We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely beautiful”
Review of Dar Attajalli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dar Attajalli
Ranked #32 of 99 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
“Absolutely beautiful”
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Our stay at this gorgeous Riad was a highlight of our trip to Morocco. We stayed in the Orange Suite and it was beautiful, clean, cosy and homely. The whole place was just amazing. The food was sensational, with a real focus on natural healthy eating. The breakfasts were excellent, being full of flavour, and provided such a variety of well presented Moroccan delicacies. We also were treated to lovely herbal teas picked from herbs grown at the Riad, and had the best dinner of our whole trip here in the candle lit, roof top dining room. Kleo provided us with yoga mats, helped us with taxis, packed us a breakfast for an early morning flight, and always made sure we were always okay. This Riad is immaculate, there were so many lovely touches, and I truly looked forward to escaping back here in the afternoons and evenings. I would not stay anywhere else in Fez, and hope to come back and stay sometime again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahwilky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    23
    8
    0
    3
See reviews for
38
121
24
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

This is a beautifully restored riad that is run to perfection whilst still maintaining individuality and charm. The rooms are beautifully decorated in an authentic morroccan style but with your every creature comfort taken care of. The food was excellent, being heavily focused on what's in season, fresh and of good quality. There is a real focus on healthy and balanced living which is reflected in some beautiful herbal teas and homemade nibbles that are served on a stunning terrace which over looks the city. Kleo and her staff could not have been more helpful and we really valued their knowledge, suggestions and the effort that they put into our stay being so enjoyable. My experience of fes is that it is a vibrant, fun and chaotic assault on the senses and this riad is the perfect sanctuary to unwind in and help you appreciate the best of the city.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amyenvacances
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

I would have loved to have given Dar Attajalli as effusive a review as some of these others, and that did look quite likely at first. Ultimately, however, I came away feeling more negative than I’d hoped.

The mauve room was very quiet and nice, the house is lovely and in a good location in the medina, the staff were great, and transfers from the train station and to the airport were hassle-free (including at 3.30 am, which I really appreciated). The owner also provided a pretty clear map of the medina, was helpful when it came to directions to various places, and arranged a very good guide for my first day.

I chose Dar Attajalli because I’m vegetarian and thought this might be a problem in Morocco (plenty of vegetables but the concept of vegetarianism per se a bit trickier). The dinners were lovely, but I wasn’t told how much they would cost and, my bad, I didn’t think to ask, assuming it wouldn’t be too much. But at US$30 per meal it really was, adding $120 to my bill. During a subsequent email exchange the owner apologized that she’d forgotten to tell me the price.

I would still recommend Dar Attajalli, but would also recommend making sure you get all extra costs upfront, including for dinners, guides, etc.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NYC-Vegetarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Attajalli, Owner at Dar Attajalli, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear guest

We were sorry to hear your disappointment as whilst staying here you kept saying how you felt like a princess. You also thanked us profusely for our generosity, for including you in social gatherings like art openings and dinners with friends, and making exceptions for solo in-house dining as you were a single traveller who didn't feel comfortable walking in the medina alone at night. We were happy to do all this for you.

Guests often say that our dinners are a highlight of their stay. They are lovingly prepared freshly to order and are a generous four course / 8 plate feast, well priced for the high quality.
There are no "hidden" costs at Dar Attajalli, that is not our philosophy. As you had booked dinner by email before even confirming the room, we didn't send a further email with costs for dinner and we indeed apologize that this got forgotten.
We are very sorry though that we not fully understand your complaint as on the first night of your arrival you were told the total price of the room and dinner. This included the special discount we were offering you as a single traveller. You then chose to eat in-house several nights after knowing this price. But maybe indeed we should have reminded you and repeat the price before every dinner. Thank you for pointing out that this might be necessary.

We still hope that the nice memories will prevail…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 December 2013

I would call Dar Attajalli more of a B&B than a hotel. It's small, comfortable and feels like you are staying at a friend's place. The food is great and the owner is not only a fantastic person but really talks you through your stay in Fez. It's really nice to have advice on where to shop and what to do in this overwhelming city. I think she really helped us get the most out of our two day stay. If I ever go back to Fez I will be staying here.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drothk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed for two nights here and was so thankful we did. The food was fantastic and this place is strongly advised for all foodies, vegetarians and vegans - had the best vegan meal I have had in years (though a meat eater myself, I eat and cook a lot of veg food as many of my friends are veg, I also work in a higher end wine bar and restaurant in Washington, DC). The riad (well to do traditional Moroccan home) is stunningly restored with every detail attended to. The staff are sweet and caring and help you navigate the medina and take time with you to answer your questions. This place was the most expensive we stayed in but well worth it. We also pre- reserved a dinner here. If u are going to Fez, don't miss this place and ordering dinner is well worth the additional expense.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank QueenieFree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Hero, Vermont
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I had the most wonderful stay in FEZ and I really believe it was because of my stay here and Kleo. She sat me down with a map and tea on arrival and gave me the lay of the land. Because of this, I never felt lost and felt completely safe my whole time in Fez and as a single woman this says A LOT. I always knew where home was.
This Dar is a little bit of heaven, from the incredibly delicious breakfast with fruit soup/salad each morning to the organic soft cheeses and prepared egg. Every detail was accounted for and I never had a better breakfast in all my 3 weeks of travel in Morocco. I loved this place so much and hope to bring my wellness retreats here year after coming year.
A rug was laid out and yoga mat provided for my morning practice, my bed was made and bathroom taken care each day when I arrived back to my princess suite, and I was able to practice how use the beauty products used by Moroccan woman with the staples found in my bathroom in beautiful little ceramic treasure holders. Everything a hard traveling woman could ask for. It was a perfect stay. I can't wait to come back SOON! Thank you!!

Room Tip: Book the ORANGE room, its worth the upgrade :).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shoshigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Attajalli, Owner at Dar Attajalli, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Shosh
Thank you very much for your heart-warming words! It was a pleasure for us to have you as a guest at Dar Attajalli. And - oh yes, please, wonderful! - bring your wellness retreats along. We are already looking forward to having you back SOON.
Kleo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Dar Attajalli is Amazing! In the heart of the Medina of Fes, once you walk in it is tranquil and peaceful. Attention to every detail has been done to perfection. The decor is exceptional..
The fresh organic food amazing and the views from the upper terrace spectacular.
Madame Kleo the owner is knowledgable,helpful and has truly made Dar Attjalli into a very special retreat…We loved our stay and actually it was the most lovely place we stayed in our entire journey throughout Morocco…I would definitely stay here again when in Fes.

Room Tip: Any room you choose will be wonderful..It is actually hard to choose as they all are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolinaMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Attajalli, Owner at Dar Attajalli, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Carolina
Thank you so much for your kind words!
It is a great pleasure to hear that Dar Attajalli was the most lovely place you stayed during your trip in Morocco. For us it was a pleasure meeting you lovely ladies.
Kleo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Toyour
Riad Toyour
#39 of 99 in Fes
56 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Ahlam
Riad Ahlam
#5 of 99 in Fes
581 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Tizwa Fes
Riad Tizwa Fes
#33 of 99 in Fes
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
0.4 mi away
Ryad Alya
Ryad Alya
#8 of 99 in Fes
561 reviews
0.3 mi away
Algila Fes
Algila Fes
#13 of 99 in Fes
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Attajalli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Attajalli

Property: Dar Attajalli
Address: 2, Derb Qettana | Zqaq Roummane, Fes 30200, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 99 Hotels in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dar Attajalli 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Attajalli is a small palace and architectural jewel offering 5 tastefully furnished and exquisitely decorated suites and rooms with beautiful en suite bathrooms. Let yourself enchant in this oasis of tranquility by the gentle ripple of the courtyard fountain, the scent of cedar wood and the unique view over the magical medina from the ample roof terrace. Situated only 5 minutes from guarded parking, some steps away are the historical sights and lively bazaars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Dar Attajalli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing