We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Savior in Morocco”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dar Houdou Guest House
Ranked #80 of 221 Fes B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 November 2009

We are two females who landed in Fez after several challenging days traveling throughout Morocco. We were considering ending our trip short and flying to Spain, but then we met our savior Steve (the owner of Dar Houdou). Steve was lovely and accomodating, consistently going beyond the call of duty. He took us out during his free time to show us the medina and provided us with an official guide to ease our comforts. His generosity and kind spirit changed our perception of Fez and we decided to stay an additonal night. Though he was booked for the weekend, he found us a reasonably priced room in his friend's riad.

The Dar itself is beautiful. We felt instantly at home and spent a fair amount of time in the main lounging area. The house was clean and the staff was pleasant and welcoming. The breakfast was satisfying and the location was safe and easy to find within the labrynth of Fez..

You will not be disappinted!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saguptas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (270)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 270 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2009

So me and my wife arrives to Fez (from Marrakesh) and the owner Steve comes to pick us up. The guy is probably the most service minded guest house/hotel owner I have ever met and he and his crew really made us feel we were at home.
The recently resaturated guest house (or Dar) is located in a small alley just in between the two major paths in the central of the medina. It offers just a few but clean and nice room and a terrace with quite an impressive view of the city. There you can sit in the sun and enjoy the large breakfast and read any of the guest house's (guide)books/maps.

Dar Houduo can arrange tours. We picked a half day tour in the medina with an excellent guide, cost 150 dirhams.

I could not come up with a single argument to choose any other guest house in Fez!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stenfelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2009

My sister and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Dar Houdou. Perfect for those who want to lay their hat in the medina ,close to the exotic sights, sounds and smells, in a quiet sanctuary. Steve was a very attentive host before we arrived via e mail and during our stay. The transfer taxi was well worth having on arrival and departure.
We stayed in the rooftop room, the best room in the house we thought, with it's access to the terrace,shuttered windows, mosaics and en suite. Private.
We loved the fact that you could help yourself to tea,coffee a banana...whenever you felt like.We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shianie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2009

pros: good location in medina near cafe clock, excellent value(we didn't want to break the bank yet we wanted clean and comfortable accommodations), nice terrace.

cons: I wish bkfast was varied w fresh not packaged juice and cheese. fruit/figs would be nice too.

Overall, owner was not on premises at that the time, so maybe we had a bit different experience than some others, but manager Mohammed helped us out perfectly well. Owner arranged for us to be picked up at the train. We took the guided medina tour which was nice (although beware on the tour, the lunch place she takes you to is poor/pricey and insist on finding out your choices for lunch). They graciously helped us out by doing some emergency laundry for us. There is a nice common room to relax, w wireless internet.

This is a very clean and nice and practical place for the price, but if you want the lavish opulence of other Riads, then you have to pay the price. This fit our needs quite well.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redquasar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2009

I really enjoyed staying in Fez in Steve's Guest House. It was lovely with lots of character. Steve was extreamly helpful and made sure that my stay was a very pleasant one. If I go back to Fez again, one day, I would definitely would stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smith9820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2009

Helpful house manager and a beautiful place to stay make this hard to beat. Room was immaculate and the rooftop terrace was a great place to relax. The bathroom from time to time had a bad smell but I expect this is nothing to do with anything except the Medina plumbing! Probably impossible to fix. If you are only there for a couple of days I recommend you take a guided tour arranged by the house. We did and we were suprised at how much we could fit in to one day and how many very interesting things there were to see. The house can arrange for a driver to pick you up and take you there when you arrive for a small price which was a great way to get there as you could have some trouble on your own. Overall a fantastic experience and would go back.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank onionzweibel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2009

- Excellent location, friendly and hospitable owner Steve. Both Steve and Mohammed went out there way to make our holiday special, rooms immaculate and lovely breakfast each morning!
-Enjoyed recommended trip to Meknes on the train for a day, makes going on day trips hassle free to return to the peace and calm of Dar Houdou.
- Will definitely be returning with friends next spring!!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happytravels02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.2 mi away
Dar Hafsa
Dar Hafsa
#6 of 100 in Fes
974 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Taha
Riad Taha
#2 of 221 in Fes
259 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Rocco
Riad Rocco
#31 of 221 in Fes
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riad Lalla Fatima
Riad Lalla Fatima
#49 of 221 in Fes
194 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dar El Mathaf
Dar El Mathaf
#62 of 221 in Fes
27 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Meski
Riad Meski
#61 of 221 in Fes
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Houdou Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Houdou Guest House

Address: 42 Teriana Sghira | Talaa Sghira, Fes 30080, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 221 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range: £27 - £39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully restored traditional house. Located in a quiet street within the ancient medina. Two minutes walk from historical sites, shops, restaurants, taxis and the famous blue gate (Bab Boujeloud). Three double bedrooms; each with on-suite bathroom. A terrace, courtyard, kitchen and a living room are available to all the guests. Airport collections, guided tours and additional meals are available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Dar Houdou Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Houdou Guest House Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing