We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good position and very good service”
Review of Al Walid Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Al Walid Hotel
Ranked #19 of 78 Hotels in Casablanca
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I spent 3 days on this hotel. I was surprised that service, furniture, breakfast were better than a common 3 stars hotel.
Personell speaking good english, good breakfast, very clean room even if mine was small.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ugo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (210)
There are newer reviews for Al Walid Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

109 - 115 of 210 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014

Located in the square of Casablanca, one block from the "Casa Voyagers" train terminal, this seven story hotel is comfortable and has all amenities including free WiFi. Perfect for an overnight stay as I arrived late evening from Mohamed V Airport enroute to Marrakesh. Complimentary buffet breakfast includes various meats, assortment of sweet rolls, fresh squeezed juices i.e. (pineapple, orange and pear) scrambled eggs, coffee and tea.

The hotel was recently renovated and my room on the fifth floor overlooking the park was clean, quiet and comfortable! Would definitely book this hotel again.

Room Tip: choose a room overlooking the square
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank njh30303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We stayed here for two nights en route and back to Fez.
Hotel is across the plaza from train station Casa de Voyageur, a 3 min walk.
There is also a tram service that runs from just outside the hotel, a 1 min walk, that takes you to the city center and old medina area in 7 minutes.
The hotel itself is basic but clean, the staff is helpful if you ask.
**My husband left his new Samsung 5 mobile in the room at check out and they went out of their way to chase us to the train station to find us!! Then kept the phone for us since they could not find us. So we are very grateful to the hotel staff for their honesty and effort. Thank you so much. Would recommend this hotel for short night stays.

Room Tip: Stayed at the double room and then what they call the mini suite. Both are the same except mini suit...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mimima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Plus;
1) Location, near the train station, only walk, so if you are going to change Casa city, do not hesitate to book this hotel, better than staying midtown. 2) Room is clean. 3) Wi-Fi is available, free of charge, but you have to ask for. 4) Toilet is clean. 5) Breakfast is good. Generally; if you are not going to stay in Casa or for short time, go for this hotel.

Minus;
1) No Cold AC, we have asked the receptionist about it, they said only heater. It might be required during summer time. 2) No safety box in the room. 3) We haven't time to explore the rest of hotel facilities.

Room Tip: Good Especially if You are Changing City
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hussain M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

The Al Walid Hotel is conveniently located, opposite from the entrance to the Casa Voyageurs train station, and alongside the tram stop. This does mean that there can be a bit of noise, but the windows are double-glazed, and there are lined black-out curtains (these keep the hot sun out as well).
The welcome and attention at Reception is fine: English is spoken, one person attends to you, and they are friendly.
Yes, the rooms are small(ish) - but they are marginally larger than those at the Ibis, located on the other corner. And the bathrooms are a little larger also. And you have several towels and several soaps and shampoos in the bathroom. The situation of the electric plugs and lights was also helpful. And the flat-screen TV was perfect. And you get a small fridge (which worked well).
I did not access the hotel's wifi as I had my own Meditel stick.
The breakfast was more than adequate: REAL, freshly-squeezed orange juice (cf. Ibis), various breads, cheeses, meats, good coffee. The location of this Breakfast Room is a bit grim, however: it is located on the low-ceilinged Mezzanine floor, with no actual windows or outside light coming in.
On the two nights that I stayed there were people in the restaurant in the evening; the daily menu looked quite appealing, and not too expensive. The restaurant is not licensed (but, if you are desperate for a beer or some wine then there are several, rather rough, bars nearby).
The beds are firm; the sheets, etc. are crisp and clean; and the carpet in the room I occupied was in order.
Finally, it has to be said that there are times in the day when you are conscious of the noise outside: the trams starting up at 5.00 am; the whistles, etc. of shunting trains, and, just about worst of all, the constant honking/tooting of horns from irate/impatient motorists in the street, negotiating the quite-complicated flow of traffic around the Square/Place Sidi Mohamed.

Room Tip: I rather suspect that all rooms in this hotel are likely to have some occasional noise - just keep t...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oldfairdealtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

An easy 5 minute stroll from Casa Voyager train station. Very clean and breakfast was good. Asmae MALAJATI is the manager and she is very helpful and the check in is easy and welcoming, especially after 15 hours of traveling,
The neighborhood is bustling. This is not a resort location but is a great place to rest your bones, for a night, before catching your morning train.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank badmooie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We stayed for a night, and it wasn't that bad. It's clean, the staff are lovely, and it is really close to the train station. The restaurant is GREAT, I had a fantastic kus-kus there. The rooms are tiny, suite is actually a long room, and the internet connection is not good. Would really recommend it for a nigh, but not longer.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank Lama A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Casablanca hotels
1.3 mi away
Ibis Casablanca City Center
Ibis Casablanca City Center
#21 of 78 in Casablanca
969 reviews
1.8 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Casablanca
Movenpick Hotel Casablanca
#10 of 78 in Casablanca
1,290 reviews
2.5 mi away
MELLIBER Appart Hotel
MELLIBER Appart Hotel
#14 of 78 in Casablanca
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Barcelo Casablanca Hotel
Barcelo Casablanca Hotel
#9 of 78 in Casablanca
552 reviews
1.0 mi away
Manzil Hotel
Manzil Hotel
#36 of 78 in Casablanca
160 reviews
5.3 mi away
Ibis Casablanca Nearshore
Ibis Casablanca Nearshore
#18 of 78 in Casablanca
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Walid Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Walid Hotel

Address: Place Sidi Mohamed, Belvedere (opposite Casa Voyageurs stn), Casablanca 20310, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Grand Casablanca Region > Casablanca
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 78 Hotels in Casablanca
Price Range: £56 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Al Walid Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Al Walid Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing