We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect place to stay in the Medina” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dar el Ma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dar el Ma
Ranked #48 of 209 Fes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect place to stay in the Medina”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

Thanks to the staff and owners of Dar El Ma for giving us such a soft landing in Morroco. They were very helpful and the property was perfect for our needs. Undoubtedly my favourite riad of the half dozen I experienced on my trip. On the first night we had the entire place to ourselves and felt utterly spoiled. Amazing view of the medina and good facilities for washrooms, laundry, etc.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Prairie_Wanderer_383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    18
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
85
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

The Riad was everything we hoped it would be: well-located, spacious, tasteful, clean and the interaction with the owners/staff was efficient and helpful. I would thoroughly recommend this place to anyone wanting to visit Fez, the neighbourhood has a lot to offer - shops, hammam, restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

This was our best location in morocco. The house is huge and beautiful. The terrace is wonderful just as the typical moroccan shower and the wonderful breakfast that Houda served.
The room itself is stunning and spacious. We didn't use the AC cause it cools off in the night. Wifi works good.
Houda is a very intelligent and friendly young lady. Can't imagine there is a place more spectacular in morocco than this wonderful and enchanting house. I will definitively return!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeilaChan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

Fes is a mad city, and Dar el Ma is a perfect hideaway to the hustle and bustle of the streets. I really enjoyed my stay here. Everything from sitting to the rooftop with its spectacular view, to the beautiful interiors made me feel really lucky to stumble across this place. It's in the centre of the old city, and Houda was really helpful and lovely throughout our stay. Five stars!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sofinix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

Best location in Fes!!! Incredible value, great food, completely safe, unmatched hospitality, all in a museum-quality setting. It's taken one month to write this review, only because I could not think of adequate words to praise this Dar. I can only agree with the other 5 star reviews here...If it were not for an injury, I would write more. But I do wish to add, before considering other places to stay in the Old Medina of Fes, please know that Dar el Ma is oriented in the best part of the Medina, right near a main parking lot, which is a useful landmark, and right off a main road that will take you up and down to many major sites, restaurants, shopping, banking facilities, and exits out of the medina. So if you are not interested in getting lost in the medina maze to get to a point of interest and then get lost, yet again, trying to simply get home, this is the place for you. The area is a little dizzying, nonetheless, but, take it from me, you could end up in another dar so poorly situated in the maze that each venture out makes you want to cry out, "I want my mommy!" I just enjoyed my stay at Dar el Ma too too much and I want to come back again and again and again...

Room Tip: Any room will be stunning. No trouble with noise. No trouble with the A/C.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anika H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

Absolutely amazing house! It is like being in a fairy tale! Very clean, conveniently located. We truly enjoyed every minute being there. Highly recommended place!!!!!!! Thank you so much, Joe, Claire, and Houda

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yulya15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

We spent 4 nights at Dar El Ma and enjoyed it a lot! The beauty of the house could only be overcomed by the hospitality of Houda (the girl who takes care of he guesthouse).

We had a minor problem with the AC on the first night and the owners quickly solved the situation.

The house is conveniently located almost next to Talaa Kebira, where you can find many of the landmarks inside the Medina. The bedrooms are nicely decorated and the house is full of nice spaces where you can relax and escape from the heat.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Esteban B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
0.0 mi away
Dar Drissi
Dar Drissi
#52 of 209 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riyad Al Atik
Riyad Al Atik
#34 of 209 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Boujloud
Riad Boujloud
#23 of 209 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Rocco
Riad Rocco
#13 of 209 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dar Tahrya
Dar Tahrya
#44 of 209 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar el Ma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar el Ma

Property: Dar el Ma
Address: 27 Zqaq El Mae, Fes 30000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 209 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully restored dar in the heart of the bustling medina of Fes. Find peace from your haggling in this spacious accommodation, stretch out under the sun on the roof terrace or catch up with work in the office with free wifi internet. Breakfast included, and many other services available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Dar el Ma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing