We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, nice host, could be a bit cheaper”
Review of Medina Cafe

Medina Cafe
Ranked #106 of 209 Restaurants in Fes
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food, nice host, could be a bit cheaper”
Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

This is a nice little restaurant. The atmosphere is pleasant and the staff are calm, friendly and not pushy. The food is a great deal better than the standard fare in the medina, much better seasoning and spices, but then, the food is also quite a bit more expensive (cheapest three course menu without drink, 115Dh), more so than it ought to be. In summary, I suppose it could be a bit cheaper, but all things considered, worthwhile.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eduard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    36
    14
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good basic Moroccan food, authentic atmosphere”
Reviewed 10 March 2013

We came here on our first night in Fez when we wanted genuine Moroccan food, cous cous, tagines and so on. There were four of us and we all had different choices from the set menus. The waiter was very friendly but seemed a bit pushed. We didn't mind as it didn't feel touristy either. The decor was simple, a bit cluttered but again, typically Moroccan it seemed rather than 'tidied' up for Western tastes. The most expensive set menu consisted of pigeon pastilla followed by chicken tagine with pumpkin and honey. The pastilla was delicious, and the chicken tagine very nice. Other choices included meatball and egg tagine, also very nice - hot with rich flavours, veal tagine with lemon, and a more simple chicken and lemon couscous, also very nice. We were a bit disappointed that the creme caramel was on the menu but not available, as we're several other desserts but we settled for orange slices with cinnamon and almond crackle which turned out to be tutti cutting ice cream. All in all, good value for a regular meal out in Fes, and a good choice for tourists. Just upside the Blue Gate and round the corner is where you will find it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mariocatlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice friendly service but pretty dull food and atmosphere”
Reviewed 22 December 2012 via mobile

Pretty dull unfortunately. Food very average for the price and devoid of atmosphere. Probably just the night we went.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KolonelKustard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonoma, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good restaurant just outside the Blue Gate”
Reviewed 4 October 2012

We ate here one night and found that the food was good and inexpensive. It had a nice atmosphere about it too, and it also had a roof terrace. Being just outside the Blue Gate, it was quieter and not as busy as the restaurants just inside the gate. The cost per person with tip for a main course and drink was about 100 DMs, or about $11.50.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank walk1103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NLD
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant, excelent food and good selection of dishes”
Reviewed 6 August 2011

Although the medina cafe is more expensive than the other cafe's around the Bab Boujloud its also much cleaner and the food is of better quality. On the menu is a big selection of special dishes we did not see any where else f.e. filled pigeon, which is very recommendable. The roof terrace is nice and has a view of the bab, but cannot be compared with the view from one of the cheaper cafe's around the bab that have a more clear view of the bab and the small square around it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ton_NLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Medina Cafe also viewed

Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
 
Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
 
Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
 

Been to Medina Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing