We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Riad Le Calife
Nearby Hotels
US$229
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$222
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$103
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$1,463
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$238
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$72
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$42
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$181
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$205
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$199
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$216
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$179
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Riad Layalina Fez(Fes)
US$66
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$57
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (816)
Filter reviews
816 results
Traveller rating
786
23
4
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
786
23
4
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdiamond suiteamethyst roomcooking class with fatimarooftop terracethe stained glass windowsperfect hoststhe entire staffcooking lessonbeautiful riadspent four nightsmake you feel at homean oasislovely courtyardowners and stafflike royaltycentral courtyardsmall hotel
Filter
Updating list...
279 - 284 of 816 reviews
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We chose Le Calife because of the Travel Advisor reviews and were not disappointed. One of the young ladies on the staff took my wife out shopping, a wonderful experience far above and beyond the call of duty. We had dinner at the much larger, fancier and more expensive Riad Fez. Nice enough, but you'd miss much of the Fez experience by not being in the Medina, and the staff there is professional but impersonal. Do yourself a real favor; stay at Riad Le Calife!

Room Tip: The Diamond Suite was wonderful!
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Based on the glowing reviews on TripAdvisor, we stayed several nights at Riad le Calife -- and it completely lives up to the hype. A large and beautiful riad built around a garden-like central courtyard, with a beautiful roof deck and a fantastic view overlooking Fes. We were told that riads in Fes tend to be larger than those in Marrakech (often 3 stories in Fes, and were once the homes of nobles; riads in Marrakech tend to be 2 stories and would have been owned by merchants).

We stayed in one of the smaller rooms on the ground floor, which was more than large enough for a couple. Yasmine and Alex were wonderful hosts, and gave us some great recommendations on restaurants, sites, and walking routes. We had dinner on the rooftop our first night, which was perfect (Fatima is a wonderful chef), and breakfasts were consistently excellent as well. I could not recommend this riad highly enough.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Yes it's all been mentioned in previous reviews and yes they are all a true reflection of our stay at La Calife. A wonderfully relaxed Moroccan welcome with iced mint tea was followed by a brief explanation of the Medina before being guided to our suite which was a palatial visual experience beautifully decorated with tasteful memorabilia and an incredibly well appointed bathroom. A sumptuous breakfast was served on the roof terrace with incredible views over the Medina to the surrounding hills. Unfortunately due to a family bereavement we didn't meet Jasmine but had the pleasure of meeting Alex who bravely spent a couple of hours at the Riad ensuring all was well, it wasn't necessary the staff are always on hand as is the complimentary mint tea. Every corner of the Riad has been artistically considered with old sepia images of Fez and tastefully sourced antiques and memorabilia. Unfortunately we had a 5.45 a.m departure but on our arrival downstairs a full breakfast had been arranged, a fond farewell for what was a too short an experience. With only seven rooms the major problem is booking what is an incredibly popular Riad but persevere it's worth it. Thanks to you all!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank review269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

It is hard to find a superlative that hasn't been already used here to describe the Riad Le Calife experience. And that it is ... an experience, not just a "stay".

From the moment of our arrival, Alexandre and Yasmine enveloped us with warmth and enthusiasm in welcoming us to their extraordinary, impeccably-maintained guest house in the Fes medina. Alexandre chatted extensively with us, drawing out our thoughts and returning them to us in the form of a tailor-made agenda to fulfill our expectations, based on our desire for a cultural glimpse at day-to-day life in the medina, while buffering us from the tourist traps. Then, he seamlessly selected the perfect guide to make it happen to delightful perfection.

Our room was like walking into an Architectural Digest layout, with no detail unattended. Really. My husband and I own a small, upscale hotel, so when we travel, it is with a bit of a jaded eye. At Riad Le Calife, there was not a single thing I can think of that can be improved upon. Nothing -- absolutely nothing -- has been overlooked.

Dining was another pleasure. Fatima, in the kitchen, consistently delivered meals that made us not even wonder what fine restaurants might be in the area. And one day, when we were tired from sightseeing and needing a quick bite mid-afternoon, the inquiry of where to go resulted in the unsolicited delivery of a delightful sandwich big enough to share being delivered to our room. One could almost imagine Yasmine clapping her hands and saying, "Abracadabra"!

The atmosphere is magical, guests' needs seem to be uncannily anticipated, accommodations are of the highest quality ... all making for exceptional value. Look no further. You have found The Best.

Room Tip: Indulge your Inner Sheik and go for the Diamond Suite!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TropicalInnOwner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

There should be more opulent Riads in Fes than Le Calife. The way Yasmine and Alex treat you though is what makes the difference. This elevates even the most ordinary abodes into a princely home. The couple were very helpful and attentive. It also helped that Yasmine's father owns a spa nearby (part of a hotel) so one can enjoy a hammam in a friendly establishment. It is called Palais Faraj.

It is located in the southern part of the medina of Fes and close to Avenue Recif. So it's a short convenient walk to any motorised transport. This is important if you intend to use motorised transport going from north to south of the medina.

We stayed in the Emaraude Room of Le Calife. A very elegant room, it has a spacious bath and good view of the patio. If one has difficulty in climbing stairs, however, ask for the Amber Room or the Opaline one. The former is on the ground floor while the latter is near the breakfast terrace, on the top floor.

The breakfast is served on the terrace which has a a panoramic view of the surroundings. With generous servings, one gets to be full enough to start the arduous task of walking through the souks of Fes. Occasionally Yasmine has special dinners like the one we had. Yasmine has a chef who is very good in roasting lamb. I did not get to taste it but my family who devoured the lamb, swear by it. Ask Yasmine about these dinners when you book. On the other hand, Yasmine's father owns L'Amandier Palais Faraj so you can head over there for an elegant dinner.

There is also a small bar on the ground floor if you want a drink in a very cosy and romantic atmosphere. A cup of coffee in the patio will also settle those frayed nerves from all the haggling one does in the souks.

If you are looking for a Riad with a pool and opulent bathrooms, Le Calife is not for you. If you are looking for a place with generously-sized rooms and suites and in one where you feel you OWN the place, then Le Calife is perfect for you.

Room Tip: If you do not like stairs, ask for the ground floor rooms.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GranDia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews