We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Genuine, Genuine, Genuine...”
Review of Dar Attajalli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dar Attajalli
Ranked #29 of 100 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Avec la touche francaise....
My girlfriend and I stayed 4 days here. We could not have asked for more for less. Everything - location, hospitality, graciousness, delicate esthetic and mauve touches, respect for craft and renovation, original carved plaster and carved/painted wood, delicious authentic petit dejeuner and diner, view from roof terrace, and a matronne, Cleo, and her helpful, courteous staff - meant for a perfect medina visit. A rooftop cold dunk tank would have been the only addition to make it more pleasurable. When booking, a tip is to go directly to http://www.attajalli.com/. You'll get a cheaper price!!!
Bonne route!!!
Robert & Nadya, Philadelphia

Room Tip: All rooms are good. I think they all overlook the carved atrium. As mentioned above, when you go d...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Offbeatart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (274)
There are newer reviews for Dar Attajalli
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 274 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2013

A beautiful, meticulously-restored house in an easily-accessible, good location near the main artery of the medina. Rooms are spacious and attractively decorated, though a bit dark due to the design of these medina houses. Kleo and her staff are gracious and welcoming, and provide lots of information about the medina, the people and the food. Wonderful breakfasts and fantastic dinners with Moroccan vegetarian dishes - fresh and beautifully prepared ingredients. Dive in and absorb the wonderful ever-changing panorama of Fez!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amparis75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

I cannot express how amazing this dar is! Not only are the rooms beautiful and immaculate, but the service and hospitality were unmatched by anywhere I have ever stayed. Kleo and her staff were fantastic and I immediately felt at ease, despite the chaos of the Fez medina. My only regret is that we could not stay longer. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allison w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Staying at this hotel recently really gave me a genuine experience of living in the Medina (the old city) of Fez. Obviously a lot of thought has gone into designing everything here. I felt very well looked after. All the staff and the owner are charming. I might make special mention of the breakfast, which is unlike any other I've had and also obviously has had a lot of thought put into it. Also it's worth mentioning the great terrace from where there's a beautiful view.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prem V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

What an amazing experience and what an amazing hostess!!! Kleo spent three years restoring Dar Attalalii and it is exquisite. As others have said, it was restored with sensitivity, creativity and love. Everything about it was delightful. We chose a room with a bathtub and it was long, wide and there was plenty of hot water! Only at Dar Attalajii????

The terrace, where we had our breakfast and two of our dinners, was peaceful and beautiful with lovely plants and shrubs. And the meals! Nowhere else in Morocco and we were there for 3 1/2 weeks, did we have breakfasts or dinners like those at Dar Attajalli. Perhaps the most memorable meal was the vegetarian tagine with quince but both breakfast and dinner started with a wonderful assortment of what could best be called "befores".

Kleo had said, in e mails we exchanged before our visit, that we did not need a guide to navigate the souks in Fes and she was totally right. She gave us a wonderful map which made it very easy to wander around, pointed out the special places we might want to visit, including a truly beautiful medersa, and off we went! No problems at all and none, repeat none of the hassling that I had read about in many places. A pleasant "La, shokran" and a gentle wave of my hand was respected everywhere. So, when you go to Fes, be brave and try wandering through the souks on your own. If we did get a bit lost, I found that approaching any of the people in any of the souks, saying "Assalamu aleikum" and then showing them the map worked just fine.

Both Kleo and her staff were wonderfully hospitable and we certainly recommend staying with her. We will certainly do that ourselves if we return to Fes

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank onthego32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

We spent the first two weeks of October in Morocco, travelling to several different towns. Thinking back, we feel that Fez and Dar Attajalli have made a unique impression on us. Kleo is the perfect hostess, generously sharing her beautiful taste for food and design with her guests. The large and delicious breakfast served on the terrace is unmatched. She also offers exciting and very tasty vegetarian dinner, which we do recommend. We followed Kleo's recommendations for Fez restaurants and for hiring a car and driver for the rest of our trip. We are so glad we did so! Our daugther of 7 is in love with Kleo even though she couldn't communicate in any of the several languages that Kleo speaks. Dar Attajalli made Fez the perfect stay and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 324Shadow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

This was a unique experience: staying in the heart of the Medina in this beautifully restored dar. The owner, Kleo, has exquisite taste, and has spared no effort in her design of the Dar Attajalii. Her attention to detail means that I not only got to enjoy what it's like living in the Medina, but felt truly pampered by Kleo and her beautiful staff. It's not just the decor, but every detail. For example, great thought has gone into the breakfast experience, which is a very special one - a veritable Moroccan feast. Although the rooms are lovely of course, the piece de resistance is the beautiful terrace, where I spent many peaceful hours, gazing out over the Medina.

Room Tip: Ask Kleo about your preferences
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Toyour
Riad Toyour
#39 of 100 in Fes
57 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Tizwa Fes
Riad Tizwa Fes
#33 of 100 in Fes
211 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Dar Guennoun
Riad Dar Guennoun
#42 of 100 in Fes
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ryad Mabrouka
Ryad Mabrouka
#22 of 100 in Fes
256 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ryad Alya
Ryad Alya
#8 of 100 in Fes
570 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Ahlam
Riad Ahlam
#5 of 100 in Fes
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Attajalli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Attajalli

Address: 2, Derb Qettana | Zqaq Roummane, Fes 30200, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 100 Hotels in Fes
Price Range: £58 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dar Attajalli 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Attajalli is a small palace and architectural jewel offering 5 tastefully furnished and exquisitely decorated suites and rooms with beautiful en suite bathrooms. Let yourself enchant in this oasis of tranquility by the gentle ripple of the courtyard fountain, the scent of cedar wood and the unique view over the magical medina from the ample roof terrace. Situated only 5 minutes from guarded parking, some steps away are the historical sights and lively bazaars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Dar Attajalli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing