We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Dar in Fez!”
Review of Dar el Ma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dar el Ma
Ranked #72 of 221 Fes B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Absolutely amazing house! It is like being in a fairy tale! Very clean, conveniently located. We truly enjoyed every minute being there. Highly recommended place!!!!!!! Thank you so much, Joe, Claire, and Houda

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yulya15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (165)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 165 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2013

We spent 4 nights at Dar El Ma and enjoyed it a lot! The beauty of the house could only be overcomed by the hospitality of Houda (the girl who takes care of he guesthouse).

We had a minor problem with the AC on the first night and the owners quickly solved the situation.

The house is conveniently located almost next to Talaa Kebira, where you can find many of the landmarks inside the Medina. The bedrooms are nicely decorated and the house is full of nice spaces where you can relax and escape from the heat.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Esteban B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

My family stayed at Dar el Ma for 2 nights and we were very satisfied. The location is great. The room is spacious, a/c worked great (which was really key for us in August), pleasant breakfast, beautiful terrace and it was great to be able to do our own laundry. Joe and Claire were very easy to coordinate with prior to our arrival. It gave us a good sense of what living in the medina is really like since it is a simple traditional home with some modern conveniences.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank world-citizen1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Wonderful and clean 'home'. Delicious breakfast. Fantastic roof top terrace with outdoor shower. Cosy talks with and beautiful henna from Houda. Memorable guided tour in the overwhelming Medina. Best accommodation we had during our travel in Morocco - highly recommended!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Dorien6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We had some difficulty getting into the country (weather coming out of Spain) and Joe was flexible and helpful with our reservation which was greatly appreciated. Dar el Ma itself is a gorgeous mix of old riad with clean, new fixtures. It was comfortable and quiet, and we got to spend several beautiful nights on the terraces looking out over the city. Houda's breakfasts were a pleasant way to start the day. Highly recommended for a nice stay in the old city of Fes.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Steven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

To walk through the hustle and bustle of the streets and market traders and find the peace and tranquillity of the rhiad felt like being wrapped around with calm and beauty. I was really impressed with the way the house has been restored, utterly beautiful. Houda and Adil and Mohammed were welcoming and helpful beyond the call of duty, and fresh produce and breads for breakfast were scrumptious, laid out on the table on the rooftop. Also the smell of fresh bread baking in the nearby bakery and the sound of the call to prayer will always remind me of a lovely few days in Fez. Actually going to the hamman is a must, came out squeaky clean and exhausted from laughing so much!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lorraine w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

What an amazing place this was! it's right in the heart of the Medina yet really nice and tranquil at the same time.....The place was a little like a labyrinth at the beginning with all the stairways and little doors..... all of this of course added to its charm. The roof top terrace was fantastic as well and great for relaxing in the evenings. The book showing the stages of the renovation of the house really helps you appreciate the work and effort that has been put into making this Dar the amazing place which it is!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
2 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#8 of 100 in Fes
563 reviews
2.2 mi away
Palais Sheherazade & Spa
2.4 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Dar Rabha
Dar Rabha
#3 of 76 in Fes
188 reviews
2.2 mi away
Dar Hafsa
Dar Hafsa
#7 of 100 in Fes
981 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ibis budget Fes
Ibis budget Fes
#63 of 100 in Fes
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar el Ma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar el Ma

Address: 27 Zqaq El Mae, Fes 30000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 221 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range: £44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully restored dar in the heart of the bustling medina of Fes. Find peace from your haggling in this spacious accommodation, stretch out under the sun on the roof terrace or catch up with work in the office with free wifi internet. Breakfast included, and many other services available. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing