We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite Enjoyed this Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Des Arts Suites & Spa
Ranked #69 of 75 Hotels in Casablanca
Fes, Morocco
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Quite Enjoyed this Hotel”
Reviewed 30 October 2007

I'm surprised to hear such poor reviews of this hotel. I have lived in Morocco for several years and stayed at many hotels all over the place and this is one of my favorites! Jack Beach is also one of my favorite beachs. It certainly is not touristy, and is a bit out in the rural area, but most of Morocco is rural and it's a great way to see the real Morocco while also staying in a very nice hotel.

I was first introduced to the hotel when my husband and I went to have 'breakfast' during Ramadan last year with a friend visiting from Europe. The meal was really lovely (a large variety of authentic Moroccan food-even my Moroccan husband who usually hates the quality o fMoroccan food in restaurants thought the food was great) and the staff very friendly. Also, the dining room was superbly decorated with gorgeous gardens right next door.

When my parents came to visit us a few months later, I chose this hotel to stay at. Their room was superbly decorated and comfortable--very modern. The staff wasn't particularly helpful this time, but we also didn't really need their help with anything. We also have a car, which made it quite easy to get back and forth between the city (the drive is really lovely!) Also, the restaurant was disappointing. They had a large tour group that they were serving buffet style Moroccan food, but said we were not allowed to eat there (only French food at the other restuarant). The service was extremely slow and bad and the food sub-standard. I would definately recommend insisting on eating the Moroccan food there. Otherwise, though, my parents really enjoyed the gardens, the close access to the beach (more locals than tourists, but I personally find that more interesting), and the beautiful room. I would definately stay here again, although perhaps eat at the cafe a few meters away where they serve great fried fish and salad on the terrace overlooking the ocean.

  • Stayed April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kikiaumaroc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    19
    11
    19
    37
See reviews for
17
38
8
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
1 review
Reviewed 28 October 2007

just to avoid!! in the middle of nowhere. i had booked for 8 night. couldn ' t stand. the property is all right!!
but they over charge breakfast!! 120!!!
plus u will get tax..

even at the best rate 40 euros.. once u add breakfast and tax.. u come with 68 euros!!

now i booked at the IBIS city center the new one just opened. it s all include 71 euros!! and at least service is there!! and u don ' t have to spend 400 dirham for airport and visit..

to escape GOlden tulip!! take a taxi to city gate: 10 dirham and an other one to anywhere.. max 40 dirham!! the bell boys are kind!!

the beach... ahhah well quite trashy beach... stone and trash/ plastic/ bottle.

when u go out from the hotel go in left side... the other convenient store ( with fruit outside) robbers. just tapped tourist!! the small local is kind

  • Liked — internet connection to not get depressed and find an other hotel
  • Disliked — the location!!!!!!!!!!!!and breakfast price!! [--]
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank vcecilie78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Casablanca hotels

Cairo
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2007

I was there at the end of February. it's around 30 KM from the centre of Casablanca, it was too far, I didn'y find thing to drive me to the city centre except a large taxi, and i have to request it from the hotel concierge 15 minutes before the time i want .
the hotel is overlooking the ocean, I think it could be a nice view if the weather is good, but when I was there it was sunny but I didn't see the ocean clearly, the hotel furniture is modern in the rooms and ultra modern in the lobby and it's in a good condition. staff are friendly,
there was no amenities in the rooms, it's like a furnished appartment.
they have nice Statues in front of the dining restaurant, and the view between the hotel and the ocean is a small farm, I saw cows and sheeps.
there's no business centre, and I coudn't able to have access for the internet from the room, there is no LAN or wireless connection, but they allowed me to use a computer in the reception desk at the lobby.
there's no shopping area near by, I liked the theme of the hotel but the distance between it and the city centre was too much.

  • Liked — atmosphere
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kouki_kouki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2007

I think the review rating this hotel as 'fantastic' must have been written by the hotel itself as a promotion.

There is NO beach near the hotel! The sea is close (400 m), but it is not accessible - the sea front is pebbly and used as a rubbish tip.

Our intial room stank - really stank - of drains (as, incidentally, did the reception), the next room much smaller and peeling paper on ceiling in bathroom.

Water was dirty yellow colour (old pipes?).

Gym was a joke and a health and safety nightmare - three bits of cardio (two of which were out of action)... BUT the entire gym was virtually unusable as the floor was so highly waxed it was as slippy as an ice rink. I tried standing on some stones which had been laid as ornaments by the side of the gym to do some squats, but gave up frustrated. Very dangerous.

Reception staff not helpful - no information about the hotel provided upon arrival and we did not realise until the thrid day there that there was a pool on the roof (which was too cold to use).

This is not a five star - I promise you. I have had a better hotel experience in two stars.

Go somewhere else - a proper five star, please or you will be disappointed. This is a shabby hotel for it's price bracket

  • Liked — Colours of the buildings that comprise the hotel
  • Disliked — the shabby, down-at-heal feel - it's worn out and poor value
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank retsemrubv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2007

A very unexpected delight. We were only in Casablance for the weekend and decided it would be nice to be close to the beach. The hotel was very good value for money and beautiful. The rooms are tastefully decorated and great bathroom. The view from the bedroom was spectacular.

  • Liked — View of the sea from the bedroom
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank London01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2006

We stayed at Hotel des Arts 2 nights in the end of April. The hotel premises were quite nice, artisty, and in very good shape (new, modern, fancy). Yet the service was not exactly what I would be expecting from a 5 star accomodation. Long waiting times for getting the room, paying the bill and being showed to the table. Very few people spoke English, yet those who did, were very helpful arranging taxi drives etc.! The Spa was lovely and inexpensive. The service was very good there.

Do not go if you want the buzz of Casablanca (and do not wish to pay 50EUR for a round trip back and forth). This place is in the middle of nowhere, in a slightly messy, rural (but safe) neighbourhood - but if you enjoy walks on rocky beach just by yourself and very few locals - I think it still is one of the best options in Casablanca.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank frequenttravellerAE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Casablanca hotels
9.2 mi away
Le Zenith Hotel & SPA
Le Zenith Hotel & SPA
#55 of 75 in Casablanca
53 reviews
12.1 mi away
MELLIBER Appart Hotel
MELLIBER Appart Hotel
#25 of 75 in Casablanca
54 reviews
9.5 mi away
Hotel Azur
Hotel Azur
#37 of 75 in Casablanca
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Kenzi Sidi Maarouf Hotel
Kenzi Sidi Maarouf Hotel
#7 of 75 in Casablanca
209 reviews
13.1 mi away
Farah Casablanca
Farah Casablanca
#44 of 75 in Casablanca
594 reviews
12.8 mi away
The Seven Hotel and Spa
The Seven Hotel and Spa
#60 of 75 in Casablanca
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Des Arts Suites & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Des Arts Suites & Spa

Property: Hotel Des Arts Suites & Spa
Address: Jack Beach | Dar Bouazza, Casablanca 20000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Grand Casablanca Region > Casablanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Spa Hotel in Casablanca
#47 Luxury Hotel in Casablanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Des Arts Suites & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Des Arts Suites & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Des Arts
Golden Tulip Casablanca
Casablanca Golden Tulip

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing