We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful staff, great location, memorable experience”
Review of Riad Le Calife

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Le Calife
Ranked #1 of 100 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We chose Le Calife because of the Travel Advisor reviews and were not disappointed. One of the young ladies on the staff took my wife out shopping, a wonderful experience far above and beyond the call of duty. We had dinner at the much larger, fancier and more expensive Riad Fez. Nice enough, but you'd miss much of the Fez experience by not being in the Medina, and the staff there is professional but impersonal. Do yourself a real favor; stay at Riad Le Calife!

Room Tip: The Diamond Suite was wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (787)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

255 - 261 of 787 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2013

Based on the glowing reviews on TripAdvisor, we stayed several nights at Riad le Calife -- and it completely lives up to the hype. A large and beautiful riad built around a garden-like central courtyard, with a beautiful roof deck and a fantastic view overlooking Fes. We were told that riads in Fes tend to be larger than those in Marrakech (often 3 stories in Fes, and were once the homes of nobles; riads in Marrakech tend to be 2 stories and would have been owned by merchants).

We stayed in one of the smaller rooms on the ground floor, which was more than large enough for a couple. Yasmine and Alex were wonderful hosts, and gave us some great recommendations on restaurants, sites, and walking routes. We had dinner on the rooftop our first night, which was perfect (Fatima is a wonderful chef), and breakfasts were consistently excellent as well. I could not recommend this riad highly enough.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Yes it's all been mentioned in previous reviews and yes they are all a true reflection of our stay at La Calife. A wonderfully relaxed Moroccan welcome with iced mint tea was followed by a brief explanation of the Medina before being guided to our suite which was a palatial visual experience beautifully decorated with tasteful memorabilia and an incredibly well appointed bathroom. A sumptuous breakfast was served on the roof terrace with incredible views over the Medina to the surrounding hills. Unfortunately due to a family bereavement we didn't meet Jasmine but had the pleasure of meeting Alex who bravely spent a couple of hours at the Riad ensuring all was well, it wasn't necessary the staff are always on hand as is the complimentary mint tea. Every corner of the Riad has been artistically considered with old sepia images of Fez and tastefully sourced antiques and memorabilia. Unfortunately we had a 5.45 a.m departure but on our arrival downstairs a full breakfast had been arranged, a fond farewell for what was a too short an experience. With only seven rooms the major problem is booking what is an incredibly popular Riad but persevere it's worth it. Thanks to you all!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank review35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

It is hard to find a superlative that hasn't been already used here to describe the Riad Le Calife experience. And that it is ... an experience, not just a "stay".

From the moment of our arrival, Alexandre and Yasmine enveloped us with warmth and enthusiasm in welcoming us to their extraordinary, impeccably-maintained guest house in the Fes medina. Alexandre chatted extensively with us, drawing out our thoughts and returning them to us in the form of a tailor-made agenda to fulfill our expectations, based on our desire for a cultural glimpse at day-to-day life in the medina, while buffering us from the tourist traps. Then, he seamlessly selected the perfect guide to make it happen to delightful perfection.

Our room was like walking into an Architectural Digest layout, with no detail unattended. Really. My husband and I own a small, upscale hotel, so when we travel, it is with a bit of a jaded eye. At Riad Le Calife, there was not a single thing I can think of that can be improved upon. Nothing -- absolutely nothing -- has been overlooked.

Dining was another pleasure. Fatima, in the kitchen, consistently delivered meals that made us not even wonder what fine restaurants might be in the area. And one day, when we were tired from sightseeing and needing a quick bite mid-afternoon, the inquiry of where to go resulted in the unsolicited delivery of a delightful sandwich big enough to share being delivered to our room. One could almost imagine Yasmine clapping her hands and saying, "Abracadabra"!

The atmosphere is magical, guests' needs seem to be uncannily anticipated, accommodations are of the highest quality ... all making for exceptional value. Look no further. You have found The Best.

Room Tip: Indulge your Inner Sheik and go for the Diamond Suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TropicalInnOwner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

There should be more opulent Riads in Fes than Le Calife. The way Yasmine and Alex treat you though is what makes the difference. This elevates even the most ordinary abodes into a princely home. The couple were very helpful and attentive. It also helped that Yasmine's father owns a spa nearby (part of a hotel) so one can enjoy a hammam in a friendly establishment. It is called Palais Faraj.

It is located in the southern part of the medina of Fes and close to Avenue Recif. So it's a short convenient walk to any motorised transport. This is important if you intend to use motorised transport going from north to south of the medina.

We stayed in the Emaraude Room of Le Calife. A very elegant room, it has a spacious bath and good view of the patio. If one has difficulty in climbing stairs, however, ask for the Amber Room or the Opaline one. The former is on the ground floor while the latter is near the breakfast terrace, on the top floor.

The breakfast is served on the terrace which has a a panoramic view of the surroundings. With generous servings, one gets to be full enough to start the arduous task of walking through the souks of Fes. Occasionally Yasmine has special dinners like the one we had. Yasmine has a chef who is very good in roasting lamb. I did not get to taste it but my family who devoured the lamb, swear by it. Ask Yasmine about these dinners when you book. On the other hand, Yasmine's father owns L'Amandier Palais Faraj so you can head over there for an elegant dinner.

There is also a small bar on the ground floor if you want a drink in a very cosy and romantic atmosphere. A cup of coffee in the patio will also settle those frayed nerves from all the haggling one does in the souks.

If you are looking for a Riad with a pool and opulent bathrooms, Le Calife is not for you. If you are looking for a place with generously-sized rooms and suites and in one where you feel you OWN the place, then Le Calife is perfect for you.

Room Tip: If you do not like stairs, ask for the ground floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GranDia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

My wife and I stayed 3 nights in Le Calife and we loved it !.
Great atmosphere and decoration, wonderful service... that's what we were expecting.
We arrived to Fes by car and they sent someone to wait for us at the closest parking to the riad, so he could not only help us with the luggage but also get us to the riad, which is not an easy task.
Our room (Amathyste) was big, beautiful decorated, comfortable and quite. The ground floor patio, cool and nice, was a lovely place to share a tea after a busy day in the medina, and in the terrace, with its impressive view of the Medina, we had 3 very good breakfast and 2 even better dinners. Indeed, it's a must to have dinner at least once in the Riad.
The service is the one expected in a high quality hotel with a touch of friendship and proximity. Alexandre, Yasmine and the rest of the team made our stay a wonderful experience.
In other words: we loved it. This riad deserves its top situation in Tripadvisor-Fes.
(Please note that the terrace is in a high 3rd floor and most of the rooms require stairs to reach them so if you have problems with the stairs ... please let the Riad know to book the room in the ground floor ... and be aware that you won't be able to enjoy the terrace)

Room Tip: Amathyste was an outstanding room, but as with most of the rooms in the riad, there were stairs to r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fernandoflores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

I was in two minds about booking this riad when I planned my trip as I didnt think the pictures om trip advisor looked that amazing. I am so so so glad that I decided to book.

From the moment I made my reservation the staff were so helpful and acomodating. They replied to emails withon a few hours, arranged for a driver to pick me up from the busy train station and arranged a super early airport transfer for me.

The riad itself is so beautiful - it is almost magical. It smelt so nice (of orange blossom oil) that I purchased the fragrance to take home with me - and now my home smells the same! It si very close to the Medina (2 minute walk) which makes it even more fantastic!

The photos do not at all do it justice. It is absoltuely stunning. Everything is spotless and has been beautifully put together.

The owners, Alex and Jasmine, really go the extra mile. For example, we ordered a beer - which came with olives, crisps and nuts, we asked about the local wine - and two complimentary glasses were provided for us to try, and we had an early check out time - so they made us a beautiful breakfast - at 5.30 AM!!!!

We like to explore when travelling - but as the riad was so special - we decided to eat at the riad for our last night. The food was delicious and the service attentive, but relaxed. A great last night.

The owners have got this so right - it is difficult to make sure I have included every detail in this review. My advice would be to not hesitate to book. Its fab!

Room Tip: Opaline room lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gemma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.5 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
0.2 mi away
Riad Fes Maya Suite & Spa
0.1 mi away
Riad Andalib
Riad Andalib
#5 of 100 in Fes
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#8 of 100 in Fes
581 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
0.5 mi away
Riad El Yacout
Riad El Yacout
#6 of 100 in Fes
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Le Calife? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Le Calife

Address: 19 bis derb el Ouarbyia | el Makhfia, Fes 30000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Fes
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fes
#12 Family Hotel in Fes
Price Range: £92 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Le Calife 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the authentic world of the Riad Le Calife, and relish in its harmonious alliance of tradition and modernity. Located in the historical centre of the Medina (old city) of Fez, the Riad is a traditional home of the last century recently converted into a charming guesthouse. The house includes three prestigious suites and four charming rooms, three lounge areas, a well-being space and two terraces with a stunning panoramic view of the Medina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Riad Le Calife reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Le Calife Fes
Riad Le Calife Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing