We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel Restaurant”

L'Ambre at Riad Fes
Ranked #42 of 207 Restaurants in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$35 - US$70
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Romantic, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
282 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013

So glad we decided to eat in at the riad, dinner was excellent. I had various Moroccan small plates to start: aubergine, hummus, a mango chutney-like dish, stewed carrots, a cauliflower type of mix, and some sort of spicy jam. My friend had the cheese puff pastry; the cheese was so smooth and the sauces were like a chutney and a yogurt. My main meal was so unique and outstanding: pastille of pigeon. It was like having baklava but with pigeon meat inside. It was warm, with cinnamon and brown sugar, a little spice, and crunchy. Really loved it. My friend had shrimp tajine, also excellent, with an aubergine sauce. Dessert was apple cinnamon crumble with vanilla ice cream and raisins, warm and yummy. We had a rose syrah with dinner, unusual, high alcohol %, but it grew on me and mellowed, also paired well with the meal.
Ambience here is also very nice, modern but warm, and if you stay here your room is just down the hall!
Breakfast is also very good. Buffet style, nice variety, will also make things to order.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chris72206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    22
    14
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2012

We weren't staying at the hotel, Riad Fez, which is part of the Relais & Chateaux chain, but were directed here by our tour company. The setting is lovely (at the very least, go to the bar for a drink) and our food was excellent--and very reasonably priced given the beautiful surroundings.

The Moroccan salads were the best I had anywhere in Morocco; really flavorful and very pretty to boot. A great lamb tagine as well, with very tender meat, but caramelized on the outside. It took it beyond the the typical lamb stews, which can get rather dull. We also got a nice bottle of Moroccan wine (Volubilis; try the Gris).

Service was professional but a bit slow, but they seemed understaffed that night.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tinarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very good service and restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2012

And a very nice list of Moroccan wines... whiche are grown not very far away from Fès. Beautiful indoors spatio, perfect for a romantic dinner.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Laetitia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Over-rated”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

Very modern decor so it doesn't feel like Morocco and for the price the food was a disappointment. Service was off hand.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Madeleine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingen, Belgique
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful restaurant and good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

We were blown away by the atmosphere of this restaurant, which is situated not far from the Talâa Sgerira. The riad is a beautiful mix of the ancient marrocan and modern style. The tables around a interior small waterpool in the middle of the patio. You can choose between a few cold and warm starters and 5 main courses. We tried the briouats, pastilla and salads and they were all very tasteful. As main course we took only meat, we didn't try the fish. Service was good.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank circassianlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed L'Ambre at Riad Fes also viewed

Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
 
Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
 

Been to L'Ambre at Riad Fes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing