We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Wor;d”
Review of Riad Fez Yamanda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Fez Yamanda
Ranked #49 of 221 Fes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Upon arriving you will walk down isolated alleys in the medina to a humble door. Open and you will be awed at the splendor inside. Literally heard sighs from people when they took in the riches of this riad. Each room is unique. Ours was on two levels with the bedroom being on the upper. Bathrooms on each floor. Must say that after the initial impression, it wasn't as comfortable as we would have desired. The stairs felt treacherous with a shaky railing. The last stair was about 4 inches deeper than the previous ones, so when stepping down it was a shock not to hit the floor as quickly as one would have thought. When shutting the light bedside light out one evening, all the fuses blew. While we experienced unforgettable charm, it was not the most comfortable hotel we've frequented. However, considering the age and history of Fez, I think it all balanced.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trisha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 115 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2014

we've been to this wonderfull place this january and although the weather was not summer hot we could enjoy the architeture and fancy palace. All rooms are individually decorated and unique within the hotel. The food is very good and someties a relief from the local food. It was an unforgettable experience to be in an historical building beatifully restored. The top of the palace bears a terrace with a nice view.

Room Tip: if you have any trouble with stairs make it clear on your reservation because many rooms are located...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angela w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

We arrived to find we were the only guests in the riad for our 3 night stay! The entrance is beautiful! We were greeted by a very nice gentleman that spoke better english than my French or Arabic . Then it kind of went downhill. We were shown to our beautiful room with king bed and large jacuzzi tub. Once he left we set about to unpack. The first problem was the floor tiles kept coming up. This was so bad that over by the bed they had all come up leaving a hole the staff just threw a rug over! Same on the other side. The shower didn't have hot water and after 30 min of working with it, we were told to take a shower in another room. Later we discovered that the shower did have hot water but had a very unusual adjustment on the tub. The heater never worked properly, thank goodness we like it a little cold. Be careful of their math skills when it comes to calculating your bill if you come from a country that does not have euros. They tried to convert dollars to euros then convert euros to dirhams . They refused to accept credit cards..just FYI.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank erhealer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Stayed at this Riad in December 2013 and found it to be a little cold. It has high ceilings suited for hot weather and I am sure it would have been nicer in summer. There was one heater high up the wall in our room and no heating in the bathroom. The bath was poorly finished, with no tiling around it. The shower attachment leaked badly and sprayed water all over the place, leaving wet marks on the plastered walls.
What really upset us was being told that they couldn't accept payment by card, despite this being shown on the website. This meant several trips back and fore the ATM as we were staying six nights and the total cost was several times our daily limit at the ATM. The two ATM's nearby didn't have any money in at all on our last morning so a member of staff had to come with us and help find a bank en route to the train station. This is an ongoing problem with their bank and I am told has been like this for a month or more, so be warned if wishing to pay by card.
The staff especially Said and Abdul, looked after us well and the one evening meal we booked was very nice, but very expensive compard to nearby restaurants.
The Ruined Garden restaurant nearby was excellent.
Our rooms were noisy at times but this comes with staying in the medina.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteveMNEfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed at this riad for 3 nights in a very large room overlooking the atrium. We had breakfastin the riad and they was very good. Unfortunately the shower plumbing leaked badly but we were allowed to use the shower in the adjacent room that was attached to our room in the event a larger family used this room. The location is very good being away from the noise of the medina but not so far away that you could become lost in the maze of narrow streets. The staff was very helpful. We can recommend this riad to travellers to Fez.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank B T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Having spent a week at this riad, I guess the biggest drawback is more cultural than anything else, but more about that later. We were a party of 5 so got to see the riad from all angles. The position in the medina (walled city) is excellent, not too far in, and close to the south side Suckts (markets) which in my opinion were the best from an extended stay. The neighbourhood has good restaurants as well. The actual riad is beautiful, although some of the rooms are quite small, and stairs, floors and plumbing need attention. The staff were delightful and very helpful, but 3 out of 5 of us were asked at the last minute to move to the riad next door on the last night to make way for another bigger party! It was a disaster, and left a bitter taste, in what was otherwise a lovely stay.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Paul U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We loved it. My friend and I stayed in a charming room that was comfortable, quiet and beautiful. Great food and wonderful service. The staff could not have been more helpful, lost our luggage with medicine in it, they called a doctor who came and wrote a prescription that held us over until reunited with luggage.

Room Tip: If you have trouble with stairs, ask for one on main floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank poollady15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
1.7 mi away
Ibis Fes
Ibis Fes
#56 of 100 in Fes
763 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
0.1 mi away
Dar Hafsa
Dar Hafsa
#6 of 100 in Fes
974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#7 of 100 in Fes
557 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Verus
Riad Verus
#34 of 221 in Fes
685 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palais Sheherazade & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Fez Yamanda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Fez Yamanda

Address: 1 3 Derb Ben Doud Zerbtana, Fes, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 221 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range: £52 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Fez Yamanda 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for modern standards of comfort in a sumptuous traditional residency, Riad Fez Yamanda is the place for you.Built in the late 19th century, the Riad has been rehabilitated into guest house in 2007 after being restored by talented artists and craftsmen. Today eight rooms on behalf of thinkers and celebrities that have contributed with their knowledge to Fez, have been carefully designed to ensure you a memorable stay.Located in the heart of the first historic and cultural capital of Morocco, today World Heritage by UNESCO, Riad Fez Yamanda is easily accessible from Place Batha and Bab Boujloud (Blue Gate), popular for its proximity to shops, restaurants and transport, while being within walking to the main historical and cultural attractions.Riad Fez Yamanda preserves its architecture that inherits from a history over 1200 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Riad Fez Yamanda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing