We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly owner”
Review of Hotel Cascade

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Cascade
Ranked #81 of 101 Hotels in Fes
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

Some people may find it a bit grubby, but for thelocation and price its a good place. Stayed in room 7, which is a bit noisy, but okay nonetheless. Nice relaxed roof terrace. Watch you head taking the stairs when you are tall!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank rvisser99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2013

This is a really nice place to crash, you are not gonna find anything cheaper in Fez, we slept in the Terrace for 40 MAD night, Rachid, the guy up there, is nice and helpful, he will take care of your bags and staff and his food is lovely (if you have some budget to spend) if not the place is located in the middle od everything so just downstairs you will find cheap street food.

You have Wifi and even hot water, the toilets are not clean but to be honest i've been in worst places paying more. I guess the rooms are not to expensive either but the terrace is lovely.
Be prepared for the 5 am pray! (really loud!)

We were there twice and if I come back to Fez I will stay there with no doubt.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

A very cheap hostel right at one of the main entrances to the medina: stepping out of the door you are right in the cultural heart of Fes. The rooms are fairly clean but the bathrooms are quite grotty - standard in most of the places we saw in Morocco. The beds were comfortable and our room had a window out onto the medina with a gorgeous view. There is also a roof terrace you can climb onto for an excellent view of Fes and the mountains in the distance; the sunset we saw here was spectacular.
There is a little terrace bar on the same floor as the rooms serving extremely cheap and excellent quality coffee and Moroccan tea (about 50p each) and the breakfast was very good value for money - coffee, orange juice, berber bread and butter, a pain-au-chocolat and some kind of large pastry with honey all for about £1.70.
The staff were some of the friendliest we met, very chatty and always smiling.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ads91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Clean is word not known to the managers of this place, while they are kind and helpful, they are also a bit weird. One guy from the management, who also does the kitchen, slept in the corridors on the floor at night and went to the guest toilettes, without closing the doors! In general the bathrooms and toilettes are very filthy, I'm usually not that fussy, but I have seen some truly disgusting and disturbing stuff in these bathrooms, you don't want to know!! Also the bedsheets were dirty and had tons of stains on them and someone's hair! That said, I have seen worse and if you're not staying long and not that needy its okay and you'll likely meet some other fun backpackers. And the location of course in unbeatable and there is a washing line on the roof.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jessberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

As possible the least pricey hostel in the medina you get what you pay for: a cheap bed. It's cleanish, though the shared bathrooms are grubby, but what you get for free is a huge roof to hang out on, friendly guys running the place who will sort out taxis etc if you want them to, and you'll meet a tonne of other travellers. The location is also amazing, though your centrality in the medina means that you'll probably be woken up everyday by the calls for prayer.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank killtacos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013

For being low budget category, but being centrally located right at the beginning of the Medina of Fes (Bab Boujelou), I would say this hostel is "okay", because the people working there are really friendly and you step out of your hostel and right into the cultural world heritage of the biggest preserved Medina of Morocco. Also the terrace and its views are amazing, the food of the restaurant is good and the prices are moderate, especially compared to the restaurants nearby.

On the other hand, it could definitely be cleaner, especially in the shared bathrooms (one toilet out of two was blocked for days which is not funny, even in lower season). Also the mattresses could be newer and a general renovation would be good for all the rooms.

Room Tip: Choose between noisy rooms at the front side with nice views and shady, but quiet rooms in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank juli86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

location is simply perfect, practically next to bab boujeloud, an interesting section of the medina with lots of food; personnel is friendly, the bearded hotel manager is funny, you can sleep in open air on the roof top: a bit noisy and the sun will wake you up; a sufficient amount of clean blankets is provided to make it comfortable; excellent for solo travellers as you don't have to pay for 2 beds. toilet and bathroom are not super clean but they don't make you vomit either

Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
1  Thank jdv1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Batha
Hotel Batha
#79 of 101 in Fes
232 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ibis budget Fes
Ibis budget Fes
#62 of 101 in Fes
105 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Fes Aicha
Riad Fes Aicha
#18 of 101 in Fes
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dar Hafsa
Dar Hafsa
#4 of 101 in Fes
1,002 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ryad Alya
Ryad Alya
#9 of 101 in Fes
588 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#7 of 101 in Fes
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cascade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cascade

Address: 26 Rue Serrajine, Bab Boujloud Square, Fes 30110, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 101 Hotels in Fes
Price Range: £12 - £35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cascade situated in the entrance of the old-Medina right next to Bab Boujloud gate. Staff are available 24 hours a day and can organize excursions for an extra charge. Additional facilities available include a currency exchange. Located in a traditional, safe neighbourhood :) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Cascade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing