We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enchantment Behind the Wall”
Review of Riad Le Calife

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Le Calife
Ranked #1 of 101 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 January 2014

From the moment we stepped from the narrow street in the Fez Medina into the Riad Le Calife, we were enchanted with the décor, courtyard, our Opaline room and the food. It was like entering a completely different world! The owners, a lovely young couple, Alex and Yasmin were absolutely wonderful. They greeted us every morning to make sure everything was perfect for our stay of three days. They were helpful in recommending restaurants. In fact, we took the cooking class with the wonderful Fatima, the chef, on our last day and ate dinner that evening in the small, romantic dining room tasting the fruits of our labor! Fez we made all the more wonderful by staying at this unique Riad - don't miss it! Even though we were on a tour, we chose this property from Tripadvisor instead of the suggested property by the tour company. We were definitely NOT sorry!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ConnecticutGina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (787)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

246 - 252 of 787 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

First, Le Calife is very well located -- inside the Medina but a short walk from the place where a taxi can drop you.
Second, a great deal of care has gone into the restoration and decor of the riad. It is lovely.
Third, breakfast and optional dinner in the charming dining room was well prepared and attentively served.
Finally, Yasmin an Alexandre are gracious hosts who go out of their way to make sure that each of their guests has the best possible visit to Fes.
All around, we felt that Le Calife as the perfect choice for our 3 nights in this wonderful city.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Kronikle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We stayed two nights at the Riad Le Calife and it was amazing. The Riad is absolutely beautiful. We adored all the shared spaces (like the courtyard, terrace, the bar and the breakfast room) which were elegant and relaxing. The Riad is small with only 7 rooms. We stayed in the Opaline Room and it was spacious and gorgeous. The bed was comfortable, there is a small couch in the room, stunning stained glass windows and the bathroom was enormous.

We ended up eating dinner at the Riad on both nights and would definitely recommend you have at least one evening meal there - the food was delicious and they were probably the best meals we had while in Morocco. The breakfasts are plentiful and (again) delicious.

All the staff at the Riad, including the owners Alex and Yasmin are wonderful - very friendly and eager to make your stay a good one.

We had a tour of the medina with a guide recommended by Yasmin (Hassan) and we would recommend taking a guided tour for at least half a day (especially if you are short on time). The Riad is well located in the medina and we had the best day exploring the winding streets. We learnt so much from Hassan about life in the medina and got to see corners of the medina which we would never have found on our own. Fes and the Riad Le Calife were real highlights of our trip and we would love to go back.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Opaline room loved it. It was spacious and beautifully decorated. The bed was comfo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kakapo_Kiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We chose Le Calife because of the Travel Advisor reviews and were not disappointed. Pleasantly received by Alex and Yasmina. The breakfast is served on the terrace which has a a panoramic view of the surroundings. The rooms are spacious and clean. We loved it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WJF1507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Wow! What a gem!
We stayed two nights in the Amber room and one night in the Diamante room at the Riad le Calife.
This riad was right in the middle of it all, but the fact it was next to the Cinema Amal made it very easy to negotiate from the point of view of cabs, getting people to help in terms of directions etc. The riad was really something else – a real jewel in the middle of this wonderful chaos that was the medina outside. The place was wonderfully decked out in antiques and paintings, the top of the riad had a wonderful view towards the whole Fes medina, breakfast was excellent and the rooms were incredibly lush and comfortable.
It has to be said that despite how ornate and glitzty the place was, the hosts were just top-notch and definitely the biggest selling point of the place. The 2 owners Yasmine & Alex, and their colleague Dua were second to none in terms of being personable and giving some great service. When we let slip to Yasmine on our first night whilst enjoying the night sky on top of the Riad that we were on our honeymoon, she was genuinely happy for us, quietly slipped away then proceeded to get us some sparkling wine and titbits for us to munch on for the rest of the night. They gave lots of pointers in terms of what to eat, see, and do, where to chill out and where to go for a hammam (all of which were wonderful recommendations)
This was an absolutely wonderful place to stay in and if we ever come back to Fes, we will definitely be staying here.
This is a no-brainer! Stay at the Riad le Calife!

5/5

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 821royc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We decided to go 4 days to Fes and had chosen the Riad Le Calife!
Well, our choice was confirmed to be the best one when I got a call from them one week before our stay, realizing I made a big mistake when booking the room as I did it for the week before :-/ well no issues with Yasmine and Alexandre, we could manage solving this together without this costing us a single cent. We enjoyed our stay in their great suite "emeraud". Everything was perfect. You have the comfort of an hotel together with the service and decoration of an authentic riad, which makes this place above 5 * for a stay in that city. We followed their advice of taking a guide for our first visit of the medina. We enjoyed this visit and learned a lot. We also enjoyed the great dinner every evening :-) super great ! Looking forward to go there again with our kids :-)

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 872Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We stayed in the Diamond room, and it was just perfect: atmospheric, comfortable, cozy. The first night it rained, so we had drinks on the covered roof terrace (looking out over the Medina), and dinner downstairs. The meal was delicious, and very generous, with nine starters just for the two of us.

The Riad is well located, right in the Medina. The interior is nicely furnished with Moroccan tile, textiles, and hammered metal. But I think what makes this place #1 is the owner and staff. They are friendly, gracious, informative, and helpful. They were the best part of a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcbtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Fes Maya Suite & Spa
0.5 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
0.7 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#7 of 101 in Fes
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Andalib
Riad Andalib
#5 of 101 in Fes
446 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ryad Alya
Ryad Alya
#9 of 101 in Fes
588 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Le Calife? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Le Calife

Address: 19 bis derb el Ouarbyia | el Makhfia, Fes 30000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Fes
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fes
#12 Family Hotel in Fes
Price Range: £93 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Le Calife 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the authentic world of the Riad Le Calife, and relish in its harmonious alliance of tradition and modernity. Located in the historical centre of the Medina (old city) of Fez, the Riad is a traditional home of the last century recently converted into a charming guesthouse. The house includes three prestigious suites and four charming rooms, three lounge areas, a well-being space and two terraces with a stunning panoramic view of the Medina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Riad Le Calife reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Le Calife Fes
Riad Le Calife Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing