We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place with potential, but needs some key improvements”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Imperial Casablanca Hotel & Spa
Ranked #43 of 75 Hotels in Casablanca
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful place with potential, but needs some key improvements”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I visit Casablanca for business once every two months and most of the times I have stayed at the Imperial Casablanca. I'm a sucker for a buidling with a history, so I have been coming back to this place mostly because I'm fascinated by the history of the buidling and the design.

Unfortunately the 'down sides' of the hotel are starting to weigh more then my love for a pretty building. In order for the hotel to go from ok, to great some basics would need to be adjusted:
- Cleaning: the rooms and especially the bathrooms are not very clean and seem to become less clean on each visit.
- Wifi: as a business traveller I need internet that works, always. The internet is super slow and sometimes not working.
- When the hotel was renovated they went for some cheaper options when it comes to materials. Especially the bathrooms are already starting to look old and rundown.
-No mini bar, or a bottle of water in the hotelroom upon arrival. The rooms had minibars in the beginning, they now are empty. Since you cannot drink tap water in Morocco, a fresh bottle of water would be great to have in the room.

On a positive note: the staff is super friendly and the price (which includes breakfast) is good too. The buidling is indeed beautiful and I apprciate the effort which was made to bring some 'old glamour' back to the place.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Bobbi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    48
    71
    19
    23
See reviews for
16
57
20
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
280 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

absolutely terrible hotel from all points of view.
our first room had a horrible smell coming from the bathroom. after we changed to a new room, we thought things might be better, but the room was facing the tram street, which makes a constant noise as from 5 am.
this is far from being a 4 star hotel, it lacks in cleanliness, location and quality of amenities.

overall= 2/10. one of my worst experiences in a hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Andrei I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Casablanca hotels

Morris Plains, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

It is convenientaly located near old Medina with a taxi stand outside. If you arrive at Casablanca train/tram station, skip the taxi drivers who demand 60-100 dhirams. Take the train and it stops like a minute past the hotel. If you ask people around, they gladly help you and it costs much less the taxis. The rooms are ok and there is not much of a view around and all you get to see is the satellite topped roof tops. But this is typical of any Moroccan city in general. The corridors are unusually dark as it takes some time for those lights to come on. The rooms are very modern; they have wifi that works well. The breakfast was very good. But forget about getting a taxi through the hotel at all. Even the taxi stand outside was not helpful. We were there only for one night as there is nothing much to do in Casablanca and this hotel served our purpose. The fact that this used to be the army head quarters of General Patton I think was interesting.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ushdra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Arrived at the hotel after 40 hours of travel from NZ and so appreciated the comfortable bed and room. The hotel is clean and well kept and we appreciated the recently renovated Art Deco style which was tastefully done. The Wifi was good and there was a security box in our room. Staff were friendly and helpful especially the bellman Karim who spoke good English. He gave us good directions for finding the supermarket (5 mins walk) and handy restaurants. The staff were most accommodating about us having a late lunch one day - very attentive to our requirements.

Of our 16 day visit to Morocco this hotel offered perhaps the best breakfast - full buffet, plenty of fresh fruit and yoghurt and omelettes could be ordered. Coffee was ok.

Walking to the central area and port is about 10-15 minutes so the hotel is well located.

Room Tip: The tram stop is at the front of the hotel and in our room and we heard it come and go through the n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MWathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I was hoping for a little more from this hotel. I don't think the spa is up and running. And the lounge bar is kind of awkward. Plus the wifi is rubbish! However, the breakfast buffet is nice and the staff are very friendly. Plus the restaurant is reasonably priced for a hotel restaurant. Overall we had a nice stay here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ont.
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Let me prefice this by saying that if you are coming to Casablanca "to see the sites" there is only one site to see and that's the mosque, which you could easily visit on a day trip from Rabat or as you are passing through.

Having said that my best friend and I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights and it was fine, but nothing spectacular. It was clean, well maintained, and centrally located between the train and bus stations. We ate at the restaurant one night and I was terrible sick (not sure if it was dinner or lunch, but I was sick), so I would avoid it. The taxi stand outside the hotel is filled with creeps and the hotel does nothing to help you flag a honest one down.

I will not be returning to Casablanca, but if a friend were I would not recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The WiFi is weak throughout the hotel, but those located close to the elevators seemed to have bette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IMPERIAL CASABL... I, Responsable Reservation at Imperial Casablanca Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. Your comments will allow us to improve our service.

We are sorry that your stay did not meet all your expectations and we did not have the time to meet during your stay.


We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in Casablanca very soon, all the staff at IMPERIAL CASABLANCA will remain at your disposal for any request you may have during your stay.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Hotel is a famous art deco building with photos of this period and very nice decorated. In the begging od pedestrian zone, in centre of Casablanca, near central market, just 10 minutes walking to medina. Room is big, modern and very clean. I stayed two nights for business. Very good breakfast, fresh fruits, a woman doing pancaces and omlettes. Great dinner buffer with delicious desserts. Staff is very helpful and friendly.
I stayed before in many hotels in Casablanca, but this one would be perfect when they open SPA center. I can highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IMPERIAL CASABL... I, Responsable Réservation at Imperial Casablanca Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We are very pleased to know you enjoyed your stay at Imperial Casablanca Hotel.

This is the kind of service we are working for and it is always a real satisfaction when we share this kind of comment with our teams, who work so hard to satisfy every single guest.

We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Kindest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Casablanca hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel Toubkal
Best Western Hotel Toubkal
#26 of 75 in Casablanca
273 reviews
1.7 mi away
MELLIBER Appart Hotel
MELLIBER Appart Hotel
#23 of 75 in Casablanca
58 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel les Saisons
Hotel les Saisons
#17 of 75 in Casablanca
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Kenzi Basma
Kenzi Basma
#25 of 75 in Casablanca
201 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Mogador City Center Casablanca
0.5 mi away
Ibis Casablanca City Center
Ibis Casablanca City Center
#22 of 75 in Casablanca
954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Casablanca Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Casablanca Hotel & Spa

Property: Imperial Casablanca Hotel & Spa
Address: 291 Boulevard Mohamed V | Angle Rue Azilal, Rond-Point Shell, Casablanca 20110, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Grand Casablanca Region > Casablanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 75 Hotels in Casablanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Imperial Casablanca Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classified as a Historical Monument by the Ministry of Culture; the hotel counts 105 rooms in total, including 15 exclusive suites, 2 restaurants, a bar, a conference center and a spa (under construction). After 5 years of renovation, the hotel opens its doors to both its business and leisure guests, offering them a unique experience: a journey back to the epoque of Casablanca’s glorious years. The contemporary atmosphere of the hotel reflects the essence of the past. The hotel’s Art Deco facade welcomes guests into an intimate and elegant venue, seducing them from the very first step into the reception hall. The overall ambiance insures guests that come alone or with their families a cozy “at home” feeling, whilst those coming for business benefit from an exceptional and professional environment. An amalgam of the hotel’s ideal location at the very center of Casablanca, its proximity to the business district, its distinctive decoration, restaurants, trendy bar and lounge, complemented by a customized and sophisticated service create a truly unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, Agoda, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Imperial Casablanca Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing