We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and service but rooms need refurbishment”
Review of Jnane Sherazade

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Jnane Sherazade
Ranked #41 of 77 Hotels in Casablanca
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed for 2 days, liked the beautiful garden, friendly staff and location, but the room is old, with worn out carpets, dusty curtains and bed cover. Hope they clean and refurbish it, and it will be a great place then.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2014

We were doing a private tour through Morocco, organized from Australia with Ibertours. This riad was chosen by our tour company and as such I don't know the price. We stayed for one night including breakfast, arriving late afternoon and leaving for the airport the next day.

Although, called a Riad, it is an elegant Villa. We were told it was built in 1952 as a villa and is in the Art Deco style. The foyer area, attached lounge area and restaurant are elegantly furnished and there are beautiful mirrors, chairs and ornaments in abundance and reflecting this era perfectly. We loved it.

Pleasantly greeted and shown our room. We were allocated 'Myosotis' a lovely, double room on the ground floor with an adjoining terrace, which then opens into the garden. This lovely garden reminded me of a quiet oasis, whilst the busy world was outside the fence. Lovely!
Nicely decorated room and the terrace is a bonus.
Wifi is free and fast and works well in the room. There is a safe and a mini bar.
The bathroom is a good size, with a shower over the bath and a double hand basin. Everything is very clean.

We had decided to have dinner in the beautiful restaurant and were so glad we did. Our most expensive meal while in Morocco, but given the food quality, the beautiful surroundings, excellent service and our last night in Morocco, totally worth it.

Breakfast consisted of freshly squeezed juice, yogurt warm pastries, bread and coffee. Everything was good quality and that wonderful dining room again! Ah!

Loved the grace and charm of Jnane Sherazade and would recommend it for those who prefer smaller establishments

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank barbaraanne56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We liked the hotel a lot.. It is beautiful and elegant. The rooms are amazing, the service very good and the neighborhood is Moroccan in a friendly relaxed way. We arrived late and then it is nice to have a fine cuisine in the hotel. We will recommand it for sure.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Esther40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Classy touches throughout, from the dining room (including the dinnerware) to the suite itself, with the most luxurious bathrobe I have ever had in a hotel. Pleasant, helpful staff. Very good location near the King's Palace and the artisan market. Interesting and stunning decor. I would recommend the provision of a visitor's pack in each room to satisfy those guests who cannot ask questions. Other 4 and 5 star hotels throughout Morocco tended to be too hot (because of winter, the aircon was on too high, and doonahs were provided rather than blankets). Here the temperature was just right, and the blankets (Pierre Cardin, no less) could provide the personal warmth required.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

I am perplexed by some of the reviews of this hotel. Yes, my taxi driver also had to make a phone call to find the place - but why is that a problem? Those complaining about that must wish to lead utterly dull lives.

I have found the welcome very warm and friendly and the owners and staff completely hospitable and very helpful indeed with organising trips and taxi rides at very cheap rates. The breakfast is very pleasant.

It is not true at all that this hotel is in an isolated position, or far from shops and restaurants. Literally a five minute walk away is the main street of Mers Sultan, and within less than ten minutes walk (for me and I am 55 and fat) are several Moroccan restaurants, a Chinese, an Italian, a sushi, a sports bar, a McDonalds, a KFC a Pizza Hut and a Dominos. Isolated it is not.

What this is not is a full service hotel - it is more a family run guest house. About 8pm the kitchen closes and every one goes home except the night staff, so you can't for example get a hot drink in the hotel after that. I agree this is a little inconvenient. But it is outweighed by the comfort, cleanliness, friendliness, and the beautiful villa and garden where you are living. If you want a full service standard hotel, go and stay in the Hyatt at twice the price, this is not for you. But if you like something warm and unique, give Jnane Sherezade a try.

It would only take a little bit more effort on evening service for this to be a really first class boutique hotel - and possibly an update of the TVs in the rooms.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank troubledscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

We arrived here late last night and they were wonderful to us, even though we were not expected. Our room is huge, clean and beautiful! will write more after we know more, it our first impressionist very good. the manager is English speaking and so very helpful.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Cindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

We stayed at this place after booking through a website that tells you the exact name of your hotel after booking. It was advertised as a 5-star hotel. I would disagree with this. Further, we found out that while the hotel uses numerous agencies to book, they have their best price if you book directly with them. Our room was spacious with a nice balcony and large bathroom, but the hotel was nothing special. Smoking seemed to be allowed in all of the rooms, which was not particularly pleasant. The location was especially problematic. We had to take a taxi to get anywhere, and none of the 4 different taxi drivers we used had heard of the hotel, or knew the street it was on. We only found it because I had a hand-drawn map that I had copied from one online. A quiet option, but not particularly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Chairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Casablanca hotels
3.2 mi away
Kenzi Sidi Maarouf Hotel
Kenzi Sidi Maarouf Hotel
#7 of 77 in Casablanca
279 reviews
3.2 mi away
Eurostars Sidi Maarouf
Eurostars Sidi Maarouf
#28 of 77 in Casablanca
108 reviews
3.5 mi away
Pestana Casablanca
Pestana Casablanca
#12 of 77 in Casablanca
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Le Trianon Luxury Hotel & Spa
Le Trianon Luxury Hotel & Spa
#50 of 77 in Casablanca
215 reviews
2.3 mi away
MELLIBER Appart Hotel
MELLIBER Appart Hotel
#11 of 77 in Casablanca
120 reviews
4 mi away
Club Val d'Anfa Hotel
Club Val d'Anfa Hotel
#5 of 77 in Casablanca
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jnane Sherazade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jnane Sherazade

Address: 8 Rue de Belgrade | Habous, Casablanca 20000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Grand Casablanca Region > Casablanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Casablanca
Price Range: £82 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Jnane Sherazade 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A wonderful 55m2 space, the Jnane Sherazade suite room, blending ancient and modern. Ancient traditions preserved in the original enamelled clay finishes, the decorated woodwork, the angular bathroom, modern comfort provided by the recessed air conditioning units, the insulation and sound-proofing, the state-of-the art fixtures and fitting, the telephones located on the bedside, on the table in the lounge an the bathroom wall. There is also a balcony overlooking the garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Jnane Sherazade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Jnane Sherazade Casablanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing