We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value, quiet, and friendly”
Review of Riad Laayoun

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Laayoun
Ranked #12 of 100 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 March 2011

The numerous reviews here sum up the many pluses of the Riad Laayoun. We appreciated Jean-Claude's help and hospitality and the beautifully restored Riad, as well as Simo and Rachida's hard work. This is a good value for money choice if you want a quiet and private base in the Medina. It is not a luxury Riad with a pool and sauna and every mod con you could think of, so don't go with the wrong expectations. I appreciated the wi-fi connection, and I didn't mind basing myself in the breakfast room to make it work!

Although the area immediately around the Riad is not impressive, during our one-week stay, we quickly realized that its location within the Medina is excellent. It benefits from being away from the backpacker end of the Medina at Bab Boujoud. But because it is so close to Place R'Cef, you can always get a petit taxi round to one of the other gates or anywhere else you want to go. At the same time, it is closer to the real attractions of the heart of the Medina, e.g. the Nejjarine Wood Museum, Seffarine Square, and so forth.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisfromLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (531)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 531 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2011

We stayed 2 nights (4 people) at this charming Riad with its charming staff; many stairs to climb but definetely a wonderfull experience; the rooftop view on the medina is beautiful...
We may suggest few improvements:
1. we has difficulties to find the Riad (arriving 9pm), recommending to get to the R´Clif Square and call the hotel for a pickup - it´s impossible to find it by yourself...
2. The sewage system of the 2 rooms we rented had problems.
3. Dinner was very good; breakfast can be improved.
4. The guide recommended by the hotel, was just OK

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ISR77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2011

my wife and I stayed here for 4 nights and it was just wonderful. We stayed in a total of 4 different Riads while we were in Morocco and this by far was the most impressive and well run. You really step back into time with your stay here in terms of the shear visuals of the layout and look. However, the renovations have been tastefully done so as to not ruin from the 'old-world' charm. Breakfasts were good, hospitality was excellent and most importantly, the staff went out of their way to be helpful. After each of our frenetic days in and around Fes, Riad Laayoun was a very welcome oasis.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tenskibik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2011

We were welcomed by Jean Claude after a four day trip from Marrakesh, although it was late, he greeted our driver and had a lovely dinner waiting for us. We had our 24 year old daughter with us and all enjoyed the hospitality and beautiful room. Unlike Marrakesh, Fes closes down on Friday, but Jean Claude was able to arrange a tour, a visit to a shop which remained open in the afternoon, as well as a wonderful hammam. Thank you for helping us to end our stay in Morocco on such a high note!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelinR0se
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2011

I took my parents to Morocco as a retirement gift. In Fez, we stayed at Riad Laayoun. Setting up the reservation was easy. The riad is beautiful, you can see the effort that's been put into renovating it. The rooms range from adequate to amazing; you get what you pay for (we had three rooms). The shower had very strong water pressure, which was great. It rained much of the time we were at the riad so we didn't get to appreciate the rooftop terrace.

The best thing about the riad is the hospitality of Jean-Claude. We arrived at the riad in the evening after an 8-hour drive from the desert. When we gathered our bags, we realized that a bag was missing. The bag contained prescription medication and a breathing device my father uses to help him sleep. Losing this bag threatened to ruin our vacation. But Jean-Claude went into action, doing everything he could to help us locate the bag, making at least a half-dozen phone calls on our behalf. He eventually helped us track down the bag and arrange for it to be brought to us by taxi (from 600km away). He stood with me for a half-hour on a street corner while we waited for the taxi with the bag. Needless to say, we were very grateful. Beyond this one event, the food at the riad was good, and Jean-Claude was happy to accommodate us when we wanted just a small dinner rather than the standard multi-course tagine dinner.

The tour guide we arranged with Jean-Claude was ok. He clearly knew the city well and showed us interesting places, customizing the tour to suit our preferences. However, after we told him we did not want to have lunch at a traditional tagine place (having had traditional tagine every day for the previous seven days), he brought us to a traditional tagine place for lunch. I assume that he, like most tour guides, has an arrangement with a few restaurants and sticks to those.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZJA72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2010

Riad Laayoun is a beautifully restored riad with elaborate tiles, huge wooden doors, high ceilings and surprisingly roomy and interesting interiors. But it has all the amenities of a charming hotel -- especially hot water with good pressure. Found the location difficult to navigate at first but it's like going back into time or living locally but with all the modern contraptions. Steps away from Medina but you'll need to traverse a little further to get to restaurants. But petit taxi is cheap and easy to get near riad except during their rush hour. The host Jean Claude is very friendly and welcoming as is Simo, his right-hand man.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank purple100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2010

We were met by Simo who was extremely friendly and polite and helped take our bags through some of the winding streets and on to the Riad. Wow! this place is fantastic and just what we had hoped for when we booked the accommodation from Australia. We had pre-arranged a meal to be cooked for our arrival that night and it was probably one of the best meals we had in Morocco!

A definite place to stay in Fes and all the staff we very helpful and accommodating. We were very disappointed that we were not staying longer

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brisbaneboofheads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.2 mi away
Dar Hafsa
Dar Hafsa
#6 of 100 in Fes
958 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
0.4 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#7 of 100 in Fes
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ryad Alya
Ryad Alya
#8 of 100 in Fes
572 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Andalib
Riad Andalib
#3 of 100 in Fes
422 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Laayoun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Laayoun

Address: 47 Derb Thakharbicht Rcham Laayoun | Fes-Medina, Fes 30000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 100 Hotels in Fes
Price Range: £48 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A marvelous old house located in the heart of the medina close to the world's oldest university and the souks, built nearly 4 centuries ago. We offer to you 3 suites and 2 rooms with all the modern confort. Riad Laayoun is a marvelous place for your stay in the most beautiful medina of Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Riad Laayoun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing