We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay, Wonderful People”
Review of Riad Le Calife

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Le Calife
Ranked #1 of 100 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 January 2014

My wife and I had a lovely two night stay and were warmly greeted and received. All the positive reviews are right on. As a nice example of how friendly they are, Alexandre (the owner) came on the last morning to say good bye. He had been unable to say hello during our stay, due to some family issue; however, he still took the time to meet us, walk us down to our waiting tour and send us off safely. Very much appreciated. Thank you to everyone there.
Shira and Ben

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bsfriedland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (741)
There are newer reviews for Riad Le Calife
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 741 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2014

We were bought to this Riad by our tour company (Highlights Of Morocco Tours) Riad Le Calife does not deserve 5 stars...it deserves a lot more. There aren't enough stars to describe how great this riad is. The staff, management, and owners can't do enough for you to make your stay the most comfortable ever. They are so attentive to everything. The rooms, service, and food are all great The hotel is very charming, ambience is good, the people we very friendly.. and we highly recommend having at least one dinner at the hotel because the food was excellent!!

I would highly recommend a visit to this wonderful Riad. We will definitely return.thanks to our Tour Company!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jame J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Stay here! Not only was the riad beautiful, private, elegant, and located in a great spot.... the staff who run it go above and beyond to make you feel welcomed and looked after. Staying here was one of the highlights of our trip, and we traveled a lot through Morocco. It's a perfect place to unwind at the end of full walking days. Oh, and try the cooking class with Fatima. She's great and her food is wonderful! Thank you to Yasmine and Alex for everything! xo :)

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank emmCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

My husband and I stayed at this Riad in the Diamond Suite in early November of 2013. It was as beautiful as the pictures show and our room was enormous and luxurious. We were very impressed with all the staff who were, without exception, warm, helpful and very accommodating. The owners who were, unfortunately, tied up with a family emergency still made the effort to come by and greet us and welcome us to their small hotel. The breakfasts were plentiful and served with a smile. I was fortunate to spend several hours in the kitchen with Fatima learning how to make couscous and several other dishes which were served up for dinner that evening. She was a lovely girl who it was a pleasure to get to know. All in all, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this charming riad!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PriscillaPruitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

This Riad is not only stunning looking but is full of lovely people working here, which is all very helpful, smiling and you just sense from the moment that you walk into the Riad, what this is a very special place. I had the opportunity to cook with Fatmina in the kitchen, and if you have time, do so, not only is it fun to make the food but it is also very tasty too.

I will come back and I cannt recommend Riad Le Calife enough.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tesshoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

I chose this Riad after reading all the wonderful reviews on tripadvisor.
There is a reason why Riad le Calife is number one and that is because everything is flawless.

The location - is very good, very close to the main road in the medina, close to a parking place (if you arrive by car) and very easy to remember how to get there (unlike in Europe or USA, it is better not to be in the center of the medina). If you want to go out after it gets dark, they will ask someone to accompany you to the main road which is roughly 2 minutes walking distance.

The riad - is fairy tale like, every little detail is perfect, a beautiful indoor garden, a breathtaking view on the 2 terraces above, 2 rooms to unwind and have a drink and nice music playing in the background.

The rooms - i stayed in 3 different riads in morocco and what i particularly appreciate here is the fact that all rooms are on top floor (there is no room on the main floor). The biggest advantage is that the noise coming from the courtyard is attenuated and there is much more privacy. We stayed in Opaline room, which is very tastefully decorated and very cosy (enough room for 2 big suitcases).

The staff - all staff are trained very well to help with absolutely anything. However the highlight are the owners - Alex and Yasmine - who are very involved in all aspects concerning the well being of each guest, have wonderful recommendations and are ready to help in any way. Whilst driving from Casablanca to Fes, Alex called us on the way to make sure we were fine, Yasmine gave us a great tip to buy porcelain and book a spa treatment. They are both wonderful hosts and make everybody feel welcomed.

Tip - don't miss the chance to dine at Palais Faraj and experience a hammam treatment. The food is wonderful, the restaurant and the palace very beautiful and the hammam just wow. Even the prices are value for money, and way under what you would expect to pay in Europe for such a premium location. The plus side is that they can arrange for a chauffeur to pick you off and drop you off at the riad, making it a very nice and relaxed experience.

All in all we had a wonderful time, very sorry we couldn't stay for longer.
Thank you Alex and Yasmine and the rest of the staff for making our stay so wonderful.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miruna_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

From the moment we stepped from the narrow street in the Fez Medina into the Riad Le Calife, we were enchanted with the décor, courtyard, our Opaline room and the food. It was like entering a completely different world! The owners, a lovely young couple, Alex and Yasmin were absolutely wonderful. They greeted us every morning to make sure everything was perfect for our stay of three days. They were helpful in recommending restaurants. In fact, we took the cooking class with the wonderful Fatima, the chef, on our last day and ate dinner that evening in the small, romantic dining room tasting the fruits of our labor! Fez we made all the more wonderful by staying at this unique Riad - don't miss it! Even though we were on a tour, we chose this property from Tripadvisor instead of the suggested property by the tour company. We were definitely NOT sorry!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ConnecticutGina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.5 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
Riad Andalib
Riad Andalib
#3 of 100 in Fes
415 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Riad El Yacout
Riad El Yacout
#4 of 100 in Fes
498 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dar Hafsa
Dar Hafsa
#6 of 100 in Fes
951 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#7 of 100 in Fes
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Le Calife? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Le Calife

Address: 19 bis derb el Ouarbyia | el Makhfia, Fes 30000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Fes
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fes
#15 Family Hotel in Fes
Price Range: £85 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Le Calife 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the authentic world of the Riad Le Calife, and relish in its harmonious alliance of tradition and modernity. Located in the historical centre of the Medina (old city) of Fez, the Riad is a traditional home of the last century recently converted into a charming guesthouse. The house includes three prestigious suites and four charming rooms, three lounge areas, a well-being space and two terraces with a stunning panoramic view of the Medina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Riad Le Calife reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Le Calife Fes
Riad Le Calife Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing