We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly hospitality and a fantastic stay”
Review of Dar Attajalli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dar Attajalli
Ranked #30 of 99 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Delft, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Friendly hospitality and a fantastic stay”
Reviewed 23 November 2009

We stayed in Mosaic Room for 3 evenings and love the hotel and services. Amazed by the restoration and cleaniness of the hotel. It is a good hideaway paradise from the buzzling medina. It situates in the medina and easy to find. They serve fresh, organic breakfast with local delicatecy and pastries (one of our favourites in the trip!). The terrace is beautiful and overlooking the medina, nice to have a coffee/mint tea break and also for the evening. The room is absolutely great with the high ceiling and not 'over-the-top' decoration. Slept perfect after a long day of walk. Reasonable price with great hospitality. We really enjoyed our stay and it is a good choice!! Thanks to Kleo!!

Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CarolynLeung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    23
    8
    0
    3
See reviews for
34
121
24
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
305 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2009

Buried deep in the heart of the Fes medina, Dar Attajalli is a luxurious oasis for the traveller. A riad-style building that has been lovingly restored rather than simply renovated, it is a cultured blend of traditional architecture, crafts and furnishings. The bedrooms and the public spaces are both tranquil and relaxing. The lush garden rooftop terrace provides incomparably breathtaking views and breakfast taken there is an ideal start to your day. Everywhere throughout it is evident that the friendly and helpful owner, Kleo, has exercised considerable sympathy and sensitivity to create an overall aesthetic that really is something quite special here. The Fes medina is a full-on medieval experience, truly like stepping back in time, and Dar Attajalli is not just somewhere that you can stay for a few days but rather is somewhere that you can live while surrendering to the rhythms of this amazing city. Put quite simply, you will not want to leave.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2009

This is a remarkable place to stay! The photos here say it all and are accurate. The strong points of this Dar include a sumptuous breakfast in lovely surroundings on the top floor terrace, very large and spacious accommodations, huge attention paid to detail in the restoration of the building, and Cleo's attentiveness to her guests' needs in Fes. Fes is a complicated city and the medina is the biggest medieval, non-vehicular space on the planet. It isn't dangerous but needs real presence of mind and vigilance. The Dar Attajalli provides an oasis in this environment that is welcoming and organic. You can find cheaper places but what you get here for the price is exceptional value.

Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank squash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daarzo
1 review
Reviewed 8 October 2009

Without a doubt a really really wonderful experience.

The host knows al the ins and outs, will make sure you'll have plenty of tea, coffee and ideas of where to go to next. Beautiful room, nice terrace with a view on top of the building - it all fits like a glove.

We'll return one day. With warmth in our hearts

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diedaarvanhiernaast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2009

After a very nice tour trough the desserts and the mountains of southern and middle Morocco our stay at Dar Attalalli was exceptionally pleasant. This - in traditional style restored - Riad is a beautiful surprise in the middle of the old medina. From the moment we walked trough the door we felled at home and at ease. The owner and hostess Cleo is absolutely fabulous as is her staff. The calm and quiet in the Riad are striking amidst the noise and the hectic movement of people in the surroundings in the old medina. As a frequent visitor of Morocco I’ve already decided that I want to visit Dar Attalalli again in the future.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlHollandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2009

This is a small, boutique ryad in the Fes medina. It has been well renovated and offers very comfortable accomodations (except no A/C). The owner, Kleo, was a wonderful host - she'll even leave a bottle of wine in your room if you request it (for a fee)! The breakfasts were well made.
Definitely call before you head into the medina. I've got a great sense of direction but finding the place would have been nearly impossible. It is much farther than you expect, so plan on having Kleo hire a cart man (20 MAD) to haul your luggage when you leave.
Note that Kleo's internet connection is not wireless; if you have a laptop, you'll need to unplug hers and plug yours in.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dhikeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2009

In early June, my partner and I stayed at Dar Attajalli and oh, how I wish I was back there! Dar Attajalli is a first class riad all the way around. The proprietor, Kleo is fantastic. She's full of great information, thoughtful of her guests, is upbeat and bright, and personally worked with a local Moroccan crew to restore her gorgeous riad.

Next time I'm in Fes for the Sacred Music Festival, it's Dar Attajalli for me. PS- I haven't had a breakfast as good as Kleo's since leaving!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GusNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Toyour
Riad Toyour
#36 of 99 in Fes
48 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Ahlam
Riad Ahlam
#5 of 99 in Fes
574 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riad Fes Aicha
Riad Fes Aicha
#16 of 99 in Fes
351 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Tizwa Fes
Riad Tizwa Fes
#32 of 99 in Fes
207 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ryad Alya
Ryad Alya
#10 of 99 in Fes
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Attajalli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Attajalli

Property: Dar Attajalli
Address: 2, Derb Qettana | Zqaq Roummane, Fes 30200, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 99 Hotels in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dar Attajalli 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Attajalli is a small palace and architectural jewel offering 5 tastefully furnished and exquisitely decorated suites and rooms with beautiful en suite bathrooms. Let yourself enchant in this oasis of tranquility by the gentle ripple of the courtyard fountain, the scent of cedar wood and the unique view over the magical medina from the ample roof terrace. Situated only 5 minutes from guarded parking, some steps away are the historical sights and lively bazaars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Dar Attajalli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing