We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbeatable location!”
Review of Hotel Cascade

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Cascade
Ranked #69 of 100 Hotels in Fes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

The location could not be better! the hotel easy to find as it is just few steps from the Bab Boujeloud and has a very nice terrace on the roof. The rooms were rather clean, the toilets & showers a bit less clean but still OK for this price.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank slavinkaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Cascade
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2013

I spent five days and nights in the Cascade. You can't beat it for the price, and the location is fantastic as it's just inside the Bab Boujeloud and easy to return to when you're tired and frazzled. When I first walked in I had my doubts about the security of the hotel, but I quickly realized the staff is kind and helpful and that my things were secure in my room. There is a guard who lives and sleeps in the hallway. I paid 150 Dr a night for a private room on the second floor. The room was small but clean, with a comfortable bed and clean sheets. It was chilly at night, but there were ample warm blankets on the bed. The room was quiet (except for the call to prayers at 4 a.m., but that is to be expected). The wifi signal from the cafe even reached my room and I was able to use my laptop in the room. The shared bathrooms are down the hall. The toilets worked, and the showers provided hot water at no extra cost. The best feature of this hotel is the rooftop cafe. The man who runs the cafe is the sweetest, kindest, gentlest person you will meet in Fez and he is a welcome relief after a day of being aggressively hassled in the Medina. He and his assistant cook the most delicious meals and you won't spend more than 50 Dr for one of the best meals in Fez. The rooftop cafe also provides a fantastic view of the surrounding area, and its calm and friendly atmosphere really saved my sanity. You can sit up there and forget about your stressful day, read a book, sip tea, eat a good meal, connect to your laptop, chill out and recharge for your next incursion into the madness below. I highly recommend this hotel for the budget traveler.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

Some people may find it a bit grubby, but for thelocation and price its a good place. Stayed in room 7, which is a bit noisy, but okay nonetheless. Nice relaxed roof terrace. Watch you head taking the stairs when you are tall!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank rvisser99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

This is a really nice place to crash, you are not gonna find anything cheaper in Fez, we slept in the Terrace for 40 MAD night, Rachid, the guy up there, is nice and helpful, he will take care of your bags and staff and his food is lovely (if you have some budget to spend) if not the place is located in the middle od everything so just downstairs you will find cheap street food.

You have Wifi and even hot water, the toilets are not clean but to be honest i've been in worst places paying more. I guess the rooms are not to expensive either but the terrace is lovely.
Be prepared for the 5 am pray! (really loud!)

We were there twice and if I come back to Fez I will stay there with no doubt.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

A very cheap hostel right at one of the main entrances to the medina: stepping out of the door you are right in the cultural heart of Fes. The rooms are fairly clean but the bathrooms are quite grotty - standard in most of the places we saw in Morocco. The beds were comfortable and our room had a window out onto the medina with a gorgeous view. There is also a roof terrace you can climb onto for an excellent view of Fes and the mountains in the distance; the sunset we saw here was spectacular.
There is a little terrace bar on the same floor as the rooms serving extremely cheap and excellent quality coffee and Moroccan tea (about 50p each) and the breakfast was very good value for money - coffee, orange juice, berber bread and butter, a pain-au-chocolat and some kind of large pastry with honey all for about £1.70.
The staff were some of the friendliest we met, very chatty and always smiling.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ads91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Clean is word not known to the managers of this place, while they are kind and helpful, they are also a bit weird. One guy from the management, who also does the kitchen, slept in the corridors on the floor at night and went to the guest toilettes, without closing the doors! In general the bathrooms and toilettes are very filthy, I'm usually not that fussy, but I have seen some truly disgusting and disturbing stuff in these bathrooms, you don't want to know!! Also the bedsheets were dirty and had tons of stains on them and someone's hair! That said, I have seen worse and if you're not staying long and not that needy its okay and you'll likely meet some other fun backpackers. And the location of course in unbeatable and there is a washing line on the roof.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jessberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

As possible the least pricey hostel in the medina you get what you pay for: a cheap bed. It's cleanish, though the shared bathrooms are grubby, but what you get for free is a huge roof to hang out on, friendly guys running the place who will sort out taxis etc if you want them to, and you'll meet a tonne of other travellers. The location is also amazing, though your centrality in the medina means that you'll probably be woken up everyday by the calls for prayer.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank killtacos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
3.1 mi away
Ibis budget Fes
Ibis budget Fes
#57 of 100 in Fes
83 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Jnane Sbile
Hotel Jnane Sbile
#73 of 100 in Fes
87 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Batha
Hotel Batha
#82 of 100 in Fes
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#90 of 100 in Fes
112 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ibis Fes
Ibis Fes
#56 of 100 in Fes
741 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Attarine
Riad Attarine
#49 of 100 in Fes
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cascade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cascade

Address: 26 Rue Serrajine, Bab Boujloud Square, Fes 30110, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 100 Hotels in Fes
Price Range: £21 - £33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cascade situated in the entrance of the old-Medina right next to Bab Boujloud gate. Staff are available 24 hours a day and can organize excursions for an extra charge. Additional facilities available include a currency exchange. Located in a traditional, safe neighbourhood :) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Cascade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing