We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place and nice people”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dar Houdou Guest House
Ranked #67 of 211 Fes B&B and Inns
Madrid
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful place and nice people”
Reviewed 3 February 2010

I stayed in Dar Houdou with three friends for two nights. Perfectly located (2 min from Bab Bou Jaloud)The house is perfectly refurbished. The bathrooms were new and clean, the rooms comfortable and appropriately heated (we found a hot water bottle on our beds the first night). In the morning, the breakfast was good and abundant. During the day, you could help yourself with tea and drink it in the terrace (nice, but not much views 'tough). They treated us very kindly and give us all the indications we needed in Fez. I fully recommend this place.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RafaLlG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    42
    0
    1
    3
See reviews for
24
153
27
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
1 review
Reviewed 27 January 2010

Very recently renovated and very nicely done. Inside the medina. Excellent, helpful staff. Have been travelling for 3 months and the breakfasts are the best we have had on the whole trip.
Very cosy and warm rooms.
Get a hotel transfer if it is your 1st time in Fez because it is hard to find on the 1st try but if you have been to Fez before it shouldn't be any trouble finding.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2010

Myself and my fiance (Paul and Ghislane) stayed at Dar Houdou for a weekend in January and we can only give it 5 out of 5 for value and overall simplicity and the laid back, friendly attitude of Steve (fellow Yorkshireman!) and his staff

The house is in nice, fresh, homely, clean and essentially the kind of place where you feel like it is home from home though still retaining all the usual Moroccan charm. It is in a very accessible, and easily findable (if thats a word) part of the Medina and having stayed in Medinas previously it is key that it is in a safe, friendly neighbourhood and is accessible by taxi (4 minute walk) from Bar Boubalou

All travellers to Medinas should always consider this as it can be a real hassle getting lost and then having several people vying for your Dirhams to find your place! it wasn't like this at all, you will never get lost and if you do Steve is at hand to help you!

We needed some laundry doing for example and this was all arranged and done in 4 hours!

Breakfast was unfussy and included some Moroccan tea and meloui (Moroccan bread)

It is very good value for money, i have paid more for less on occasions before, and i certainly would reccomend Dar Houdou, and we will be going back again when we stay in Fes

One tip would be that meals could perhaps be provided for dinner or lunch, i would suggest traditional moroccan home cooked food such as Rfissa, Harira or some hearty soups for those who arrive with a empty stomach, so Steve find yourself a good cook as I think this would add even further value to your offer!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul_Ghizlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2010

This stay was not like any "hotel" i've ever been at before. It was like staying with family. That is the way they made us feel from the moment we walked in the door. They went above and beyond on all the aspects of hospitality... We will surely be staying at the Dar HouDou again, and I'll certainly be recommending all my friends and family to stay there. The Dar HouDou will make your Fes trip unbelievable. Asalamu Aleikum.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dippi23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2009

My boyfriend and I were lucky enough to stay at Dar Houdou for 3 nights. It was by far the nicest and friendliest place we stayed at in Morocco. Steve was a marvellous host, going out of his way to show us around and make sure our stay was really special. He has put lots of care into the furnishings. It was just magical to hear the call to prayer from the Dar's terrace, and then retreat into our secret rooftop room. The location is great - in the Medina but not so hard to find after you've been shown the way once. I wouldn't stay anywhere else! Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grace S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BURLINGAME
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 December 2009

I just staued at Dar Houdou Guest House in Fez on my first trip to Morocco. It was amazing and very lovingly and meticulously restored old home in Fez Medina by its British owner. He runs a great place himself and the staff is really great. Very friendly, efficient and helpful to make life of a new person in their city most comfortable and safe. I very highly recommend this guest house to anyone, including solo travellers, as one feels very safe here. Its between the two main streets of the Medina and near to all the main sights. Thought the guest house is pretty quiet, as it is at the end of a small street. Best of all, it is near a parking place, which is a luxury. The bedding and the linens were very clean as were the rooms and the bathrooms. The breakfast is very nice and overall, a great place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RShah_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2009

We spent three extremely pleasant nights at Dar Houdou. We enjoyed coming home at the end of the day to this beautifully restored Riad, with impeccable rooms and common areas. I was also looking for quiet surroundings and good hot showers, and was not disappointed. Delicious breakfasts were served in beautiful blue and white Fez china. There were several good Moroccan restaurants within a short walking distance.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wpco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.4 mi away
Dar Tamo
Dar Tamo
#89 of 211 in Fes
155 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dar El Ouedghiri
Dar El Ouedghiri
#29 of 211 in Fes
117 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dar Drissi
Dar Drissi
#49 of 211 in Fes
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Rocco
Riad Rocco
#18 of 211 in Fes
274 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Meski
Riad Meski
#50 of 211 in Fes
110 reviews
0.5 mi away
Maison Adam
Maison Adam
#27 of 211 in Fes
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Houdou Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Houdou Guest House

Property: Dar Houdou Guest House
Address: 42 Teriana Sghira | Talaa Sghira, Fes 30080, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 211 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully restored traditional house. Located in a quiet street within the ancient medina. Two minutes walk from historical sites, shops, restaurants, taxis and the famous blue gate (Bab Boujeloud). Three double bedrooms; each with on-suite bathroom. A terrace, courtyard, kitchen and a living room are available to all the guests. Airport collections, guided tours and additional meals are available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Dar Houdou Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Houdou Guest House Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing