We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful evening in Fes”
Review of Dar Roumana

Dar Roumana
Ranked #5 of 213 Restaurants in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$35 - US$47
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, View
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: An intimate dining experience in a beautiful setting, dinner at Dar Roumana's restaurant is a must-do for any visitor to Fes. Our talented French chef serves Mediterranean food with a Moroccan twist, and can be described as French/Moroccan 'fusion'. Changing daily, the dishes on the menu reflect the produce that's in season and bought fresh from the markets every day. Start with a drink on our roof terrace with spectacular views of the ancient medina of Fes, then dine in our courtyard restaurant. Decorated with colourful zellij tiling, carved cedar wood, a beautiful hand-painted bartal and intricate plaster, the restaurant is breathtakingly beautiful. In the winter, reserve a table for two next to our open fire, and in the summer be cooled by the splashing sound of the central fountain. Adding to the romantic setting is the attentive but discreet service. Allow us to transport you to a world of fine cuisine for the evening. We look forward to welcoming you to Dar Roumana. Reservations essential.
Arlington, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“A wonderful evening in Fes”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We could not stay at Dar Roumana, because it was booked for our dates, but we made sure to have a dinner there. We were given directions to arrive by taxi at a specific city gate, where a porter would meet us for the walk through the maze of streets to the Dar. Once inside, we were welcomed into a beautiful, relaxing dining area, with lovely soft music playing in the background. The menu was very impressive, and more nouvelle and sophisticated than typical Moroccan fare. We had two starters: cold roasted tomato with crab and coriander pesto, and beets with goat cheese and baba ganoush. Our entrees were pan-fried grouper and pan-seared salmon with interesting sauces. Both were perfectly cooked, very tasty, and as fresh as anything we've had in New York or other large cities. This chef sources ingredients from some top-notch places, and can match cooking with some of the best spots you'll find anywhere. The desserts and wine rounded out a lovely meal, along with the service, which was attentive but not overwhelming. If you are lucky enough to get a dinner reservation at Dar Roumana you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank love2trave09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    235
    45
    11
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marrakech, Morocco
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A romantic atmosphere”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The restaurant is the courtyiard of the house. The food was good and the service was very freindly. They have one of the best terraces in Fes

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Fatima Zahra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Very good but overpriced”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

They will pick you up and drop you off with a porter on foot if you are in the medina which is great although it is never clarified if you need to pay extra for this and despite us leaving a good tip/service charge at the restaurant the porter requested his own at the end which we found a little much given the low cost of labour.

The place is lovely but like all Dar/Riad would be very quiet without 5 or 6 tables occupied.

Entrees were great, Mains very ordinary (underbaked and tough lamb leg),Dessert was very good. wines were relatively dear and the local one we tried was not to our taste.

Service was efficient but not particularly friendly which really would make such a difference in this intimate setting.

Given that Tax and a requested service charge are on top of the basic costs we found this too dear for the experience but where it has an edge is for those with Tagine fatigue as it is fairly much French cuisine so for them a good choice if they can afford it. However we paid less for better food in Barcelona to make a useful comparison.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious - and gluten free!”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

It is not always easy to find gluten free meals when travelling! Our family of coeliacs hit the jackpot when we stayed and dined at Dar Roumana. We had let the owners know that we required gluten free food and it was no problem. We had an incredible 3 course meal ( with more than one gluten free choice - wow! ) , if you are a coeliac you will understand choices are not always an option. We also had a great gluten free breakfast on the incredible rooftop terrace. Nothing was a problem for our hosts. The surroundings were beautiful and our family of four ( 2 adults, 2 kids) loved every minute!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ozzie4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury, UK
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious food in a lovely setting”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Having read all the Trip Advisor reviews we took the plunge and booked a table. We were not disappointed - the dar is gorgeous and the food was yummy. As a previous reviewer said it is for those who are suffering from Tagine Fatigue Syndrome! It is not cheap but it was great for our last night in Morocco.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank thewelshwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dar Roumana also viewed

Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
 
Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
 

Been to Dar Roumana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing