We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bedbugs/punaises !”
Review of Pension Talaa

Pension Talaa
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pension Talaa
Ranked #54 of 81 Speciality Lodging in Fes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

though the pension talaa is well-located and some off the staff was nice, we woke up with bed bug bites everywhere ! after having to take a cab to a pharmacy (far away bc others were closed on sunday) to buy cream/pills (one of us had an allergic reaction to the bites), the staff was unapologetic and said this had never happened...though there is another tripadvisor review saying the same thing! worth paying a bit more for another place to avoid being terribly itchy the following week...

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acrose88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (25)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2011

The initially greeting is very friendly, especially since my name has arabic muslim routes. They treat muslim or people of muslim heritage with great respect. The took us to our room immediately. Unfortunately, due to our late arrival they gave away our reserved room and we were made to stay in a 3 person (we asked for 2 person room). They attempted to charge us more for this but later decided to keep it at the original rate of 150DRM for two people.

This is a very cheap price and you would expect all hostels of this price to be basic. In saying that, I would not stay there again. I have travelled alot and thought, whilst cheap, they could still have made it more comfortable for guests.

The rooms are hot and stuffy, with no airconditioning this was unbearable and I would recommend anyone to fish out an extra 50DRM and go somewhere else where you dont sweat and feel hot all night.

BATHROOMS: The showers were strangely positioned, with no where to hang belongings and locks that dont all work.

EXTRAS: They were no perks such as a common area, or anywhere to sit away from the stuffy rooms and everything came with a price. even when we asked to store our bags for half a day they said we had to pay, which usually most hostels are hospitable enough to do this without a charge.

NOISE: If you are alight sleeper this isnt for you. You have to open windows because rooms are airless but then you are surrounded by car horns and shouting locals. I am usually a heavy sleeper but even for me I woke up various times in the night. at 4 am the noise persisted. Lets keep in mind that this all could be due to the ramadan period where locals are out later.

I think it does bare basics, but had I known how bad I would sleep, I would have chosen elsewhere.

Room Tip: dont stay upstairs, its hotter there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ayseavci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2011

I've stayed in Pension Talaa several times over the last few years; its always been your standard, low budget hotel in the Fes Medina, but its got a super convenient location. However, I stayed there last week with friends, and I woke in the middle of the night absolutely covered in bedbug bites. My face, arms, and feet are still swollen and itchy. PLEASE DO NOT STAY HERE! In all fairness, we stayed in the 5-bed room, and only 2 of us were bitten, so you can play an infested version of Russian roulette if you'd like. I've never had problems before, so maybe the double rooms are ok, but I don't plan to come back.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank feefree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2011

little pension in the heart of medina.
good prices and best position!
the rooms downstairs were a little bit noisy..but upstairs were quite and sunny.
the showers are warm and clean (a nice lady work hard for it!)
the owners were so lovable!!
really good chat on that wonderful terrace..
hope to come back..inshallah!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anna_navone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2008

I visited Fes in September 2008, i chose that hotel 'pension talaa'. I stayed in it with my husband. I found it really nice and clean. The staff are helpful and serious. That hotel is well situated. it is in the center of old medina. it is near all the historical monuments.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fifiBilbao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2008

Worst hotel I've stayed at in years. Management charges the double rate when the one single room is full. Although the double rate is advertised as Dh100, after you've given them a Dh200 bill they tell you the price has now gone up to Dh150, and when you complain they point to a sign posted on the office door saying there are no refunds after you've given them the money.
That evening the two little young children locked me in the shower and turned off the light - the manager thought it was funny and said I was being "eccentric" by complaining about the kid's little joke.
Management has no money available on the premises and I only received my change the next day (16 hours later!) by refusing to leave their office until they paid me.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuperDave47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Kamil63890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
4.3 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#8 of 100 in Fes
581 reviews
4.6 mi away
Ibis budget Fes
Ibis budget Fes
#62 of 100 in Fes
105 reviews
0 mi away
Complexe Touristique Diamant Vert
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Riad Dar Guennoun
Riad Dar Guennoun
#47 of 100 in Fes
230 reviews
3.9 mi away
Ryad Alya
Ryad Alya
#7 of 100 in Fes
586 reviews
4.1 mi away
Dar Hafsa
Dar Hafsa
#4 of 100 in Fes
1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Talaa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Talaa

Address: 14 Talaa Seghira, Fes 30030, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 81 Speciality Lodging in Fes
Price Range: £9 - £18 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing