We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most helpful hosts; a lovely riad”
Review of Riad Boujloud

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Boujloud
Ranked #23 of 212 Fes B&B and Inns
Calgary, Alberta
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Most helpful hosts; a lovely riad”
Reviewed 15 May 2011

We stayed at Riad Boujloud for two nights around the middle of April, and it was absolutely wonderful--the best of the three riads we stayed in Morocco (the two others were in Marrakech). Vincent, one of the owners, came to meet us at Bab Boujloud (a gate to the medina), showed us where to park, and got us a porter to get our luggage. We had pre-arranged to have dinner at the riad--highly recommended; it was delicious (a soup, a Moroccan salad, chicken tajine, and lemon tart). Breakfasts were also very good (fresh fruit, Moroccan pancakes, bread, preserves, juice, coffee, mint tea)--and they were served at the rooftop terrace, which has wonderful views towards the hills surrounding Fes. The riad is a beautiful old house with original intricate mosaics on the walls and the floor; it has been beautifully restored by Vincent and Christophe. Our bedroom and bathroom were tastefully decorated with antiques and Moroccan textiles. Although the riad is just between the two thoroughfares of the medina, it is quiet, partly because the courtyard itself has been covered with a skylight. (We slept very well.).

I can't say enough how helpful Vincent and Christophe were. We wanted to buy a carpet, and Vincent took us to just the right place. We had to adjust our luggage allowance with Ryanair to take the carpet with us, and Christophe re-printed our boarding passes. They also told us about a wonderful restaurant in the Andalusian quarter (I think that's correct ...), run by a family in their home.--It was the best and most memorable meal we had in the week we spent in Morocco. And when we were planning our drive back to Marrakech, Vincent and Christophe showed us an alternative route and suggested places worth visiting along the way.--I would like to go back to Fes and stay at Riad Boujloud again!

Room Tip: 3 rooms--all are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matter_of_fact_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    19
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
56
160
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2011

We stayed 3 nights at Riad Boujloud in April. The hosts, Christophe and Vincent were truly wonderful and made our stay very comfortable. The Riad was a very convenient, beautiful place. We had a wonderful time there.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1919kp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2011

We stayed only two nights and wish we would have stayed a few more. The location is excellent - within just a few minutes walk of Bab Boujloud. The house is lovely - beautiful and comfortable - and Vincent and Christophe are excellent hosts. They both made us feel immediately welcome and offered great suggestions and advice about Fes and other places in Morocco.

The breakfast was delicious and Fatima was extremely accommodating when we asked about getting "food-to-go" for an early morning departure. She prepared fruits and bread and coffee in a thermos for us.

We loved watching the sunset and moonrise from the terrace. On our return trip to Fes, Inshallah, we will certainly stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lsigrist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maastricht
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2011

Loved this Riad. This is our third trip to Morocco and the Riad Boujloud was excellent. Christophe and Vincent were helpful, charming and truely nice people. The places and merchants they recommended were noteworthy and their cook, Fatima, prepared for us the best meal of the trip. Everyone associated with the Riad is there to make your stay in Fes as pleasant as possible. We have only been back for a day and I want to go back.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hegge12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2011

I cannot say enough about how great this place is. Vincent and Christophe are amazing hosts with a beautiful riad. We were met at the airport by their friendly driver Mafid who later in our stay took us on a trip to the Middle Atlas. The room, food and location were all excellent and their help meant we felt we got the very best from Fes.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonTem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 January 2011

Every aspect of our stay was superb. The Riad itself was one of the finest buildings we saw in all of Morocco: beautifully restored with exquisite attention to detail and a wonderfully tranquil atmosphere. The dinner we ate on our first night, featuring a chicken and prune tagine, was the best meal we had in Morocco and the two breakfasts were equally impressive. The standard of housekeeping was also outstanding. On top of all of this the welcome and advice we received from Christopher, Vincent and Fatima was very kind and useful respectively and ensured we made the most of our limited time in Fes.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jc2757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK Eurocrat in Brussels
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2011

Vincent, Christophe and the wonderful Fatima made our stay very comfortable. They are a multilingual team (we spoke French and English) and take a great deal of time to explain where to go in Fes' very confusing medina, which shops to visit for certain handicrafts, and how to negotiate for bigger purchases. A bottle of water and some snacks was also provided in our room, which was a nice touch, and helpful on days where we'd forgotten to buy more water.

The riad is very clean, and breakfast is ample - bread, pancakes and jams. I think most people would enjoy a stay here. We also saw other travellers taking cooking lessons from Fatima, which looked fun - maybe this will become a more formal extra service in future?

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tango_tastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad La Cle de Fes
Riad La Cle de Fes
#17 of 98 in Fes
447 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Laayoun
Riad Laayoun
#11 of 98 in Fes
525 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Al Bartal
Riad Al Bartal
#13 of 212 in Fes
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Dar 7 Louyat
Dar 7 Louyat
#22 of 212 in Fes
89 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dar Roumana
Dar Roumana
#9 of 212 in Fes
406 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Idrissy
Riad Idrissy
#10 of 212 in Fes
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Boujloud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Boujloud

Property: Riad Boujloud
Address: 81 Derb Aghl Tadla | Talaa Sghira, Fes 30030, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 212 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bab Boujloud is the principal door of the Medina. Riad Boujloud is within minutes of this door and welcomes you in an Eden of feelings, in a haven of peace with all the authenticity of the Fassi architecture and the relaxed rhythm of life of Morocco. You can sample cooking in the Provencal and Morrocan flavours there. Excursions to the Medium Atlas Mountains, Voluibilis and Meknes can be arranged for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Boujloud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Boujloud Fes
Riad Boujloud Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing