We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fes, Riad R'mila: A different planet!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Riad Medina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Medina
Ranked #176 of 206 Fes B&B and Inns
Hobart, Australia
2 reviews
“Fes, Riad R'mila: A different planet!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2011

What a fantastic place. This is not Hereford. This is not an English B&B! The riad was impressive with coloured glass, zwilij, high ceilings and an impressive courtyard with a fountain. And an orange tree, no shortage of fresh fruit here. My room, which I had to myself had a vast, well equiped sitting room (TV, DVDs and player, games) with seperate bedroom and en-suite. This would make a great family room. Good food was cooked by Nezza the housekeeper when asked and she also provided "Morrocan whisky" - mint tea. My only criticism was the aircon was not really set up for the colder february weather, though plenty of bedding was provided so I slept well. Fes is an amazing place and the locals are friendly - where else could we have got invited to a total strangers wedding the first night in town? That was some party even without alcohol as fuel!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJEH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    2
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
6
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malaga
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2010

On corresponding with the owners of Riad R´Mila, I was encouraged by their own enthusiasm for the house, although they weren´t able to give driving directions or advise as to how to deal with the boys on scooters, weaving in front in attempts to ´guide´, we always encounter on visits to Fes. The house was amazing, exactly as per the marketing photos, and the views were outstanding. My concerns were that with views of the tannery we might also experience the smell. In fact we had all the advantages of the views but no associated disadvantages. The housekeeper was extremely pompous and charged a fortune for a meal that was supposed to be for six people but was barely enough for one. She also couldn´t be bothered to get up in time to see us off on the last day but by that time we had the measure of her and didn´t expect anything else. Despite the housekeeper, Riad R´Mila is a fabulous place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gal_from_Malaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2010

Our first impression of Riad Rmilla was one of delight. The place appeared tastefully restored by its owners in accordance with their web site. The arches, doors, room designs and windows were very authentic and reflective of Morocco . The open courtyard was a perfect place to sit and enjoy a meal. The Riad appears very private. The kitchen had good facilities including a large fridge, gas cooker, diswasher and washing machine. There is a computer to surf the web; pre-programmed in French. This has very limited access to essential sites, ie hotmail. There is no TV in the Riad and the laptop does not play DVD’s.


The Housekeeper appeared superficially charming and friendly, however her English is exceptionally limited. Luckily one member of our party spoke basic French, which helped us to just about get by. The Housekeeper offered to arrange a guide but attempted to charge us 300 dirham for 3 hours. Luckily we were able to negotiate a more reasonable arrangement directly with the Guide despite her clear disapproval of this. The housekeeper was unable to accommodate our request for breakfast any earlier than 10.15am despite prior arrangement for it to be prepared for 9.30am in readiness for our excursion. We received an invitation of a cooked dinner to the sum of £110. Our House keeper appeared very disgruntled when our guide informed her of our arrangements to eat at an alternative Riad. Unfortunately, other than serving coffee, bread, cheese wedges and cake slices for breakfast, and taking us to some overpriced medina stalls (£14 for 2kg of chicken) on the first day, our Housekeeper did not undertake any of the usual tasks, i.e. tidying, emptying bins, wiping down bathroom facilities, changing towels or listening to requests. Our translated request for the faulty light bulbs to be changed or additional fans were met with apathy and shoulder shrugging. At first we assumed that this service was a reflection of it being Ramadan however the Housekeeper excitedly took up our offer to join us on an all day excursion to the Rif mountains. We requested our Housekeepers assistance with catching a petit taxi that evening. She advised us that she would meet us at the taxi rank to escort us to the Riad. We contacted our housekeeper, as per our arrangement, however, she advised us that she was asleep. The taxi driver, who she alleged was a friend, walked us to our Riad at our Housekeepers request. Being a stranger, he left us feeling very uncomfortable and worried about our safety overnight. We were charged excessively by this friend despite being challenged about it. On our final night however our Housekeeper stayed awake till 1am awaiting our return as she believed we would be settling our bill despite the owner confirming alternative payment methods. We found an old information folder and map, albeit just before we departed. This showed that we should have been offered water and snacks, however we were left to purchase these ourselves.

The lighting in the Riad was extremely poor. The bathroom light, according to the comments book at the Riad, had not been replaced since Jan 2010. The showers in all 3 bathrooms were very poorly lit. The bedroom lighting again had not been replaced. The sinks and showers were blocked and overflowed. The taps leaked. The hot water supply was very limited. We therefore used candles and relied on the stained glass windows which brought in some nice colourful light albeit quite limited.

The smell in the Riad after our first day was quite offensive. The scented candles we used did not conceal the smells.


Cockroaches and other large insects were seen crawling on the chopping boards and kitchen work surfaces. Our House keeper however used the surfaces without any regard for the infestations.

Many of the locks on the doors, including the bathroom did not work.

There is a sunken bath/Jacuzzi however it was very dirty and the hot water tank does not adequately fill the bath above the jets.

The bird bath/fountain does not work. The garden appears neglected. On the plus side, there is a beautiful cat that has been adopted by the House keeper.

There is offensive smelling rubbish outside the front door and the family in the next property run a business, leading to them hammering late into the night.

We hope that these comments are taken into consideration and that future guests enjoy improved standards that this beautiful Riad deserves.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank libere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2010

Where to begin? This place was heaven, a wonderful resting place to recover from the hectic pace of the medina.

The rooms were immense and beautifully decorated, the garden was beautiful, the housekeeper took care of our every need and cooked amazing meals to boot. The rooftop terrace gave you just as good a view of the tannery as you could get from the paid tours, minus the smell and all the other tourists.

Best part was the location. It was very close to the Rmila parking area, so it was easy to just hop into a petit taxi when we got tired of the medina and get back home quickly without fear of getting lost.

My one complaint was the street urchins who harassed us for money twice on our way down the long side alley. They were harmless, and the housekeeper drove them away as soon as she opened the door, but it was annoying.

Otherwise, cannot recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zedque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Gentil
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2009

My wife and I took our two young kids on our first family trip in Morocco. We stayed in three different riads (a full service, upscale riad in Rabat and an architectural digest special with iron maiden furniture in Marrakech) and the week at Riad Rmila was by far the best experience. The house itself a perfect mix of tradition and modern convenience.

The location itself is out away from the tourist area without being inaccessible.

It has been very recently restored, it is comfortably furnished and the kitchen is complete. We had access to a good washing machine and a computer with wifi. A highchair and child gates were available.

The courtyard is half tiled and half planted, with a fountain. The garden is recovering, there are some nice big trees. The house is a little bit of a hike from the parking area, but that seemed to be common to all the riads we stayed at.

I dealt with one of the owners prior to arriving and met her in Morocco, she was very friendly and responsive. The local Moroccan staff could not have been better. They were perfectly gracious and our kids fell in love with them. Breakfast was light with fruit and the dinners at the riad were some of the best food we had any where during our trip.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itchandscratch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2008

I have just returned from a stay at Riad Rmila.

Where to begin?

Well, wherever I stay I expect a warm welcome, and the housekeeper was certainly most welcoming and attentive.

The terrace has this amazing view across the Medina – the famous tanneries are within easy walking distance and you can watch them working while you are sipping a refreshing mint tea on the terrace!

If you’re thinking of going out to eat, think again – the housekeeper makes fantastic Moroccan meals entirely from fresh ingredients. I can almost smell that tagine from last week!

The rooms are decorated to a high standard. The furniture is traditional Moroccan.

Bathrooms have European fittings. The showers are hot (one of my pet hates is lukewarm showers).

The Riad has been restored using traditional craftsmanship. The attention to detail gives a relaxing ambience where nothing seems out of place.

Oh, and it has a garden. This is a genuine Riad (Riad means garden) – too often a so-called Riad is actually a Dar (Dar means courtyard). Pick a lemon from the lemon tree and squeeze it into your tea. Perfect!

Negatives? Can’t think of any.

  • Liked — The friendliness and cleanliness
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank too2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cuckfield
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2008

Trip to Fez
20th September 2008
We had a long weekend at Riad Rimil IN FEZ
We had a great stay we were really well looked after at the Riad
it is lovely , beautifully restored with a small garden and fountain
good for cooling down after a day site seeing.The top terrace has great views over the
city especially the oldest working Tannery. Fez makes very excellant
leather goods I am hoping to book again to go in early spring

  • Liked — Location the beautiful Riad and great Staff
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whisper06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.5 mi away
Riad Fes Aicha
Riad Fes Aicha
#16 of 99 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
4.7 mi away
Villa Agapanthe
Villa Agapanthe
#46 of 99 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Jamai
Riad Jamai
#49 of 99 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.9 mi away
Palais Faraj Suites & Spa
0.8 mi away
Dar Sondos
Dar Sondos
#78 of 206 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Medina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Medina

Property: Riad Medina
Address: 31 Sidi Boumadyane | Kedane, Fes 30030, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #176 of 206 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Medina 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The house has been restored to an exceptionally high standard including features such as a plunge pool, sunken Jacuzzi bath and air conditioning. Riad Medina is in the centre of the ancient Medina in Fez; an oasis of calm set against the bustling alleys. It is uniquely positioned in a quiet area off the beaten tourist track but still within easy walking distance of the tourist attractions including the world-famous tanneries. There are stunning views from the terrace - just the place to take breakfast as you watch the medina come to life, or to sip Moroccan tea and watch the sunset.You may choose to rent a room or suite or, subject to availability the entire house. When you stay in the house it is not just a vacation rental but a true Moroccan experience. The excellent service and the attention to detail ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Odigeo, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riad Medina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing