We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old style mini hotel...”
Review of Jnane Sherazade

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Jnane Sherazade
Ranked #42 of 75 Hotels in Casablanca
1 review
“Old style mini hotel...”
Reviewed 23 March 2012

We wanted to stay a Riad, but this hotel was not the one we expected.
I chose because they have hamam in the riad, but it's not functioning....
The cost of one can of beer is 7USD for mini bar in the room.
I think the cost performance is not reasonable.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shshsho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    26
    18
    13
    4
See reviews for
15
34
3
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2011

We were three adults (parents and adult daughter). We had arranged with the hotel for a car to collect us from the airport on arrival in Casblanca. They had our flight number and details. The airline changed the schedule to be 3 hours later (11pm), so we emailed the hotel 3 days before arrival to let them know. There was no car waiting when we arrived. Two calls to the hotel were answered by someone who did not speak English, so we caught a taxi. When we arrived at the hotel, we were told that the car had gone to collect us at the original time, and returned (they did not bother to check the flight details!). The non-English speaking person on night duty was not prepared to give us our room until we paid (they had the wrong information on check out date and wanted to charge us for the unused car transport). We demanded that they call the manager (12 midnight). He was not pleased to hear from us but instructed the night manager to give us our triple room. There were no bath towels in the room, but the night manager obtained some for us.
The next morning, the hotel manager arrived, and berated us for waking him. He insisted that it was our fault that the car was sent at the wrong time, and disputed the fact that there were no bath towels in the room ("We hadn't looked properly", according to him). We then had to argue over the charges. He shouted and called us "gangsters".
The hotel is nice enough, and the room was comfortable, but the breakfast was ordinary and overpriced. The manager........he was rude and repeatedly insulted us. We were glad to leave.
I would never recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rodnmarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Casablanca hotels

Shanghai, China (US Expat)
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2011

Riad Jnane Sherazade was the last hotel of our trip. Our guide/driver spent an hour trying to find it with multiple calls to the hotel for directions. We had booked two rooms months in advance. Our room ended up on the second floor. The kids roome was outside the hotel and you entered through door on the street - with no security. Dinner was very expensive 350 dirham with 10% service charge. The food was nothing special. This was the low point of our visit to Morroco.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank china_mom101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wroclaw
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2010

We've stayed at Riad Jnane Sherazade for one night during our trip through Morocco. On our arrival we've been asked to pay 34 euros more than we supposed to according to the reservation. We've asked the staff about it and they said that they'd added extra breakfast and tax - 17 euros per person. Nobody had asked us even if we wanted a breakfast or not. Also the tax fee supposed to be 1.5 euro per person per night but they've tried to convince us that it was a mistake! The rooms weren't very clean, there was only one towel in the bathroom. I really can't say much good about this place!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gingus82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2010

We stayed here twice both at the beginning and end of our Moroccan holiday. The rooms are comfortable enough but the tubs have nothing to grab on to except a glass partition and the angle of the tub makes it difficult to step in. Breakfasts on the patio were delicious. Dinner was overpriced and the drinks cost as much as NYC, or more. Far more than the prices of those we ordered elsewhere throughout Morocco.

Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CarenB4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunusstein, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2010

As others have said, this is not a genuien Riad so if you are expecting such a thing then choose somewhere else. It is actually a nice Villa.

I like the style of the hotel, but I appreciate that it is perhaps a love hate thing. They have tried to create an authentic Morocco style hotel and this is nice. However, what lets it down is that it looks like they have just never bothered with any maintenance. As such, there are lots of general wear and tear which has built up over the years and now gives the whole place a kind of dirty uncomfortable feel. Our rooms were also often smelly and the shower/bath could be difficult to climb into as it is quite high. The rooms were a decent size however.

Beware: The photos on the official website look very nice and were probably take when the place was last renovated and it does not look nowhere near as nice now.

The service was OK, but you have to be careful as it is family run then at certain times there is nobody on reception. We had to check out the night because we left too early (7:15) to check out the next morning.

As also mentioned, no taxi drivers can find this hotel. We also had a issue as nobody knows the hotel or the street in which it is located, and we had to drive around the area several times until we spotted it or the road.

Overall, I would avoid it in the future and not recommend it to anybody.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2009

We were here last october, just for one night. It was our first night in Maroc. We got the big rooms, beautiful, quiet and big!. The villa is situated in a very quiet neighbourhood and if you have your own are all interesting places are in reach. Donot forget to visit the big mosque (little bit expensive) but the outside is interesting to!. You cannot call this hotel a riad, tt is more like a villa, that is how they present themselves also.
The staff was very friendly and the nigthquard was looking after us, we felt very save. The breakfast was great on the outside balcony. One tip: take your one drinkingwater because they charge 4 euro's on a little bottle, that was dissapointing, but that is the only negative thing.

Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveldreamers11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Casablanca hotels
0.9 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Casablanca
Movenpick Hotel Casablanca
#10 of 75 in Casablanca
1,212 reviews
4.0 mi away
Club Val d'Anfa Hotel
Club Val d'Anfa Hotel
#6 of 75 in Casablanca
660 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Le Doge
Hotel & Spa Le Doge
#5 of 75 in Casablanca
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
JM Suites Hotel
JM Suites Hotel
#54 of 75 in Casablanca
147 reviews
2.0 mi away
Gray Boutique Hotel and Spa
Gray Boutique Hotel and Spa
#18 of 75 in Casablanca
140 reviews
1.5 mi away
Novotel Casablanca City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jnane Sherazade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jnane Sherazade

Property: Jnane Sherazade
Address: 8 Rue de Belgrade | Habous, Casablanca 20000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Grand Casablanca Region > Casablanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Casablanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Jnane Sherazade 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A wonderful 55m2 space, the Jnane Sherazade suite room, blending ancient and modern. Ancient traditions preserved in the original enamelled clay finishes, the decorated woodwork, the angular bathroom, modern comfort provided by the recessed air conditioning units, the insulation and sound-proofing, the state-of-the art fixtures and fitting, the telephones located on the bedside, on the table in the lounge an the bathroom wall. There is also a balcony overlooking the garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Prestigia, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Jnane Sherazade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Jnane Sherazade Casablanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing