We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best riad in Morocco we did”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dar Houdou Guest House
Ranked #64 of 204 Fes B&B and Inns
Bordeaux, Aquitaine, France
2 reviews
“The best riad in Morocco we did”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

We made riads, hotels and hostels all over Morrocco during 2 weeks and Dar Houdou was by far the best we did: best location, best breakfast, lovely room and terrassa, we enjoyed so much our stay. A great time, thank you!!

Room Tip: The room on the roof is just next to the terrassa, which is enjoyable :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    42
    0
    1
    3
See reviews for
23
153
27
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Welsh bird in England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

This year my sister and I stayed at this beautifully renovated riad during The Sacred Music Festival. What a treat. The perfect base , so convenient for music venues, restaurants , shopping , taxis , places of interest. The taxi was prearranged from the airport a definite plus . We received a warm welcome . Breakfast was more varied than ever with lots of locally sourced produce on the menu like honey , yogurt , homemade cakes and warm Berber fresh bread. The ability to make to make a coffee and have a homemade almond cake while relaxing in the inner courtyard whenever you wanted was lovely. We loved our room on the terrace. Sitting on the terrace first light with the sun on your face ....amongst the unusual potted plants with the birds overhead. A fine place to stay . Highly recommended.

Room Tip: I like the room off the terrace as you have the convenient use of the terrace as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shianie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

We spent four nights at Riad Dar Houdou during our recent trip to Fes. Great location -- close to the Medressa and five minutes walk to the Bab Boujloud (Blue Gate). We stayed in one of the rooms in the first floor (there are only three rooms in this riad) which was nice, sunny and quite with a large window. It had attached bathroom. Steve, the owner of the Riad is a lovely person, very caring and so helpful -- thoroughly enjoyed his sense of humor and wit. It was always a pleasure chatting with Steve. Thank God Steve had organized to get us picked up from the train station or else we would have been totally lost in the maze of the Medina! As soon as we settled in at the Riad Steve gave us a map of the Medina, gave us an idea about the how the lanes ways work inside the Medina, recommended places of interests, where to eat etc. The first night Steve took us out for a walk, showed us around the Medina and introduced us to Café Clock where we had our dinner -- Clock Cafe is a must-visit while in Fes, it’s a lovely cafe, clean, nicely decorated, very friendly staff and great food (try their falafel, harira and couscous bouhaloo that comes with roast chicken, caramelized onion, raisins, almonds and apricots…YUMM!?) and very good coffee. We also tried out the restaurants around the Blue Gate but nothing compares to the food and ambience of Café Clock. The staff at Dar Houdou, Mohammed and Saadia, are gorgeous, so friendly (Saadia spoke very little English though) and forever coming forward to help. Both Steve and Mohammed helped us with our tours within and outside of Fes. The walking tour of the Medina with Ali was an eye opener and the trips to Meknes/Volubilis and Mulay Ismail were worth it. Breakfast served in the inner courtyard was excellent among many other things it consisted of freshly baked baguette, Moroccan crepes, Berber bread, Madeline, freshly squeezed juice, fruits etc. Wi-fi is available in the Riad, however, for some reason our laptop was not working so we got to use Steve's computer whenever we needed to – that was a huge help. We had bought few carpets from Fes and both Steve and Mohammed were so concerned whether we would be able to communicate with the people at the Post Office that both of them took us to the Post Office and stayed there till the carpets were packed and were ready for shipment. I can go on and on about Dar Houdou….!? I highly recommend Dar Houdou and would definitely stay here if I return to Fes.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yasmin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

Our introduction to Morocco could not have been better.(Sadly we only stayed one night in Fes at Dar Houdou).Located very close to the city gate and restaurants,yet in a very quite laneway.After arriving with the taxidriver who guided us to Dar Houdou(requested by us before arrival and organised by Steve who we did not meet but seems to be a good communicater)it felt very daunting ever to find our way around.But Mohammed from Dar Houdou wecomed us und explaind the system of lane ways which made us much more at ease.The amazing Breakfast was served ,by a nice lady ,downstairs (still dreaming of the tasty breber bread)where there is a kitchen,dining room,inner courtyard and a little room were you can just lazy strech out an read a book in "Jeannie Style".Our bedroom was small but nicely decorated and uncluttered.Also there was a great rooftop terasse.We can only recommend a stay at Dar Houdou ,not only is it a great place to stay but but also it has a good atmosphare contributed by the natural friendliness of the staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daggiem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

The dar houdou is the perfect base to explore the medieval medina of Fez.
Situated near the Bab Boujloud it is convenient bfor taxis and a plethora of restaurants.
Having just 3 rooms there is a very friendly atmosphere and Steve and Mohammed provide
a warm , multilingual welcome and a seemingly endless supply of information and advice to
enable you to make the most of your stay.
An address to remember !

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

This peaceful Riad is located at the end of a street inside the Medina. Its owner, Steve, restored it with much taste, being an oasis within the bustling Fes.
The communication was perfect before and during our visit: Steve manage a driver to wait for us at the airport, he gave us maps, recommended us places to visit and where to eat, explained us how to move inside the Medina and the first day come a walk with us in order to be able to have references in our walks; chat with him during the times of relaxation is a pleasure, is attentive without being invasive.
The rooms have a fan (one of the three is air-conditioned) and all have a spacious inside bathrooms.
Everything is very clean, there is wifi and the breakfast, as well as the service, is excellent. The relation price/quality is more than good.
If I return to Fes would definitely stay at Dar Houdou.

Room Tip: The rooms are a bit tight for three (they add a mattress on the floor), for two are more than good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaumeLi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

Dar Houdou is a lovely little guest house not far from the Blue Gate so is convenient to all the sights. The rooms are spotless, comfortable and nicely decorated. If it's available, ask for the room on the rooftop. Bring your appetite in the morning as the breakfast is huge and delicious with array of pastries, yogurt and fruit. I can't say enough about the staff. Steve and Mohammad were so helpful with loads of helpful tips. Travelling alone, Dar Houdou was as cosy guest house ideal for mingling with other guests and making friends. I highly highly recommend!!!

Room Tip: If available ...ask for the rooftop room..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Puffin99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad au Vingt Jasmins
Riad au Vingt Jasmins
#114 of 204 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Le Sucrier De Fes
0.1 mi away
Riad Hala
Riad Hala
#47 of 204 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dar Fes Medina
Dar Fes Medina
#6 of 204 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dar El Ouedghiri
Dar El Ouedghiri
#26 of 204 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Meski
Riad Meski
#50 of 204 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Houdou Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Houdou Guest House

Property: Dar Houdou Guest House
Address: 42 Teriana Sghira | Talaa Sghira, Fes 30080, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 204 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully restored traditional house. Located in a quiet street within the ancient medina. Two minutes walk from historical sites, shops, restaurants, taxis and the famous blue gate (Bab Boujeloud). Three double bedrooms; each with on-suite bathroom. A terrace, courtyard, kitchen and a living room are available to all the guests. Airport collections, guided tours and additional meals are available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Dar Houdou Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Houdou Guest House Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing