from somewhere.

We were only in Casablanca for 2 days so planned on dropping the bags off into the room upon arrival and heading straight out to have a look around. Unfortunately our room was ready 2 hours later than when we arrived for check-in and we sat in reception for a while waiting before eventually going for lunch at a nearby restaurant. However the hotel staff and the people at the front reception were all lovely and very professional. Aside from the staff working the late evenings they were all fluent in English as well and were all very helpful.

We had phoned ahead from Rabat to see if we could arrange a transport via the hotel to collect us from the train station which was a 12min drive. The hotel quoted us €30 for a transport which was ridiculous for a 12min journey so we had to try our luck at the train station with our bags and get a Petit taxi which are the small red hatchback taxis that serve the inner city. Thankfully we had no trouble at the train station and the taxi drivers that swarmed us happily agreed a €10 fare to the hotel (even though it would’ve been just a few Euro’s on the meter).

Now our biggest gripe with trying to enjoy our trip to Casablanca were the Petit taxis. They are the only way to get around unless you hire a car (which I would strongly recommend against unless you’re used to driving in Africa with no road rules) and unfortunately the taxi’s ruined our trip. Every time we went out somewhere we had no problem getting a taxi from the hotel who would use the Meter. Fares are very cheap and a lot of the drivers are very friendly and welcoming to Casablanca and willing to try and talk to you. In this situation I have no problem tipping a friendly driver providing a valuable transport service. However once you’re stranded somewhere away from your hotel then those friendly Petit taxi drivers refuse to use the meter and once they ask you were you want to go then every fare quote starts around €10 as a fare. There was no negotiation even as we tried to offer less. This happened every time we left the hotel and went to try and enjoy something in the city. Usually each time we tried to come home we were walking in the direction of our hotel and took on average 20mins to find a Petit taxi that would either use the meter, or at least offer a fare of €5 for the trip back. The last thing you need to know about the taxis is that they can take 3 passengers. So even when my wife and I were in the back seat they will also pick up a person for the front seat so don’t be alarmed. It’s quite a smart system and the taxi driver can run 2 fares on the meter and we had no problem when this happened.

So beyond the many frustrating experiences we had in Casablanca, the hotel was very nice and we were quite happy to be ‘stuck’ there at the hotel considering it was too difficult to go out and see the city. The beach and surrounds in Anfa Place were all nice and the shopping centre next door is a good size (no need to go to the Morocco Mall and then not be able to get back via taxi which happened to us) .

I think when the nearby resorts and surrounding complexes all open fully this will be a lovely area along the beach and a hive of activity. At the moment it’s lovely but appears to still be going through the early phases of opening and the launch of everything along the newly developed beachfront.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MR-Dublin-Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pestana_Casablanca, Manager at Pestana Casablanca, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Dear MR-Dublin-Ireland,

Thank you very much for your recent visit to Pestana Casablanca and for taking the time to post a review of your experience on TripAdvisor. We truly appreciate when our valued guests take the time to comment on their experiences. Guest feedback is critical to our operation and we endeavor to improve our service and operations.
It will be our pleasure to welcome you back to Pestana Casablanca the next time your travels return you to Casablanca and I'm positive you will find big improvements in sorround area with many restaurants and shops already open.

Kindest regards

Alfredo Tavares

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Stayed 2 nights in Pestana Casablanca in a professional trip in July 2013. Location oh the hotel is excellent, near the new Anfa Place business, residential & commercial complex and just by the sea. Although having such a great location, and unless one peeks out from the room balcony, most rooms, while being spacious, well decorated and with big balconies, have absolutely no interesting view.
The hotel offers free parking in the -2 floor of the complex's parking area, it is however far from easy to find the proper parking space without knowing where it is and how to access it, it is very poorly signalled from the outside.
The room suffered from a permanent bad smell and there were several things missing for a self-claimed 5-star, such as hair dryer (or it was well hiden...) and paper towels in the bathroom. Wireless connection was good though.
Breakfast was in both variety and quality below acceptable for a 5-star (even if I understand that as the rooms are equipped with kitchenette many guests may tend to self cater). I felt totally discouraged to try the restaurant for dinner.
The staff was attentive, kind and correct.
Price is in my view way above acceptable for what is actually offered, at least for a short-stay professional solo visitor as I was in this case.

Room Tip: I guess you will have to pay a fortune to get one of the very few rooms facing the sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PAlmeida55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pestana_Casablanca, Manager at Pestana Casablanca, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Dear Mr PAlmeida55,

Thank you for staying with us recently and for posting a review of your experience here on TripAdvisor. Guest feedback is critical to our operation as it allows us to evaluate our product, service and operations and make appropriate changes when necessary. I regret to read that your experience fell short of your expectations.
In your review, you mentioned that the hotel Below expectation for a 5-star Pestana. However we never promoted Pestana Casablanca as a 5 stars hotel we promote as an aparthotel. Nevertheless our goal is provide a 5 star service which unfortunately in your case was not met. We wish that we had known that your guestroom amenities fell short of your expectations during your visit so we could have explored alternatives.
We'd love to have you back as our guest very soon and we'd love the chance to restore your faith in Pestana Casablanca. Please feel free to reach out to me directly if I may be of personal assistance.

Kindest regards

Alfredo Tavares

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

I stayed here for a few days this summer and I would stay here again.
The location could not be better!
The hotel is placed over the beach, in "La Corniche" wich is the main seaside avenue from Casablanca. It is really close to a shopping mall, with all the facilities, shops and a supermarket, close to the main restaurants, patisseries, open air discos, the legendary Rick's cafe or the Mosque from Hassan II wich is an absolutely stunning complex and a "must see".
The rooms were spacious, comfortable and clean and the bathroom modern and bright. The general staff was ok and it stood out that the managers are really attentive and commited to providing clients a true 5* service (my best regards to Mr. Paulo and Mr. Alfredo).
Issues to improve: 1) The breakfast was buffet style but a bit disappointing in what concerns the variety of the food. 2) Housekeeping staff shall be more carefull and efficient to match the hotel general standards.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dione_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pestana_Casablanca, Manager at Pestana Casablanca, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Dear Mr. Dione_W,

First and foremost I must say that I am glad have met you and I'm also very glad you look the opportunity to write such and honest review about your stay with us. We truly do appreciate guest feedback here at Pestana Casablanca and it's nice to know that we seem to be on the right track. We took in deep consideration your comments about Breakfast and Housekeeping and I can assure you that the steps were done to see the results immediately.
Please do keep us in mind the next time your travels bring you to Casablanca.

Warmest regards,

Alfredo Tavares

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 여행바라기꾼
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulo G, General Manager at Pestana Casablanca, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Penkova_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulo G, General Manager at Pestana Casablanca, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Casablanca hotels
0.8 mi away
Club Val d'Anfa Hotel
Club Val d'Anfa Hotel
#6 of 77 in Casablanca
706 reviews
2.7 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Casablanca
Movenpick Hotel Casablanca
#9 of 77 in Casablanca
1,371 reviews
3 mi away
Sofitel Casablanca Tour Blanche
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Casablanca
2.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Casablanca
Hyatt Regency Casablanca
#3 of 77 in Casablanca
1,089 reviews
2.1 mi away
Le Trianon Luxury Hotel & Spa
Le Trianon Luxury Hotel & Spa
#48 of 77 in Casablanca
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Casablanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Casablanca

Address: Boulevard de La Corniche | Anfa Place Living Resort, Casablanca 20200, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Grand Casablanca Region > Casablanca
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 77 Hotels in Casablanca
Price Range: £102 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pestana Casablanca 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pestana Casablanca is located on the seafront in Morocco's largest city. The hotel is part of the modern Anfa Place Living Resort complex, which offers a shopping area, restaurants, cafes, a Business Centre, a promenade with direct access to the beach and 24-hour security. The location of this hotel allows for quick and swift access to Mohammed V International Airport and is only 10 minutes from the city centre and its business district. It is also close to the main tourist attractions such as the Hassan II Mosque, the magnificent shore-front restaurants, clubs and shopping areas, making the Pestana Casablanca the ideal place for you to discover and soak up this city. The hotel has 83 spacious suites covering at least 60 m², each equipped with a kitchenette and the majority having a living room separate from the bedroom. This is the ideal place for your stay whether it be for business or pleasure, long or short. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, PESTANA MANAGEMENT - Servicos de Gestao S.A., TripOnline SA, Prestigia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pestana Casablanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing