We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful riad, great value, highly recommended!”
Review of Dar Al Safadi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dar Al Safadi
Ranked #49 of 100 Hotels in Fes
Reviewed 30 August 2010

First things first: all the guide books say this and it's definitely true: the Medina in Fes is very tricky to navigate and it might be a bit daunting trying to find this riad (or any riad in Fes, for that matter). I called the riad and spoke to the owner Chantelle who told me where to get a taxi to. I then called the riad back once I got to the gate of the riad and a member of staff came to escort us to the riad. It is very simple if you do it like this and I'd definitely recommmend it. It helps if you can speak French to the riad staff.

The riad is stunning - the mosaic tiles are so beautiful and the rooms are really authentic. Even our bathroom was lovely! Chantelle clearly pays great attention to detail as the decor of the rooms is really lovely. Chantelle organised a tour of Fes for us which worked out at great value. This was an ideal way for us to see Fes as we had a really limited amount of time there. Our guide was nice but unfortunately brought us to a few places that gave us the whole, "buy my beautiful Berber rugs/very special price just for you" treatment. Easily corrected once we told him that we couldn't fit any more Moroccan trinkets in our Ryanair carry-on bags! If you get a guide and don't want to buy anything, just tell him at the start.

Chantelle also organised a taxi for the airport for us and walked us to the car park to meet the driver.

This riad is lovely and it's also very good value in comparison to others in Fes. You definitely feel looked after staying here. The only downside might be if you have mobility problems staying here as the little roads on the way to the riad are not in the best condition in parts and can be steep. I would definitely recommend staying here to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CR49_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2010

Perfect in every way! I can not speak more highly of Dar Al Safadi and Chantal the wonderful owner.
My partner and I stayed four days at the riad in which time we were treated to Chantal's kitchen. Be sure to book ahead so she can arrange a wonderful 5 course dinner for you in the beautiful courtyard, even though we didn't she still created the greatest meal we have ever shared together! We ate at some of the supposedly better medina restaurants and none of them compared to the magic Chantal created, and she does it for a quarter of the cost!
Beatiful roof top views of the medina, grab some olives and bread from the souk and enjoy the views, call to prayer and birds gliding for hours on end.

I could write volumes about Dar Al Safadi, but here is the short version. It was beautiful, clean, had wonderful attentive and helpful staff, the best in house food you have ever had, was close to the souk etc etc ... trust me, it is incredible, great value, you will not be disappointed.
And to complete the experience Chantal shared one of her recipes for the best carrot and orange soup 'with a french twist' that you have ever tried, almost worth becoming a vegatarian for. Oh and breakfast is another highlight!

Perfect in everyway. We can't wait to get back to Dar Al Safadi.

Thank you Chantal!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zuzanna-N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2009

On arrival in Fez, we were picked up by the owner, Chantal and taken to the Riad Dar Safadi. A newly restored house built around a magnificent courtyard with a fountain - our room was adjacent. The furnishings are truly beautiful, amongst these we noted some gnawa musical instruments which came to life when we were treated to an evening of music.
Our room was first class in every respect and the staff reflected these high standards in their service. Chantal is the hostess par excellence - so what more could you expect? Well, there was more. Our stay proved a unique and wonderful experience. Chantal's warm welcome and attention to our comforts springs not from commercial concerns, rather it is a genuine caring friendliness.
Chantal introduced us to Mostafa Cherqui who guided us through the Medina and gave us an insight to the history and culture of Fez. He is a quiet, considerate erudite man and it was a great pleasure to be in his company. If all of this represents a state of near perfection, then you'll be surprised to read that it is transcended by this lady's cuisine. Our meals were the finest culinary experience of our lives. Breakfast was delightful with a little variation each morning. Dinner was a five star presentation. Very good local wines were selected for us and locally produced fresh vegetables, fruits and meats were prepared with Chantal's natural French flair. It is, of course, Table D'hote. Alas, after four days in this Garden of Eden, we moved on as we had made prior bookings elsewhere. This was our only regret as we came down with a tummy bug later in our Moroccan trip. Which further supports our view that food hygiene needs to be a primary concern. The Riad Dar Safadi will always be our first choice in all respects, but especially for the food.
A final remark relating to access - if you wish to enjoy the
riad experience in the Medina you must expect to do a little walking. The Riad Dar Safadi is no exception in this regard - you cannot be delivered to the door by car. Be prepared to walk and to negotiate steps and stairs.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twallace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2009

We enjoyed our stay at Dar al Safadi, but there are some things you may need to know. First is that you cannot be dropped off by taxi at the riad. There is a considerable walk involved to get there and it's not a straight line. And no signs. So when you return from dinner there is that moment when you are not quite sure which street goes where. There are plenty of locals to guide you, for a fee. But just know that upfront. Also the owner was out of town for the holidays and we didn't know that ahead of time. There was no one who spoke English there much of the time. All in all a good experience if you are prepared.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fromheretoeverywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2009

A beautifully renovated riad in a perfect location (easy access from outside the medina on a signposted route leading to the souks). Very friendly and helpful hostess and staff. The rooms have efficient heating and the home-cooked meals prepared with the freshest ingredients available on the market are simply delicious. We will definitely be back!

Piera, London

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank PB305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2008

My husband and I just got back from Fez. Stayed in a riad in the medina for 5 nights. Chantal, the owner, was absolutely lovely. She speaks French and Spanish fluently, and a good amount of English.

Her riad was absolutely gorgeous! Tile work, beautiful details, exquisite courtyard and fountain. I couldn’t believe how wonderful it was. The rooms were beautifully decorated and the bathrooms were absolutely amazing. We paid around 70 euros a night. It includes a scrumptious breakfast – which varied every day – crepes, croissants, different types of local and french breads.

You can also choose to eat dinner at the riad. Chantal’s cooking was amazing! She made a chicken dish that was out of this world. She takes traditional Morocco recipes, looks at them with a French eye and puts her own special spin on them. We ate in the salon, lounging on divans!

It was great to us (even though we’re experiences travellers) to stay with a personal who cared and gave you the personal touch. Especially in a country where you don’t know anyone.

If you want more info, contact me: Elaine Pirrone. I’m happy to share.
elainepirrone@juno.com

We booked it through Helen Ranger helenranger@gmail.com, who runs the riad association
www.fez-riads.com. A percentage goes to restoring other historical buildinging in Fez.

Dar al Safadi
http://www.fez-riads.com/dar_al_safadi.htm
[--].
Riad Dar al safadi, 4 cheq Bdenjala Ziat |
30000 Fès,Medina
Port.: 00212 (0)64629669

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElainePirrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicolas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Dar Guennoun
Riad Dar Guennoun
#42 of 100 in Fes
223 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dar el-Ghalia
Dar el-Ghalia
#62 of 100 in Fes
80 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dar Anebar
Dar Anebar
#43 of 100 in Fes
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Damia
Riad Damia
#30 of 100 in Fes
78 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Dar Tafilalet
Riad Dar Tafilalet
#19 of 100 in Fes
259 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Toyour
Riad Toyour
#34 of 100 in Fes
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Al Safadi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Al Safadi

Address: 4 cheq Bdenjalla | ziat médina, Fes 30000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 100 Hotels in Fes
Price Range: £49 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Al Safadi 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Al Safadi is a Moroccan authentic house, located near to a carpark, in a district calm and made safe of Médina.La restoration of the house, furnishing including the bathrooms, and decoration were entirely carried out with the hand by craftsmen impassioned by their trade. In addition to the charm of the rooms, the clearness of the patio, decorated of a fountain, the splendid sight of the terrace on the médina will lead you to the daydream. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dar Al Safadi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing